Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Cowtippers Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Cowtippers

Cowtippers Steaks & Spirits is home to traditional steak house fare served with surprisingly creative twists, in relaxed atmosphere with great value pricing. Thick char-grilled steaks, fresh seafood, plump juicy chicken, the best burgers in town, huge homemade desserts, 25 types of margaritas, a cleverly-crafted wine list and a room full of smiles — Cowtippers strives to make every dining experience a celebration!
42 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(42 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
5 stars
(20)
4 stars
(15)
3 stars
(5)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(22)
  • great for outdoor dining(16)
  • neighborhood gem(16)
  • great for lunch(13)
  • late-night find(10)
  • fit for foodies(9)
Cowtippers Reviews List
Review 1 for Cowtippers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/23/2013
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cowtippers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 7/05/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cowtippers
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/11/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cowtippers
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food was good, Service mediocre!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The ambiance is casual to the extreme, and the food was good. Our steaks were cooked perfect to our order and it was a busy night. Our waiter had to be flagged down multiple times, in fact he serviced tables beside and in front of us repeatedly without checking on us."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cowtippers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Love this place for lunch!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I work in midtown and this is my favorite place to go for lunch. One of the few places with free parking that is central. There are always lunch specials. Service is top notch and entertaining. Food never disappoints, especially desserts."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cowtippers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great steaks!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The steaks were well prepared and very tender. The house salad dressing was excellent."
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cowtippers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great location and consistent.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I would recommend for large groups. Burgers are great, others in the group liked the potroast. No big WOW moments with food,but no complaints either. Everything came out as we requested. Server was good and attentive. They have a great outdoor patio that is great in the summer."
Dined on 1/09/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cowtippers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

New Years Eve 2014

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"New Years Eve was my partners birthday and having it at Cowtippers was a great idea. Our waiter Mike took good care of us. It made her birthday evendors more special."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cowtippers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent Dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We were visiting Atlanta from Knoxville and looking for last minute reservations in the area. We dined on a Saturday night with a party of 7. Service was excellent despite having 3 other large groups at the same time. The staff really hustled!
Drinks stayed full. Appetizers were fresh. 6 of us had steaks and all were very good. One had a salad and he said it was very fresh.
We really enjoyed our visit."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cowtippers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Second time here

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was my second visit and it did not compare to the first visit. The first time here was excellent in all respects. This time the noise level was extreme and while we were seated and waited on immediately it went downhill from there. We were a party of four and had the ribs and chicken, pork tenderloin, sirloin steak and vegetarian sandwich; all excellent. The appetizer, drinks and food arrived in a timely manner but the follow up was poor. We had finished our drinks long before anyone asked if we wanted refills and it took 20 minutes to get them. Also took a long time to get the check and get payment processed so we could leave. Don't know why the difference in service between our two visits. Perhaps it was the time of day, this time at 2:30 previously at 4:30. I will try again because the food is excellent."
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cowtippers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Christmas Day

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We decided not to cook on Christmas this year, so we went onto Open Table to see what was open in the Atlanta area, we saw Cow Tippers and booked a reservation,.
We arrived about 15 min early, but we were seated right away. The restaurant was very busy, yet our waiter Wesley did an awesome job. We ordered cocktails, appetizers (armadillo eggs and fried pickles) have to say the fried pickles are forgettable. We ordered steaks, and sides, all arrived cooked to perfection, followed by dessert. All the while Wesley took good care of us.
Overall a most enjoyable experience."
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Cowtippers
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed this time

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We arrive approx 30 mins early and were seated right away. However, after ordering our appetizer and food the wait staff brought both at the same time. After eating one or two bites of our food the waitress came to our table and picked up our plates with food still on it and asked, "are we ready for desert?" We told her we were not finished with our food and she put the food back on the table. She left but returned almost immediately with the check. We were having cocktails and she never even asked if we would like another. It was Christmas Eve and maybe she was schedule to get off of work soon. Either way, she hurried us and picked up our plates with our entree on it without even asking if we were finished. It will be a while before we return to Cowtippers."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
Special Features: scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Cowtippers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Diner

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Went for Christmas Dinner. Beyond our expectations. It was incredible. Can't wait to return and we have already recommended it to friends!"
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Cowtippers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fun, fun, fun

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The atmosphere is casual and friendly. Our waiter was hysterical and attentive. The food was prepared perfectly, and the margaritas were strong! I'll definitely be back."
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Cowtippers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

My 50th Bday

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Our food was great and our server was wonderful. I had been told that Cowtippers quality of food and service had gotten bad, but that was far from the case. I would recommend to any and everyone."
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Cowtippers
Based on the average of (27) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
21 out of 22 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic