Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Espoleta Tapas & Wine Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Espoleta Tapas & Wine

Espoleta Tapas & Wine
47 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
(47 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
5 stars
(16)
4 stars
(10)
3 stars
(12)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(5)
Food 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Service 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • romantic(16)
  • good for groups(15)
  • fit for foodies(13)
  • notable wine list(10)
  • neighborhood gem(9)
  • special occasion(7)
Espoleta Tapas & Wine Reviews List
Review 1 for Espoleta Tapas & Wine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2011
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Espoleta Tapas & Wine
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

I have no idea what this place is

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I made a reservation for a Spanish Tapas bar. When I arrived at the address the sign outside the restaurant said it was a Trattoria. The owner or manager asked if he could help me and I told him I had a reservation at Estela. HE told it was the place and their was a restaurant inside the restaurant. I told the hostess that I had a reservation at Estela and she led me and my guest into a closed door to a restaurant inside the restaurant. When she brought the menu's she said it was a c course pre-fixe pizza restaurant. I thought it was supposed to be Tapas. I am still not sure if this Tapas restaurant even exists."
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Espoleta Tapas & Wine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/07/2013
 2013
Dined on 12/07/2013
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/07/2013
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Espoleta Tapas & Wine
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I admit it, it's our fault for going out to a restaurant on Valentine's Day...but when you have a reservation, you do expect to be sat around that time. However, we waited 1.5 hrs for our table, had rude service, the pre-fixe menu did not come out correctly, some food was cold, and our bill was wrong. Some of the food was very tasty, but so much went wrong otherwise we just had to laugh, it was actually comical. Poor overwhelmed waitress...I think she quit that night. Learned that we will stay at home and cook next V-Day!"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Espoleta Tapas & Wine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good tapas

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2012
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was good and the restaurant ambience is beautiful. When we went, on Friday 10 April, their credit card system was down so it was cash only. It would have been good to know at the moment we booked our reservation."
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Espoleta Tapas & Wine
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Worst Experience At A NYC Restaurant In Years.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"From the minute my date and I walked in the door something was off. Very pushy front of house and a very chaotic disorganized environment. There was nothing hospitable about GM or the Hostess. The dinner was Prixe Fix with choices for each guest. What should have been an enjoyable 1 hour or 1.5 hour 5 course dinner ended up being 3 hours. The waiter screwed up courses multiple times... Our entrees and sides did not come out together and as the evening got late multiple tables beside us threw in the towel and skipped the desert course entirely. With all this happening, and as it seemed the whole restaurant was falling into a deeper chaos not one person apologized or tried to rectify what a horrible situation had been created. I can't fathom how this restaurant is on EATER's Heat Map List. Other than the service being horrendous, the food was just so so. It wasn't bad, but very basic. Nothing stood out. Will not go back and give it another go."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Espoleta Tapas & Wine
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The service was very good, unfortunately, the food was not good. The tortilla espanola was dry, the croqueta was dry, the sangria was missing ingredients and we were told after the fact. However, the service is good and the sangria was taken back and replaced with a bottle of wine. Great ambience and great service. Just not satified with the food."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Espoleta Tapas & Wine
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2008
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Horrible service! The host refused to seat our partial party (2 out of 3!) even after mentioning we were ready to eat. The server didn't know the daily specials, spilled wine all over our table and my shirt. We had to ask for someone to take our order after 20 minutes of sitting around."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Espoleta Tapas & Wine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

What a great new place!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Espoleta is so charming. The ambiance is warm and attractive. My birthday party of 13 was perfectly accommodated. The food and vino were delicious. The maitre d' and our server were delightful! I can't wait to come back. Thank you Espoleta for making my birthday a memorable one."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Espoleta Tapas & Wine
Based on the average of (38) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
21 out of 26 recommend this product
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic