Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Haven Reviews List

Haven

Located in Oakland’s Jack London Square, Haven is the third restaurant in the DPG (Daniel Patterson Group) family of restaurants. Serving creative new Californian cuisine from Executive Chef Matt Brimer, Haven offers a fixed menu 7 days a week. In addition to craft cocktails, local beer, and a stellar wine list, our lounge is open for walk-in dining featuring a rotating, a la carte menu of house-made pasta, salads and the Haven burger.

Our fixed menu is $49 per person Sunday - Thursday, and $65 on Friday and Saturday. Lounge menu items vary in price from $6 to $64. Reservations are for our prix fixe menu only. Our a la carte lounge menu is served in our lounge and bar on a first come first serve basis.
See more Haven details
430 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
(430 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 430 reviews
5 stars
(261)
4 stars
(129)
3 stars
(30)
2 stars
(8)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(295)
  • special occasion(208)
  • scenic view(147)
  • romantic(135)
  • neighborhood gem(132)
  • good for groups(71)
Haven Reviews List
Review 1 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Light and Lively

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"This is my favorite restaurant. The food is creative but not fussy and is carefully prepared. The last meal we had was a perfectly cooked fish preceded by a series of delightful "small plates" that were light and satisfying. All is presented in an appealing way."
Dined on 4/25/2016
 2007
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Haven
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Celebrating our Daughter's birthday

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"A very pleasant setting with very good and attentive service. However the food experience needs comments / suggestions:
- The 'Breaking Bread' part of the menu may impress those who do not cook or like pretentious stuff. All of the items on the platter were mediocre and could be readily obtained from Trader Joe's or Whole Foods - and for a party of six the portions were paltry. Please keep the format but do be a bit more creative with stuff that does not look or taste like it came from Trader Joe's and yes, address the portions also.
- The main course (Beef or Fish) while tasty and cooked right - was such a small portion that we (including guests) could have had another portion (or two) for the price.
It may be trendy with the young (un-initiated) crowd but we need to address the concerns addressed above for the restaurant to have appeal with most 'foodies' and not only those that love it because it is trendy and costly.
Will I come again? Probably Yes, if the restaurant changes its format a bit and provides entrees that are indeed entrees and not a snack / tasting item. Had we not had the dessert, we would have been hungry.
Thanks for giving me the opportunity to comment - hope it helps the restaurant and the patrons.
"
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2013
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2006
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2006
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Haven
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 4/22/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 4/22/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Haven
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2009
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2010
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Haven
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2012
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"They only offered us a pre-frix menu that evening. Food and service were average, a bit overpriced. There are a couple of park n pay. View is good, the restaurant itself is overlooking the yarhts and boats."
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Haven
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Terrible service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Felt very rushed. Took our salads away even though we were not done. I mentioned birthday but nothing special. Terrible service."
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 4/18/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Haven
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2006
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2013
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Haven
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/10/2016
 2008
Dined on 4/10/2016
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/10/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/10/2016
 2006
Dined on 4/10/2016
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/10/2016
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Haven
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 4/09/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/05/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/05/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/05/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2000
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Prefix menu was a great experience. Nicely paced. Waited until our cocktails were done before food came out"
Dined on 4/05/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Haven
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/04/2016
 2010
Dined on 4/04/2016
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/04/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Haven
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Unusual and elegant dining experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/03/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/03/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"My husband and I were looking to try a new local restaurant to celebrate some good news and Haven was mentioned on a 'best of' list, so we thought we'd give it a try!
Overall, I felt like the food was good but maybe my tastes aren't refined enough, because I didn't find anything to be especially spectacular. It was also more expensive than other high-end restaurants we've experienced. But the ambiance was lovely, and our waiter was attentive."
Dined on 4/03/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 4/01/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/03/2016
 2012
Dined on 4/03/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/03/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Haven
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Haven
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2002
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2002
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Wonderful and innovative food in generous portions. Very considerate service. One of our party had special food requirements and it was handled with grace, understanding and extra courtesy. We are very grateful."
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2005
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Lives up to the hype

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2015
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I'm not the type of person who dines at trendy restaurants - I usually find that the hype is just that. But not Haven. Haven is heaven! Such creative and delicious food! We had the pre-fixe dinner on a weeknight and I particularly enjoyed the starter plate. Everything that was served was just excellent. The service was genuinely friendly as well as attentive. I enjoyed the decor with its rustic appeal, it put me at ease. Oh and the creative cocktail menu! I just can't say enough about how great our night was. It's now my new favorite special occasion restaurant."
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2013
Special Features: scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Haven
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2008
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 3/23/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Haven
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great presentations, great inventiveness

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/15/2016
 2007
Dined on 3/15/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"The whole experience was quite nice. Went with a group of four, and we enjoyed sharing the breads and the accompaniments. There was a real nice variety to the breads, they were fresh and earthy. The standout spread was the smoked trout. Maybe I just like smoke, but I also thought the smoked chopped squid, that came as an appetizer subsequent to the breads and spreads, was outstanding. Also, the simple salad was incredibly fresh and the dressing was just right, not too overwhelming. Opted for the black cod for the entrée, and it literally melted in the mouth. Very fresh and flavorful, seared perfectly without being overcooked. Service was friendly and efficient. Would come back without hesitation."
Dined on 3/15/2016
 2007
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2006
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fun and Eclectic Menu

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"you can either eat at the bar, which is fun, or eat restaurant style.
Restaurant is a Pris Fixe style but very high quality and imaginative; great ingredients, presentation and, above all, taste!
There are about 6 appetizers (served family style), then a very nice chilled pea soup (the evening we went) followed by a choice of pork belly or black cod (we had the cod which was very good) then deserts.
definitely will go again.
"
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Haven
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 3/18/2016
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2005
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2005
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Haven
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/14/2016
 2007
Dined on 3/14/2016
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/14/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Real Find on the Oakland/Alameda Waterfront

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Our son and his wife gave us a gift certificate to Haven as a thank you. We are in our late 60's and definitely not foodies, but Haven is incredible. We love everything about our dining experience there on a Saturday night. We took a friend visiting from Madrid and were not disappointed. We look forward to returning for a special occasion. Haven deserves great success! We live on Alameda and loved the waterfront location, casual yet sophisticated atmosphere, great service and amazing food. We recommend it without reservation."
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The Perfect Place for a Date

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/08/2016
 2013
Dined on 3/08/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I came here for a friend's birthday and there were five of us in the party. By the end of the night, all of us realized something: this place is the perfect place for a date.
The pre fixe course menu offers a shared appetizer, an entree, a side, and a dessert. The best surprise of the night was the shared appetizer. It came out in three waves, and each wave got better and better. The timing of the entire meal was spot on with enough time in between each wave to talk for a bit. Highlights of the appetizer include the phenomenal chicken liver pate, spiced hummus, squid ink salad, and the crab cake fritter. The squid ink is the best I've had; it is perfectly seasoned and the dressing leaves me wanting more.
I opted to pay 30 more dollars for the Rib Eye for two and shared it with one of my buddies. This Rib Eye was cooked to perfection and compares to the likes of Ruth's Chris and Mastro's. The portion was generous and was cooked just a bit under medium rare, which I think is the best way to have your steak. The other entrees were delicious as well. The Wagyu was incredibly tender and the Vegetarian option had a nice creamy, well-balanced taste.
To finish off the meal, the dessert was rich but not heavy. Great size and the presentation was beautiful.
Overall, I recommend this place either in a group or on a date. The unique shared appetizer style adds another element to the meal that definitely impresses.
"
Dined on 3/08/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/03/2016
 2007
Dined on 3/03/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/03/2016
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/29/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/29/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/29/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/29/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Haven
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dissapointing experience

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We love this place, but we had an off night. Cocktails were not cold and seemed watery. The quality of the ingredients in the entrees, as well as the execution in the kitchen (e.g. short ribs under-cooked; limp skin on pan roasted fish) were not up to the standards we have come to expect. Despite this, the "breaking bread," salad and soup courses were stellar as always, as was the service. We will be back."
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2003
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Haven
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2006
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Haven
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

All Three of Us Loved Haven

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"This was our first visit since the restaurant changed chefs, so we didn't know if it would be as good as our last meal at Haven. We were there celebrating our neighbor's birthday, and we all of us thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We were offered a short prix fixe menu with a couple of choices for the entree. Portions are not large, but none of us walked away hungry. The quality of the food, the service, and the beautiful Jack London Sq. location made for a perfect evening. If you are looking for a special restaurant in the East Bay give Haven a try."
Dined on 2/25/2016
 2001
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>