Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

29 Newbury Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

29 Newbury

29 Newbury is a trendy Cafe and sophisticated restaurant. The inventive, upscale cuisine offers many options at moderate prices. 29 Newbury is definitely a romantic spot for a quiet dinner. Please note that 29 Newbury does not accept reservations for the patio.
36 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(36 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
5 stars
(6)
4 stars
(16)
3 stars
(13)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(0)
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for lunch(12)
  • neighborhood gem(11)
  • great for outdoor dining(10)
  • fit for foodies(9)
  • good for groups(7)
  • great for brunch(6)
29 Newbury Reviews List
Review 1 for 29 Newbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2014
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Love the place"
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 29 Newbury
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/06/2015
 2010
Dined on 4/06/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/06/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 29 Newbury
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Farewell and thank you

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had a very nice evening. I'm sorry you're closing; it's been nice having you here and enjoying your outside patio, one of the l\pleasantest ones on the street."
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 29 Newbury
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good menu and Prices

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Was very happily surprised by the value for the meal. Appetizers were substantial and good although the rice bowl should have been spicier. Very friendly wait staff and reasonable prices for wine. If you just want a casual, moderate night out this is the spot."
Dined on 3/31/2015
 2003
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 29 Newbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Quiet early dinner, perfect

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My friend and I ended up at 29 Newbury because we didn't leave much time to make dinner reservations. But we're glad we ended up there! I arrived at 4:30 pm on a rainy spring Friday afternoon and sat at the bar. Enjoyed a nice, quiet class of wine and then my friend and I were seated at 5:00 pm. Food was great. Staff was friendly. Afterwards, we walked up to the Boston Common and caught a movie. Lovely evening!"
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 29 Newbury
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not bad but not great

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We came for Sunday brunch. Options were limited, but we had eggs Benedict and smoked salmon. Both were good, but not great especially considering the price. The atmosphere was fine, but also nothing special. I would recommend a place with more character or better food, for the price."
Dined on 3/15/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 29 Newbury
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Solid Back Bay Restaurant

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We have eaten at 29 Newbury several times and have had a pleasant experience each time. We typically eat there because they have a great patio and don't have the long waits of other Newbury St. restaurants. Last weekend was one of the first times we ate inside the restaurant (it was January). The inside ambience is nothing special. The food is solid, tasty, nothing mind blowing though. The service is solid as well. Friendly wait staff and adequate service, but again, nothing overly special. The price is about typical for Boston, but is dependent on what you order. Their dinner entrees can be a little below average in price, but a bacon cheeseburger will set you back more than $20. Overall we like the place, but I wouldn't recommend eating there unless you can sit outside on their patio; that is the best part of the place."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 29 Newbury
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

New Years Dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Food and location ideal for nighttime eatery. Our experience on New Year's Eve was marred by an apathetic host who, when we complained that the pork was dry, replied merely with "Oh" and didn't share this with our waitstaff or the manager. Our other dishes were delicious (duck, lobster fettuccine, steak) so we would have at least liked an apology . Our waiter, Nathan, seemed frazzled, and although friendly, was pretty much absent during our visit. Understand that New Year's Eve may not be a favorite shift to pull, but the service really turned us off. We will come back, however, because the food was wonderful."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2008
Special Features: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 29 Newbury
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

I'll be back!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This was my first time at 29 Newbury, and I'm making it my new "go to" place for lunch on Newbury Street. My out-of-town friend and I had a great table inside the window, right up against the sidewalk, so that we felt like we were dining outdoors on Newbury Street in the winter! We both had the tenderloin steak salad special, which had so much steak that I asked about the portion size. They said it was 8 oz.! That's unheard of. We brought some home. Each of ours was tender and cooked to perfection (hers medium, mine medium rare). The service was attentive. It was such a nice, quiet, relaxing place, all adorned for the holidays, to spend part of an afternoon. I'll have to go back and try out dinner!"
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 29 Newbury
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good find in Back Bay.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I would definitely go to 29 Newbury again. They had an eclectic list of cocktails and a great wine list. The food had a great mixture of interesting creations and comfort food favorites."
Dined on 11/21/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for 29 Newbury
Based on the average of (26) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
21 out of 24 recommend this product
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic