Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Sam's on the Waterfront Reviews List

Sam's on the Waterfront

“Well worth the Trip” Is what the Washington Post and many others say about Sam’s on the Waterfront. Tucked away in the middle of Chesapeake Harbour Sam’s is a true visual and culinary experience. Built in 1986 & designed after the historic Spider legged Screw pile lighthouses, this uniquely crafted building on the water, provides the most elegant of settings. Make no mistake about it Sam’s is dedicated to providing the most fresh, creative, local dining experience possible. Exec Chef Chris Cherry will tailor your meal to meet any of your special requirements and their staff will make sure that all of your expectations will be met.Sam’s has a truly remarkable modern American cuisine w/ regional influences.Menus change seasonally with weekly special & many gluten free options. Winner of Wine Spectators & Wine Enthusiast "Award of Excellent" and Zagat's "Best Bet Award" Sam's offers the best live Music every Friday and Saturday Nights. Sam's Proud Mary's Dock Bar & Cafe open Seasonally.
See more Sam's on the Waterfront details
170 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(170 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 170 reviews
5 stars
(58)
4 stars
(64)
3 stars
(31)
2 stars
(11)
1 star
(6)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • scenic view(124)
  • neighborhood gem(68)
  • great for outdoor dining(62)
  • special occasion(60)
  • romantic(53)
  • great for lunch(41)
Sam's on the Waterfront Reviews List
Review 1 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Still good, not as great as it used to be

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We have been to Sam's many times over the past several years. What we've noticed is an overall decline in the food. Not anything bad enough to make us send the food back to the kitchen, but just not as good as it used to be. For example, the dipping sauce that comes with the calamari appetizer used to be sweet & spicy and really delicious. On our last visit, the sauce was a thin lemony-garlic concoction that just wasn't tasty. Two people in our group ordered the filet. Both were overcooked. Not horribly overcooked & not enough to send them back, but they just weren't as ordered. My scallops were served on a bed of butternut squash, which was, for me, just too sweet to go well with the spices on the scallops.
That being said, we had an excellent server and the ambience of the restaurant is still superb.
"
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2008
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We loved the atmosphere and the food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/03/2016
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Was very cold! Not comfortable at all. No heat is Ladies room! Things were missing or changed from items ordered and we were not told and asked if we would like something else. When waitress was told about this she became very defensive."
Dined on 1/05/2016
 2008
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Rang in the New Year at Sam's

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Had a great time New Years Eve at Sam's. The waiter was a sweetheart and the food was excellent. The music could have been a little better but I had a great time nonetheless. Will definitely be back!"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

New Years dining

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"First seating, 4 course meal, good selection of courses...servers not real knowledgeable about wine selections or able to make a suggestion. Dinner portions ample, though Rack of lamb was undercooked. Good view of fireworks show!"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2008
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

New Years Eve Celebration

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Lobster Bisque not up to par. Beautiful view. Friendly staff."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2012
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I loved the ambiance and theme.
Personally, I don't think the quality of the food and menu diversity qualifies for the price.
Still overall positive experience."
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2006
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2008
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for brunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We live nearby so we dine at Sam's often. Love the 1/2 price weekly specials and that the menu changes with each season. The food is consistently very good, the marina view great, and the servie quite attentive. My only suggestion is that the "pour" on wines be a bit more generous and the martinis filled to the brim."
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Perfect brunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Good food, good view of the marina on a foggy morning, gracious service: just right."
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for brunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Off the charts, at least the noise level

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Saturday evening I was in the mood for a nice meal with some ambient music. Sam's on the Waterfront immediately sprung to mind. So I booked on OpenTable. We arrived to a table which was directly behind the 2 member band. The host realized this was not going to work, and preceded to set up another table. It was marginally better. Hearing my guest was a challenge throughout the evening because, while the band was playing the amp was suitable for a stadium, not a small enclosed restaurant. The appetizers were quite tasty, as were the martinis, however when it came to the main course, the charge of around $20.00 for four (4) scallops seemed exorbitant, and the pork chops came out dry. Were it not for server John the evening would not have been a hit, however his good cheer, and abilities made things far smoother than I initially expected them to be. Would I go back there, yes once, and when the band was not there if only to see if the evening I had was an anomaly or the reality of Sam's."
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2014
Special Features: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Thanksgiving Dinner

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Made reservations for Thanksgiving dinner for a party of 2 (wife and I). We arrived on time and were seated promptly with a window seat with a view of the marina. Ordered cocktails and were served in a timely mannerr. My wife ordered traditional turkey dinner and I opted for prime rib and asked for medium rare cut. Turkey was sparse and prime rib was well done to the point of being dry. Waitress never appeared to ask if every thing was done to our satisfaction. I should have sent it back, but didn't wish to delay our dinner. It was a 4 course dinner and all was excellent except for the main dish. While I would try them again (not on a holiday), I felt it was over priced for the quality of the main dish and the service that we received."
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Sams on the waterfront

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I loved the place, service, and ambience. The food however was a different story we orders stuffed shells and the crab flat bread and it was delicious. Then came our main course and I was disappointed I ordered the special rock fish over risotto with lobster sauce. It was not seasoned at all, so I added some salt but it still lacked flavor. My husband ordered the pork chop and it was to die for. We ordered my daughter pasta and meatballs and it looked so good, but again the flavor was not. I was hoping the had pure squeezed juice or like sweet iced tea but they did not. They do have soft drinks, wine and unsweetened ice tea. And when you add sugar to the glass of ice tea stirring will not enhance the flavor when using regular sugar. Our server was on point and very attentive."
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Perfect for a dinner party

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We live near Sam's and have found it to be consistently wonderful. A recent dinner party with 5 people on a Saturday night was perfect. The seasonal choices were super; the wine list superb; the mixed drinks and desserts were excellent and best of all, the service was intimate without being overbearing. A thoroughly enjoyable night with friends."
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/29/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/29/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice Sunday Brunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Ordered a selection of menu items and enjoyed them all. We were disappointed, however, that they all came out at once, leaving some cold after we had finished our soups. Being unfamiliar with Annapolis, we also thought we'd be closer to the cute downtown. Good food but not spectacular, so next time we'll opt for another brunch spot downtown."
Dined on 10/25/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very good!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It was our first time at Sam's, and the restaurant was very good. The shrimp and grits appetizer was very delicious. We've had better cream of crab soup, but it was still good. My crab cake dinner was delicious; I just wish the crab cakes were free of shells. The crab cakes appeared to be backfin, not lump. My husband enjoyed his surf and turf. The steak was well cooked, well seasoned, tasty and tender. The "surf" was a crab cake, and I didn't see my husband pick out as many shells in his crab than I had in mine. Knowing him though he probably just chewed and swallowed! Beautiful restaurant at the waterfront, great table, delicious wine and food, and enjoyable live music."
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Go For The View

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Sam's has a great setting on Chesapeake Harbour -- you feel like you are on vacation. It is almost a southern California coastal vibe. That said, I continue to be disappointed with the food. Some dishes are adequate (shrimp with grits appetizer was tasty) and some are utterly dismal (rockfish so drenched in creamy mashed potatoes there was no taste of the fish). On Saturdays, the noise level with live music and a full dining room can be pretty high. This is a great place to take people from out-of-town, but not a place I would go otherwise."
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Dined on 10/17/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Crab!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We all enjoyed a delicious crab flatbread and the location is great. One small complaint -- in an almost empty restaurant we were seated next to a family with several unhappy children. Not an ideal spot."
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2006
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Good food served at the water's edge. A great combination."
Dined on 10/13/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2011
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2011
Special Features: scenic view, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/28/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Big let down

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I was looking for a nice place to take my cousin to celebrate a huge accomplishment in his life. All of the reviews raved about Sams on the Waterfront. I looked at the menu, saw something that everyone in our party would like. Three days before our reservation, Sam's introduced their fall menu. I had my selections all picked out. We were seated; handed our menus; and everything went downhill from there. Apparently, their website had not caught up to their actual menu yet. None of us were thrilled with any of our dishes, from appetizers to desserts. We "liked" them; just didn't love them. My cousin asked for some olive oil for the basket of bread, and we had to ask again about 15 minutes later. The waiter filled one water glass, realized he needed another pitcher, but then got waylayed, and didn't return until he brought our meals and we had to ask for more water.
Needless-to-say, it was not worth $200 for four without any alcohol.
"
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2014
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2003
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2003
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2003
Special Features: scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2005
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/13/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great waterfront dining

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went here Labor Day weekend for dinner. We had a great table outside on the dock. The drinks were great, and the food was awesome. Also our server, Sam, was a great waitress! We had the crab cakes and the scallops and they were both delicious. Definitely worth checking out."
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The services was very good and the staff did a great job of adapting to changes of plans for our anniversary celebration."
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great Food. Might be a little noisy

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This was my third visit. I don't come here often. It's usually as a special treat for a special occasion. This time is was my birthday dinner with my wife and two close friends who had never been to Sam's on the Waterfront.
Unfortunately, we picked the wrong night to come. It was filled with a larger birthday group (another guy's birthday) and a wedding rehearsal dinner and the outside bar area was hopping. All of that conspired against our dining experience. The service was slow for our group of four (we were in the restaurant a full three hours from beginning to end). The waiter/manager was apologetic and was nice enough to comp us two glasses of wine and two desserts to smooth things over.
However, it was a less than optimal experience. In addition to the slow service (probably from being understaffed for the night) it was extremely noisy. After awhile I could hardly hear what my dining partners were saying from across a small table.
All that said, the food is excellent even if it is a bit pricey. I think you're paying a lot for the atmosphere and view (a beautiful marina) My recommendation is that if you want a quiet dinner with great food that is well prepared...go during the week and stay away from the weekends. If you don't mind the noise and crowds or if you're part of a large group or want to drink at one of the bars (one inside and one outside), then the weekends are perfect."
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2008
Special Features: scenic view, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Sam's on the Waterfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Chairs are deceiving.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My experience was good! Our waiter was excellent, knew the menu well. He was very kind. The food was delicious and dessert was fantastic. My only complaint were the chairs. They were old and uneven, I was worried that it would break under me, and I'm not a big girl. I tried to exchange chairs, but they were all like that!"
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>