Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

minibar Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

minibar

In the heart of Halsted Street is minibar, a full-service bar in a hip, "hotel lounge" environment. Designed by 2004 Vox/Out award winner Kaufman Segal Design, minibar welcomes you with beautiful lounge seating and dazzling bar features.
43 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(43 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
5 stars
(22)
4 stars
(9)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(1)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for brunch(26)
  • good for groups(21)
  • vibrant bar scene(17)
  • hot spot(10)
  • neighborhood gem(10)
  • late-night find(8)
minibar Reviews List
Review 1 for minibar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/20/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for minibar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Sunday's brunch and service is always great! My husband and I love love it here!"
Dined on 9/07/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for minibar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fun Place

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Went here on Mothers day, They had a great little buffet. They played fun music and it was loud and exciting. Had a great time there. I would definitely go back."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for minibar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2014
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for minibar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/09/2015
 2009
Dined on 8/09/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/09/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for minibar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Happy Customer

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was an incredible experience. We came for a birthday celebration and between the unlimited mimosas and the music this really kicked off the celebration. We had an amazing time!"
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for minibar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2012
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for minibar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The food and service was GREAT!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/26/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for minibar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 7/26/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for minibar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Brunch is FABulous

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Stopped by on a Sunday when they opened and our mimosa carafe as well as the buffet brunch. Absolutely delicious, fun and relaxing."
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2005
Special Features: great for brunch, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for minibar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Minibar Brucn

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We loved our waiter, really nice guy and ensured our table was taken care of. However, the music is really loud for a Sunday Morning that you really couldn't have a conversation. I love loud music but this went a little above my tolerance lever. Love the Pineapple juice with champagne. :)"
Dined on 7/12/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for minibar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/12/2015
 2011
Dined on 7/12/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/12/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for minibar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for minibar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The buffet brunch was just okay. I've had much better for a cheaper price. The waiter never offered us water. I guess you have to request that in most restaurants these day."
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2014
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for minibar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for minibar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for minibar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Everything was great- service, ambiance, and food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2008
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for minibar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for minibar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for minibar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for minibar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for minibar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I would recommend a slightly better food menu.....maybe real eggs, not that bag stuff. Maybe a create your own waffle stand. Or build your own omelet. Also, maybe the chef s could have a themed brunch. It seem just kinda like random foods. However, I liked the ambiance and the wings."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for minibar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food was good, albeit limited.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2013
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Go for a quick meal before a Cubs game. Buffet style food permits you to eat quickly if you're in a hurry. The mimosas are tasty & served in a carafe. You can have cheap refills, too. There's also a choice of juices for the mimosas. I had the grapefruit version which was tasty."
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2013
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for minibar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Okay

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food for brunch is okay, nothing special. Disappointed a bit, especially with their has browns.
If you wanna go and have a couple drinks with friends, I'd go again and recommend it but that's about it.
"
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2011
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for minibar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Easter Mishap

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We made a reservation for Easter brunch for a large group and when we arrived they could not find the reservation even though I had the confirmation email. We were ushered into another part of the bar and were told that we had to be gone at a certain time because that part of the bar needed to be open.
There was not a large selection for brunch with a couple of egg dishes and bacon and sausage. Who puts thin sliced pizza for Easter Brunch?
Our server/bartender did his best to keep our drinks full and make it a good time.
I would not recommend this place for brunch unless you really don't care what you eat."
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for minibar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Buffet?

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"So this is my third time giving a try to Minibar Brunch and wow still surprise how bad they still doing with the food service. This suppose to be a Brunch buffet but that's the least that it is. Every time I visit this place even though I enjoy the place food is just bad. They really need to improve the menu big time and the timing to check is the buffet area are full or empty. Is so embarrassed what I bring friend from other countries to visit this "brunch" cause every time I go we have to wait longggggg for them to replace the empty pan and fill with more food. sometimes even takes 10-15 min for them to replace with more food. Is very annoying the fact that you are paying for a brunch buffet but the must you could it is maybe one,two plates because of the waiting for food. I really like minibar but if they wanna to continue the brunch business especially now the summer is almost there they need to either hire a new chef or expand the kitchen cause is ridiculous the way for the food."
Dined on 3/22/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for minibar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fun place for a mimosa brunch

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Joey was delightful and he kept the mimosas coming! Glo bar is fun and the food was decent. The bacon and cinnamon rolls were the favorites. Fun place for brunch!"
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for minibar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Highly recommend their brunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I was very happy with the service as soon as I walked in, which I was greeted very friendly. Also, I was given great serve by Joey which was very friendly and attentive to our needs. He made sure are plates were changed and checked with our drinks. The champagne is awesome, which they serve you the whole bottle and three choices of juices. I highly recommend this brunch and it will be fun to go on a date or with a group. Love my boys on Halsted and their service. Gracias!!!!!"
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for minibar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Hidden Gem with a Fabulous Crowd

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I loved everything about this place. my only hangup is the tight space. Other than that I enjoyed the food, crowd, music and staff."
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for minibar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

great brunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Been in minibar several time but this last time a had a great time. Staff was very nice, Buffet style brunch was delious and mimosas was A+ that they bring you a carafé. Overall experience was very good."
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for minibar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Out of towners

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My boyfriend and I visited minbar for brunch. We had a reservation for noon. When we got there it seemed like we were the first to arrive. The bar staff were two very good looking gentlemen taking car of the entire place. So we got seated and got a pitcher of mimosa and headed to the buffet. My boyfriend is very picky about food so I was nervous. He loved the spread. A good mix of breakfast favorites and lunch staples. We had a blast ended up staying around until 5 pm although brunch ends at 3. We will surely visit this place again next time we are in town."
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for minibar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Low on Staff?

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I've been to Minibar's brunch a number of times before, and my recent experience wasn't the same. I waited for clean plates for about 15 minutes, and the buffet food took the same amount to be replenished. The hot food bar was empty, and I and other parties waited for about 15 minutes for more food to come out. For a buffet system, they needed better timing. I held onto the same plate I started with because no clean plates came out.
I know Jon, the owner of Minibar, so when I saw him walk in, I spoke with him, and things started to change. More plates came out (it looked like they brought out their whole inventory), and the hot food bar was always filled. He did mention that the dishwasher arrived late, which could have delayed getting clean plates out. I don't know why there was a delay with the food.
I know most people come for the mimosas, but I was just embarrassed to have brought my friends visiting from the UK and had such an experience. We go there every year when they visit, but we may just go elsewhere next year."
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for minibar
Based on the average of (11) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
9 out of 10 recommend this product
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic