Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

The Tomato Bistro Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

The Tomato Bistro

The Tomato Bistro's intention is to serve its clientele with a mix of popular Couch Tomato Café favorites and a dynamic clutch of "small plate" menu options. The desire to further pander to customers palates is facilitated by the fully stocked bar, touting a rotating list of featured wines and craft beers. A few of the most salient points carried upstairs from the café below are the continuation of moderate prices, the ingenious combinations of quality ingredients, and the premium placed on the customer experience. The Bistro creates a forum for family and friends to relax and mingle amidst an impeccably chosen array of food and drink. The Bistro can accommodate parties of most any size or disposition, and the time spent inside its cozy environs will hardly be reflected with the waiter's final stop at the table.
77 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(77 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 77 reviews
5 stars
(37)
4 stars
(27)
3 stars
(9)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(36)
  • neighborhood gem(35)
  • great for lunch(23)
  • good for groups(20)
  • great for brunch(17)
  • hot spot(12)
The Tomato Bistro Reviews List
Review 1 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2013
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/28/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food! Good for sharing!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Came here with my boyfriend for Restaurant Week. Service was great, food was delicious! The small plates and pizzas are perfect for sharing. I would definitely come back again."
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2012
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good Start, Bad Finish

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our experience went well at first. The waitress was prompt, they served our salads and kid meals in a timely manner, but then the waiting started. From that point it took about 20 minutes to get 2/3 of the meals. The other 1/3 did not come until we were wrapping the rest of our meal up and paying the check. The waitress said a manager would come by to explain but that never happened. I walked away very disappointed with the dining experience."
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2005
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good Casual Dining

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Group of 5 went for early Saturday dinner. Seated next to stairs initially and moved when requested. Space is very limited so a bit of a tight fit for us, even at a table for 6. The pizzas were good, especially the spicy chicken and fig. But the salads were disappointing, especially the sesame chicken salad due to the thin slivers of overly fried chicken. The southwestern salad had mostly the non-leafy parts of the lettuce. It seems they ran out of the fresh parts of salad fixins during lunch. The scallops were good and a bit undercooked. The sweet potato croquettes were good. The wait staff were very competent and pleasant. The atmosphere was fun and casual."
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great spot for casual dining with the kids

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2007
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were looking for a spot to take our kids after an outing in the city. Tomato Bistro was a great choice. It is far better than any of the standard pubs in the area, but the food is not any more expensive. Beer list is great. Kids had pizza and grilled cheese (both of which were a significant cut above what we were anticipating), and my wife and I both had great salads. We'll definitely be back. Tomato Bistro knows its spot in the market and over delivers."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2007
Special Features: kid-friendly
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/27/2013
 2015
Dined on 6/27/2013
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The margherita pizza is delicious!"
Dined on 6/27/2013
 2015
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great last-minute find on a Friday!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I had originally planned on going to another restaurant for dinner Friday night, but was looking for something more affordable. So glad I found this place on Open Table! They offer free valet which was a nice bonus for the busy streets of Manayunk. The staff was friendly and polite. Great ambiance and menu! And couldn't beat the price of my Chicken cutlet pizza. Plus, the complementart tomato soup shooter was delicious!
My only two complaints were that it was extremely warm/humid upstairs in the Bistro, while downstairs in the Café you could tell that the air conditioning was on and working. Second, the valet service was not explained very well. I sat outside in my car for 10 minutes, thinking someone was going to come out and get my keys. I had to call the restaurant to find out the policy.
But overall, a great visit, and I would go back if ever in the area again!
"
Dined on 4/03/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great, great Place

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/22/2015
 2009
Dined on 3/22/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food and atmosphere are top-notch. This is the type of place you could easily find in a place like SoHo, except at much lower prices. I've been there twice, and everything I've had has been excellent. You can tell the food is high quality, prepared by people who know what they're doing. Highly recommended."
Dined on 3/22/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Dinner

