Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Breakers at Ashworth by the Sea Reviews List

Breakers at Ashworth by the Sea

For over three decades the Ashworth by the Sea on Hampton Beach, New Hampshire has enjoyed a reputation as one of the best fine dining establishments in New England.
Breakers at the Ashworth is set in the historic Ashworth by the Sea Hotel established in 1912. In a sophisticated yet casual setting with amazing views of Hampton Beach, Ashworth by the Sea celebrates the new, contemporary look of the Breakers Restaurant and Bar in Hampton Beach, NH. Oversized windows provide spectacular ocean views, a granite-topped bar and raised stone hearth fireplace, wood flooring, custom millwork and new furniture, textiles and lighting contribute to an inviting, casual atmosphere. The bar completely wraps around what was once two separate and distinct rooms, creating one expansive space. The Breakers Restaurant now accommodates more people and the popular dance floor has been enlarged.
See more Breakers at Ashworth by the Sea details
19 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(19 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
(9)
4 stars
(5)
3 stars
(1)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • scenic view(10)
  • good for groups(9)
  • fit for foodies(7)
  • special occasion(6)
  • romantic(5)
  • neighborhood gem(4)
Breakers at Ashworth by the Sea Reviews List
Review 1 for Breakers at Ashworth by the Sea
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Breakers at Ashworth by the Sea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Pleasently surprised

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were looking for a good restaurant to eat at that was close to the Hampton Beach Casino and decided to try Breakers. It was wonderful. The service was superb, food was excellant, and prices were reasonable. We would definately go again."
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Breakers at Ashworth by the Sea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Breakers at Ashworth by the Sea
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Breakers at Ashworth by the Sea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2012
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Breakers at Ashworth by the Sea
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Don't Do It.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Terrible service, wrong order brought out - which the server tried to argue, cold food ........you name virtually everything that could be bad and that was the experience at The Breakers.
Every table around us had vocal complaints.
If I could give it negative "Stars" I would.
It was our first and last visit.
"
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Breakers at Ashworth by the Sea
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/10/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Breakers at Ashworth by the Sea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/09/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/09/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"From the front door through paying the bill, every person did a superb job."
Dined on 9/09/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Breakers at Ashworth by the Sea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Service was amazing!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 8/26/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Breakers at Ashworth by the Sea
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not what I expected

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We arrived and were a little surprised at the atmosphere. It was dark and very much looked like a hotel restaurant yet there were surf boards on the menu. Our waitress was pleasant, but did seem to want to rush us through our meal. My red wine was served in a small glass, not appropriate for red wine, and had a mouth mark on it when it arrived. The rolls were served with margarine. We ordered the mussels for an appetizer. They had sand in them and no flavor other than a briney aftertaste. My $25 steak came out smothered in gravy and huge. I looked more carefully and much of the sirloin was fat. Once I cut off the fat it still was not very good. It was overlooked, not a great cut of meat, and the thick gravy was overwhelming. The mashed potatoes served with it were cold. My cousin ordered the clam pasta that arrived swimming in pasta water and no sauce. She had to put some of the leftover margarine from the rolls in it to make it taste like something. I know this is a touristy spot, but the quality of food was really unacceptable for this price point. It was our worst and most expensive meal we had in Hampton Beach. We both left hungry and disappointed and had snacks later in the night."
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Breakers at Ashworth by the Sea
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Breakers at Ashworth by the Sea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2014
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2014
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Breakers at Ashworth by the Sea
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Not great by any measure

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was lousy. My baked potato was sticky as if it had sat out all day. My husband asked for no onions on his burger and found a mound of them melted into the cheese.
I had asked for a romantic setting for our date night when I made the reservation, we were put at a table where my back was against a server's station. Nothing says romance like waitstaff gabbing behind you and feeling like your about to have a pitcher of water spilled on your head. There were plenty of other secluded 2 person tables available.
For the price, I would definitely not recommend this restaurant to anyone. I would have preferred we ordered a pizza that night instead. The only saving grace was the staff, than god they were nice."
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Breakers at Ashworth by the Sea
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Server was not very attentive to our table of 6.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Breakers at Ashworth by the Sea
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Definitely Dissapointing for the Price

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"So, we actually stayed at the Ashworth and thought it would be convenient to go to the Breakers. It looked nice enough but, when we got there the waitress was a bit abrupt and not too helpful. We ordered spinach and artichoke dip as an appetizer and I got a dozen little necks and a lobster roll for my meal, which was not cheap but I thought it would be a nice treat. We were there for quite a while and someone who was not our waitress brought out our meals and we never got the spinach and artichoke dip beforehand. Our waitress did apologize and took it off but, we were hungry and never getting your appetizer is not fun. Now while my little necks and lobster roll weren't bad, they weren't that great and definitely were not worth the hefty price and I would certainly never go back there."
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Breakers at Ashworth by the Sea
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I had reservations so I am not sure why we ended up in the noisy bar section. I ordered the $28 dollar lobster carbonara which turned out to be a plateful of farfalle pasta with a few peas, 6 grape tomatoes and 3 very small lobster claws!! When I told my server she did get the manager who asked what I would like them to do. I said, put a reasonable amount of lobster in the expensive plate. She brought me 3 more small claws?? My daughter had the equally expensive salmon which was a good size, but which was overcooked, chewy with no seasonings to flavor it. The only reason this restaurant remains popular is its location on the Hampton Beach boardwalk."
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Breakers at Ashworth by the Sea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Gluten free choices. Vegetarian friendly.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We decided to stop to get a gift certificate for Christmas. We ate dinner early before the nightclub scene and it was quiet and romantic at 5pm. Their spinach artichoke dip is awesome and if you ask for gluten-free they will bring you gluten-free toast points.
My husband got the baked haddock which was cooked to perfection. I had the season special of stuffed acorn squash with quinoa and vegetables with butternut sauce. It is scrumptious.
The waitress was wonderful. The holiday decorations very festive!
"
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Breakers at Ashworth by the Sea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great menu

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The menu was varied, and the prices reasonable. Portions huge, and everything was cooked to perfection. The service was attentive. All in all a very nice dining experience."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Breakers at Ashworth by the Sea
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
3 / 3
Energetic