Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Maize Restaurant of Newark Reviews List

Maize Restaurant of Newark

Maize is located on the ground level of the Best Western Robert Treat Hotel. Besides having a laid back atmosphere and serving sumptuous dishes, Maize is decorated in such a way that it can handle any function. A legendary owner and a celebrated Chef ensure an irresistible unique Cuisine. Fresh herbs are produced by a model community-service project that tells the story of revival and hope.

Serving lunch, and dinner, Maize has an elaborate tea menu and extensive wine list, and is open seven days a week. Maize, owned by Livingston, New Jersey resident Wilson De Sousa, has received a rating of "Very Good" from The New York Times and "Three Stars" from The Star-Ledger. Maize has been a filming location for the popular HBO series The Sopranos, and has been featured on NBC's Weekend Today in New York.
See more Maize Restaurant of Newark details
79 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
(79 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 79 reviews
5 stars
(12)
4 stars
(34)
3 stars
(19)
2 stars
(10)
1 star
(4)
Food 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Service 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(16)
  • fit for foodies(14)
  • good for groups(13)
  • special occasion(13)
  • romantic(10)
  • great for lunch(9)
Maize Restaurant of Newark Reviews List
Review 1 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"There's nothing Portuguese about this restaurant!! We were only offered a pre fixe that consisted of salmon, other fish, steak and chicken. Not good. Couldn't get out of there quick enough. Wait staff was attentive."
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Misleading!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2008
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2008
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The menu on Open Table IS NOT what you will be getting if you visit on a night that there is a theatre show. Completely misleading! We walked in and when we were handed the menu we had almost walked out but decided to stick it out as the food that was coming out looked good. It was a pre-fixed menu at $55 for 3 courses and coffee. We both ordered the "Lump" crab cake, I ordered stuffed salmon and my date Swordfish, Ginger Creme Brûlée and Chocolate Mousse. The "Lump" crab cake didn't contain any crab at all, instead there was a large chunk of IMITATION CRAB MEAT, discussing was an understatement, and it was luke warm at best. We noted this to the waiter and he didn't seemed shocked. Our entrees arrived very quickly after and the "Stuffed" salmon was very dry hardly stuffed, but at least it was actual crab meat. I wanted extra lemon sauce however the waiter never came back after dropping our food. It was quite obvious that these meals are all pre-made and sitting in cafing dishes waiting for orders to come in - nothing was made to order. After complaining to a manager that our drinks were never refilled, service was no existent - nothing was done. Tables around us were complaining as well - very long wait times, no refills, cold food... We were not alone in our experience!"
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Location, Location, Location.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"If going to see a show at NJ PAC, this place is perfect. Food was good, not outstanding. A little pricey, but we enjoyed it and perfect for going to the show."
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Dined on 1/10/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Place for Pre Concert Dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We love going to Maize before concerts at NJ PAC. It makes the evening special. The food is really good and the ambiance and service are excellent. We have also eaten there after going to a game at the Prudential Center."
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

don't order fish

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"This is the 2nd time I've eaten there and had fish so undercooked that I couldn't get my fork through it. It would not flake! Other food was fine. Caesar salad is ok. Service good and ambience excellent. But they do serve fish kind of raw."
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/18/2015
 2012
Dined on 3/18/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/18/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2010
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2013
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Decent Food, Poor Service

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Arrived (with reservation) to find no-one at the front desk. Waited quite a while for the hostess to show up. Then had to ask several times for bread, waited quite a while for our drinks, then our meals. All despite we told them we had tickets to NJ PAC show."
Dined on 12/03/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/03/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/03/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/03/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/22/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

You will be aMaized.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Maize is around the corner from the PAC so the location is perfect. The place was packed and the employees were not being directed at all. When a restaurant is that busy the service staff needs direction, it was not good. I realize they were busy but this is what you love and is great when you expect it and they have a full house with reservations every event at the PAC!
The food was good, I don't know about the dessert, we left and never had a chance, because we sat there with empty dinner plates in front of us for at least 20 mins.
I will try again and I did talk to management to no avail.
"
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2011
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good pre-performance option

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2005
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Picked this spot--a restaurant within the Best Western Robert Treat Hotel--mainly for its proximity to NJPAC but was pleasantly surprised by the quality of food and service. Although service tends toward the unhurried, everyone was polite and efficient, and the waitstaff seemed responsive to the needs of those who had a performance to attend. Very lively atmosphere, both during our Saturday 6:30 dinner (fairly noisy dining room, especially as there was a large party in attendance) and later, when we returned for drinks and dessert (loud, competing music coming from the bar and from an apparent late-night dance floor in the back), but made for a fun night out!"
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Had dinner here before a performance at the NJPAC.
Service was efficient and friendly. Food was very well prepared.
A good place for a pre theater dinner as it is one block from the center.
"
Dined on 10/15/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Handy for pre concert dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Right across from NJPAC, this is an alternative to the restaurants within the performing arts center, and the food and service is better. However, pre-concert they only seem to offer a prix fixe menu and you may not necessarily feel like eating 3 courses at $45.
I do wish they would offer the a la carte menu as well. Perhaps they do, but they do not make it known. The food is good--excellent salmon, duck, asparagus soup.
"
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pleasantly Surprised

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"When I booked the reservation I was not expecting such a nice experience. Being in a Hotel I was a little apprehensive. The Food was Excellent. Prices very reasonable.The service was excellent."
Dined on 11/12/2015
 2005
Special Features: hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Competant

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2014
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pre-concert perfection

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had lunch at Maize before attending a NJ Symphony Orchestra performance. The staff was very attentive, the food was delicious and we had plenty of time for a relaxing lunch before walking across the street for the performance."
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2009
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent dinner choice before njpac

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: hot spot, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2010
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2006
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2012
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/15/2015
 2013
Dined on 10/15/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/15/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Has Great Potential, Walking Distance from NJPAC

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Maize is in a great location. There were some hits and misses. The bread was mediocre, yet the salads were flavorful. The fish was good. I had the lamb special, which was good but practically raw when I specifically said I wanted it prepared medium. I will give it a second chance, since it is so close to NJPAC. Wish it had a prix fixe meal option."
Dined on 10/08/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2014
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/30/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"a nice spot in an area where decent cuisine is hard to find. a restaurant at full capacity is short staffed and my meal came to the table ice cold (it was roast duck). they need to do a better job when the dining room is busy."
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Was very disappointed in the service. We went for a pre concert dinner. Service was extremely slow and did not like the manager's attitude when we tried to address the concern. He said we were not there until 6:30 pm and that is the reason our meal was delayed. I advised the entire dinner party was seated by 6:10 for a 6:00 pm reservation and at 6:15 pm we track down someone to take our order because of the concert. Our server told us at 6:50 pm that our meal was going to take another 25 minutes! Concert started at 7:30 pm. After pushing back with the manager that was unacceptable ... Magically the food came in 5 minutes! Manager apologized and food was excellent but was disappointed on how the manager tried to blame the group for the back up in the kitchen!"
Dined on 9/16/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good for pre NJPAC SHOW

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was fine. Drinks were a bit weak. This said, service was really good, and the bus boy made our night: We asked for hot sauce for both our apps and mains, and he made us authentic, really hot sauce which was above the call. We'll go back for our pre show meal when going to NJ PAC."
Dined on 9/16/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2014
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/21/2015
 2004
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

good food good service near pac and pru centers

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/07/2015
 2009
Dined on 6/07/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/07/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2007
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 3/05/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Good food, subpar service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very Pleased!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Don't be fooled because this restaurant is in a hotel. This place is family operated and the food is great as is the service - and the atmosphere is very nice and comfortable. This is also the closest and best place to dine nearest the Rutgers University Newark campus. I dine here aat least once a month and have never been disappointed."
Dined on 4/27/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Maize Restaurant of Newark
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

better food at Applebee's

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2014
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Wait staff was OK. Friendly but inattentive even though the place was full of staff just waiting for place to be full.
Food was sub par. Both my guest and I left most of our 3 courses on the plate. 6 dishes in total and nothing was worth mentioning. Food was clearly frozen, overcooked and stale. The plates were drizzled with balsamic, or raspberry puree but it was dried to the plate which made it distasteful and gross.
"
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2014
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>