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/15/2015
 2010
Dined on 3/15/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Had a quick dinner before Paint Nite. Server was friendly and service was pretty quick. I had the grilled Cesar salad, which was great. Also, had a small free appetizer, tomato bisque soup. I don't even like tomato soup but it was delicious."
Dined on 3/15/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Find!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were looking for a last minute place to eat a late dinner (after 9:00 pm), and Googled places to eat in Manayunk. The Tomato Bistro popped up with great reviews so we thought we'd try it. We were not disappointed! Manayunk can be a difficult place to to park on a Saturday night, but the Bistro offers FREE valet parking, so we were in with no problems. We had a reservation and were seated right away by a friendly hostess. Our server came to the table shortly after and explained the menu (mostly small plates, salads, soups and hearth-baked gourmet pizzas. We ended up ordering several things to share and LOVED everything. One person in our party started with the Pizza soup...a rich, thick tomato bisque with melted mozzerella and parmesian. The waiter even brought samples for the rest of us to try in adorable tiny mugs. Deliscious! We all shared two of the pizzas...the Florentine (a white pizza with LOTS of garlic) and the Pistachio Pesto (the name says it all). Both were out-of-this world. The pesto pizza had a surprising, but wonderful, hint of lemon in every bite. We were all stuffed by the end of the meal, vowing to return."
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great find on a cold rainy night!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/10/2015
 2011
Dined on 3/10/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Just having moved into area, wanted a nice (reasonable ) dinner with my sister and 3 friends. We stopped in on a Tuesday night and found half price wine and a menu to please all of us.. Sliders-choose 3 (we got 2 orders, thus 6 different flavors), many flat bread pizza choices (good size to share).. Wait staff very patient and helpful (we had trouble making decisions-everything looked good-and was!) Almost forgot, complimentary tasting of their yummy tomato soup--got 2 pints to go! Overall we all really enjoyed!"
Dined on 3/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Date Night at Couch Tomato Bistro

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Waitress was super knowledgeable of the menu and very friendly. She recommended a special to split between two people which saved us about $25 on the meal. Food is always really great here, but the food coming out of the kitchen was quite slow. I wasn't starving, so it wasn't an issue, but if I was very hungry, it may have really bothered me. Will return."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice surprise

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Meet a friend for lunch and had a wonderful time. Had the best comfort food - tomato bisque soup and grilled cheese sliders, plus a nice glass of Sauvignon blanc ( did I mention they have a liquor license ????).
Will definitely go for a return visit.
"
Dined on 2/26/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

New Waitress, service was blah!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/23/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/23/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was good, just wished my waitress was more knowledgeable about the menu. I had the fired goat cheese salad and the sliders which were tasty. However the waitress seem to be a little frustrated and overwhelmed. She gave the sense that we were bothering her when we asked about how items on the menu were prepared."
Dined on 2/23/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

something to please everyone

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Recently my family was in town, one of them is gluten-free and it's not easy in Manayunk to find options. There's usually 1 or 2 items on a menu that are gluten-free, vegetarian, vegan, etc... but the Tomato Bistro truly has OPTIONS for those with dietary restrictions. They are also very accommodating with any other food allergy, food sensitivity or plain old picky eater. Full bar too for those that want to unwind! Super attentive wait staff and great ambiance to boot. Totally casual and family friendly, but also romantic. A very versatile place to go. We'll definitely be going back."
Dined on 2/16/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wow! Delicious!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went for Valentines Day and we loved it! The food was delicious and the sharing option was fun! Our experience was made all the better with our outstanding service from Megan (Meg)! She was delightful! We have to choose gluten-free options and they have several. Even - or should I say especially- the GF Pizza was DELICIOUS!!
We can't wait to go again! It's almost an hour from us and so worth the drive!
"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing food in an amazing place.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I took my girlfriend here for Valentine's day dinner, and it was really, really good. The salad with fried goat cheese was excellent, and the sweet potato and crab meat croquettes were also super tasty. I would definitely go again some time!"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Awfully disappointed.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I have had The Couch Tomato pizza before and loved it, so I was excited to take my family to The Tomato Bistro's brunch buffet that I read so many amazing reviews on. When we arrived, our reservation for 7 was not acknowledged and we were seated in the pizza area downstairs instead. The buffet was completely empty each and every time we went upstairs to check if there was food, and people were actually standing around the buffet waiting to pounce on the one 6 piece flatbread that was brought out every half hour. On top of that, the waitress forgot that she had our table downstairs. I am so surprised the past reviews were so good because I was completely embarrassed that this is where I picked to bring my family for lunch. I understand it was busy, but it was a Saturday brunch! What did you expect?"
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Gluten Free Pizza

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I used to order take out from this place years ago and recently moved back to the area and found out they now serve gluten free pizza. There menu has great tasting small personal specialty pizzas in both gluten free and regular. They will even make just plain or pepperoni for those that want something simple. The waitress was super friendly and knowledgeable, the service was quick, it was quiet and relaxing so we could still hear each other talk. Overall great experience."
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great GF menu!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Very impressed with their gluten free menu disclosures. Every item that can be made gluten free is labeled. Thank you for making it easier on the gf-folks!"
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Chef's comp tomato bisque & bread was a nice touch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Chicken & Waffle app was a great start. The salads & pizza's were awesome! I'm going back for the weekend brunch very soon!"
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Tomato Review

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and quiet setting. We decided to go for the $50 prix fixed meal -- salad, small plate, pizza, and dessert. Definitely was plenty of food. Although we weren't too impressed with the pizza we would consider going back. Service was great."
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2011
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Nice staff very accommodating

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Accommodated someone with severe nut allergies, great food and very nice staff. No wait on a Friday night was great too."
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great dinner!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We really enjoyed our first visit. The tastes of tomato soup were a nice touch. Sharing several plates worked well. Desserts yummy too."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best gluten free pizza!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I have celiac disease and have been on the hunt for quite a few years for a decent gluten free pizza. This place nailed it! Not only was the crust just like the real thing but they were able to do the sliders on gluten free buns as well which were delicious! My husband who is a super picky eater was a great team player that night so I could try multiple pizzas and sliders, and even HE loved everything! Will definitely be coming back to try them all :))"
Dined on 11/15/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Tomato Bistro in Manayunk

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I thoroughly enjoyed myself at the Tomato Bistro. The sliders and small plates were absolutely delicious. I expected the pizza to be just as great or better, but the other dishes outshined the main course. I love the free valet parking, atmosphere, and friendliness of the staff!"
Dined on 11/14/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Just perfect

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Made a snap reservation for a lunch date just 15 minutes before the actual res. time, arrived a little later (about 20 min) and it was no problem with the Bistro. Food came out quickly and was delicious. Relatively empty and we were not patronized by any staff for being openly silly with the food and each other...don't worry we did not make a mess! A great lunch after a long night and an awesome variety for serving so few different types of things (soups, sliders, pizzas, salads) so it felt like the options were endless. We particularly liked that we could mix-and-match different types of gourmet sliders to make a perfect plate...that ended very well!!! Overall, fabulous place, will definitely be going back and recommending to anyone who asks for a hidden gem."
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A Manayunk Main St. Gem

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Excellent food and excellent service! My boyfriend got the sausage and pepper pizza and I got the short rib pizza, which came with a delicious fig sauce! We had the fried risotto as an appetizer which was amazing, as well as complimentary biscotti and tomato bisque shooters which were adorable! Plus, the biscotti was super fresh. Our server was very friendly and attentive, which really put the cherry on top of our experience. We will definitely be back here!
My only complaint is that I didn't quite understand the serving sizes, and I had to ask."
Dined on 10/25/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My husband and I came here for an early Saturday night dinner. Everything we ordered was great. We started with the pizza soup, probably one of the best soups I've had, ultimate comfort food. We also had 2 sliders, the coconut shrimp, and a pizza, and everything was delicious. We finished with the ice cream cookie sandwich. I was hoping for the cookies to be warm so was at first disappointed when they were not, but that quickly went away after my first bite.
Service was good. Very attentive without being annoying. Going at 5:00 on a Saturday, there weren't many others there. Our food came out quickly, probably would have preferred a little more time in between each dish being served though.
Overall, a great dinner. We will definitely be returning!"
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for The Tomato Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We needed a child friendly place to take a group to celebrate a birthday. Adequate wine/beer selection, nice pizza/salads, and kids menu (the kids really enjoyed that there were appetizer choices for them). Would return for family-friendly dining."
Dined on 11/08/2014
 2004
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for The Tomato Bistro
Based on the average of (41) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
29 out of 33 recommend this product
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic