Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Cafe Champignon Reviews List

Cafe Champignon

Champignon has become a destination spot for all New York City diners. It is no exaggeration to say that we are one of the best food establishments in the country. .We have a great food for a great dining experience, all at an affordable price. Everything is fresh and made with the highest quality ingredients. The upscale decor and ambiance makes Champignon an ideal place to impress an important client, as well as celebrate a special occasion.
See more Cafe Champignon details
40 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
(40 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
5 stars
(10)
4 stars
(11)
3 stars
(13)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(4)
Food 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Service 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(13)
  • great for brunch(8)
  • good for groups(7)
  • great for lunch(6)
  • fit for foodies(4)
  • notable wine list(2)
Cafe Champignon Reviews List
Review 1 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/08/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/08/2016
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great Cappuccino"
Dined on 2/08/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

STAY AWAY

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"One of the worst dining experiences I ever encountered in NYC. The service was not only bad, it was non-existent. The food is less than average and the prices are disproportionate to the quality of the food. The ambiance is that of a storefront joint. Nothing positive to say about this terrible restaurant."
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We waited 20 minutes to get a glass of water! The restaurant was filled with only one server! We ordered a glass of wine. It never came! We walked out."
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/05/2015
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Cafe Champignon

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went for brunch. It was just ok. Prices are more than reasonable and there is a wide variety to choose from. One example of why just ok. I had eggs, toast & potatoes. But they only served one piece of toast. Really?"
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/22/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/11/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great little find near our hotel! The bar man was pleasant, the server was patient and polite. It's a small place so very cozy. Biggest thing with me is noise and there was none as not too many people there late on a Sunday. My duck was very good and the hummus to start was great. Price is very reasonable..., give this place a try!"
Dined on 10/11/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not the best and not the worst

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Was very disappointed in the ambiance because it sounded like a nice french restaurant. My wife and i had a delicious burger that came with good fries . The burger was cooked perfectly and it came on a nice soft bun. The chairs were very uncomfortable and old looking. The service was just fair."
Dined on 10/08/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2005
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Reasonable Brunch

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went for brunch because it was close to someone's hotel that was visiting me in the city. Food was pretty good. I had steak and eggs and both of those were great. Potatoes were not fantastic and not a lot of them, but the prices were very reasonable for Manhattan. Its great for broke girls like me on a budget."
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2013
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great place to eat brunch outside and people-watch!"
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Such a waste

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I went there on a Tuesday evening with my husband and sat at the bar waiting for a table to open up. The bartender asked what I wanted "Pinot Noir", to that he rolled his eyes and walked away. A few minutes later he slammed a glass down and poured me sub-par wine. Another person walked in asked for a table and the waiter ran around trying to find her a spot and moving tables around. The other waiter told him I was waiting first and after he glanced my way he continued on his pursuit to find her a table. He then walked back to the waiter who was standing next to me and said in Spanish "she's at her a table, give her whatever she wants", little did he know, I am fluent. I sat and waited...and waited....and waited. Finally we were seated...and waited....and waited....there were two waiters there after about 20 minutes one came to me and said "your food will be right out" to that I said "how we didn't even get menus". He then laughed, brought us menus, we ordered immediately for fear it would take hours. We ordered the hummus and grilled octopus, both OK. We waited...and waited...and waited for about 40 minutes then the waiter came out saying "so sorry i'll have to take off an item from your check". Once we finished eating we asked for the check and just as we thought that took forever.
Unfortunately I went under the assumption this place was going to be amazing, the bartender was rude begging to be allowed to go downstairs or leave, the waiters were nice, but clearly drowning in the tables they were manning and all I heard around me was "wheres my food" or "you forgot my fries" so clearly I wasn't the only one who felt this way.
We left, unsatisfied, angry, and with nothing taken off our bill. Seriously the only good thing about this place is that it's outside. Real shame."
Dined on 4/15/2015
 2006
Special Features: scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Neighborhood Standby

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My boyfriend lives down the street. We eat here at least 3 to 4 times a month. It's always good, never loud, and you can easily get a table for 6-8 if you need. The service is always amazing."
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not Recommended

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Mediocre to subpar food, service, and ambiance. A bit cramped. Reasonably priced. Overall - Not recommended."
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great little spot

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Neighborhoody little French joint. Decent menu - the hangar steak was delicious and the sancere crisp. Also, the price was right. Would totally go back."
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointing.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I had been to Cafe Champignon for a Friday night dinner and it was wonderful, but I am sorry now that I returned for a holiday lunch with a friend from out of town. Our entrees (one salad, one sandwich) were fine, but our dessert was frozen solid when served--inedible."
Dined on 1/19/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The food was delicious!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Each of the 7 people in my parter ordered something different to eat and all raved at the freshness, taste and quality!"
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice neighborhood cafe

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food here is consistently good. We had the burger and chicken club. Both were excellent. Service was good and not rushed, even on a busy Saturday."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A Neighborhood Must

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I cannot say enough about the Manager (sorry, I don't recall her name!). She was so sweet and accommodating. As they were unable to take us for dinner New Year's Eve, she made brunch extra special New Year's Day. The Salmon Benedict and regular Eggs Benedict were outstanding as was the Bloody Mary. I plan to visit frequently!"
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent evening

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Had a early dinner pre theater so restaurant not too busy when we arrived. Service was attentive. We shared a very generous and tasty salad and split the duck entree. Duck was prepared perfectly. They were getting busy as we were finishing but noise level was not bad so we were able to have a normal conversation. We always have a good meal when we are at this very nice neighborhood place."
Dined on 12/10/2014
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Cafe Champignon
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Sunday Brunch

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We ordered a side of Fries with our Croque Monsieurs. Sandwiches were good, fries were excellent. Also, Build your Own Omelette was good. Blanc Margaritas were good but @ $10.00 served in a small glass, they were expensive."
Dined on 11/30/2014
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Cafe Champignon
Based on the average of (9) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
6 out of 6 recommend this product
Food 
3.1 / 5
(Very Good) 3.1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate