Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

CAVU KITCHEN BAR Reviews List

CAVU KITCHEN BAR

Located in the Hilton Vancouver Airport Hotel in Richmond, BC, our kitchen and bar is the place to go for fresh, flavorful food and drinks in a cool, laid-back atmosphere. Indulge in gourmet comfort food (with a twist), along with classic, old-fashioned cocktails, local wines, and international and domestic beers.
See more CAVU KITCHEN BAR details
46 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(46 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
5 stars
(12)
4 stars
(24)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(3)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
2.7 / 5
(Good) 2.7 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(15)
  • fit for foodies(14)
  • neighborhood gem(12)
  • great for lunch(7)
  • special occasion(7)
  • great for brunch(6)
CAVU KITCHEN BAR Reviews List
Review 1 for CAVU KITCHEN BAR
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2008
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2008
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for CAVU KITCHEN BAR
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2012
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for CAVU KITCHEN BAR
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2008
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for CAVU KITCHEN BAR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 26/12/2015
 2009
Dined on 26/12/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Very surprising"
Dined on 26/12/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for CAVU KITCHEN BAR
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good portions

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"I know Dine Out may affect the offerings and proportions but I was seriously hungry after! The servings were so insignificant that I felt I couldn't get a sense of what the food was really like. If it is representative of business as usual, then I'm not sure I'd go back. I tend to give places a benefit of a doubt."
Dined on 22/01/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for CAVU KITCHEN BAR
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 19/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 19/01/2016
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 19/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for CAVU KITCHEN BAR
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food and nice quiet atmosphere.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"The food and service are very good at CAVU and I'm not sure why it isn't more popular. Locals don't seem to have found it and it's a shame as the only drawback to the restaurant is that more people would improve the ambiance. I like the quiet atmosphere as you can have a nice conversation without yelling - which is necessary in many restaurants these days. The servers are all very pleasant and efficient and I've had many menu items and all are very good. Try it, you'll like it!"
Dined on 15/01/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for CAVU KITCHEN BAR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 09/01/2016
 2010
Dined on 09/01/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 09/01/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for CAVU KITCHEN BAR
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 01/01/2016
 2013
Dined on 01/01/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Came in for our first 2016 dinner. Excellently prepared food. Good service. Convenient location. Second time here. Will return."
Dined on 01/01/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for CAVU KITCHEN BAR
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 14/12/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for CAVU KITCHEN BAR
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great for a tuesday night meeting of friends

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"CAVU was a great little find! The appies were delicious as were our mains! I really liked the little trio of desserts. It was perfect for the 3 of us in our party to each get a mini of what we wanted!
The waitress was great! The only thing we hoped for was that the live music would be on longer! Next time we know to go earlier! Great place!"
Dined on 22/10/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for CAVU KITCHEN BAR
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 05/09/2015
 2008
Dined on 05/09/2015
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 05/09/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for CAVU KITCHEN BAR
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 07/10/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for CAVU KITCHEN BAR
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 05/10/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for CAVU KITCHEN BAR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 05/04/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for CAVU KITCHEN BAR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Terrific Food in Cozy Atmosphere

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Really enjoyed the food and service. Menu has wide range of dishes and apps that made it hard to choose from. Food was bursting with flavor from fresh ingredients that was just the right size. Enjoyed happy hour before 6pm and was near our hotel so made it easy to walk to."
Dined on 16/09/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for CAVU KITCHEN BAR
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Disappointing

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 14/09/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for CAVU KITCHEN BAR
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very good pasta

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Very good pasta. Lacklustre fish 'n chips and burgers. Get entrees versus casual plates - they're much better and worth the extra money. Service was a bit slow, but she was very friendly and tried to check in often. Clean place, renovated, would definitely come back!"
Dined on 09/09/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for CAVU KITCHEN BAR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 06/09/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for CAVU KITCHEN BAR
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 26/08/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for CAVU KITCHEN BAR
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 20/08/2015
 2014
Dined on 20/08/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 20/08/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for CAVU KITCHEN BAR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great spot, good service and yummy food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 26/04/2015
 2010
Dined on 26/04/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Enjoyed ourselves here! They even accommodated our baby. The place was mostly empty which is unfortunate as the food goes beyond standard hotel restaurant fare. Great variety in the menu. Service was also professional and friendly. Would return when wanting something non-Asian in Richmond!"
Dined on 26/04/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for CAVU KITCHEN BAR
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

More improvements needed

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 15/02/2015
 2013
Dined on 15/02/2015
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Restaurant staff are friendly but at times stretched out over the span of the floor. Their approach is bar-like and not as professional and fitting as its high end ambience (take Chop for comparison). Food is well seasoned but both our chicken+chorizo and halibut (the smallest piece of $25 halibut entree in town) are way overcooked and dried as gypsum board. Kitchen is not proficient at timing the dishes as my wife's halibut came out with almost cold broth.
Overall this restaurant had potential but lots of growing up to do. In a competitive market as Richmond and with the restaurant hidden in the Hilton hotel that doesn't get enough passerby attention, CAVU needs to improve quickly or they will only be limited to catering to hotel guests and not local foodies."
Dined on 15/02/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for CAVU KITCHEN BAR
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Nice little hotel restaurant. Trendy appearance. Food was decent at best, and the service was awful. I don't think I'd recommend this place to anyone. I'd rather go to Cactus or Earls."
Dined on 13/02/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for CAVU KITCHEN BAR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing food, great ambiance

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food at Cavu was delicious! We had a beautiful private table, perfect for a group of six. The service was a little slow, but we were eating a three course meal so this was okay. Would definitely recommend Cavy to friends."
Dined on 31/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for CAVU KITCHEN BAR
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Ok

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My first time here to try dine out vancouver menu. However, it was a disappointment. The dineout menu didn't have much selection. The food was not as i expected. I didnt like it. But, as i was looking at the regular menu, it seems like a great selection. I would definitely give it another try. Hopefully it will be better the next time. :)"
Dined on 26/01/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for CAVU KITCHEN BAR
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Awesome food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went to CAVU for Dine Out. The service and ambience were ok - nothing special. Even though there was only one option for the starter and three choices for the main, there was a long wait for each course to come. However, when the food did come, it was exceptional. Great presentation, great menu, and very delicious."
Dined on 23/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for CAVU KITCHEN BAR
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 20/01/2015
 2011
Dined on 20/01/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Everything was fine. My only negative comment is about the "Cobb" salad. Lacking avocado, egg, bacon and blue cheese bits it is not really a Cobb salad. It had shrimp, so it might be trying to be a seefood Cobb. The only other seafood Cobb I have had that is really good is at the Westin in Bellevue Wash and it is much better. On the other hand it was very nicely presented. Bob"
Dined on 20/01/2015
 2011
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for CAVU KITCHEN BAR
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Decent new hotel restaurant

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 30/12/2014
 2008
Dined on 30/12/2014
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My husband and I came here with our families for our birthday lunch. The food and service were both very good. Nice ambiance for our lunch. Good space and tables.
Only thing that I would note: We had to wait for the table to be prepared when I had made a reservation for 9 people a week earlier, and we were the only party there for lunch."
Dined on 30/12/2014
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for CAVU KITCHEN BAR
Based on the average of (17) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
13 out of 14 recommend this product
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.7 / 3
Energetic