Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Sugar Bar Reviews List

Sugar Bar

We are talking sweet music, soul-stirring riffs, runs and melodies in a cozy environment, with delectable cuisine you can find only at Ashford & Simpson’s Sugar Bar. Presenting a fresh alternative to the mundane, the Sugar Bar, is an intimate full service restaurant, showcasing local and international talent, from R&B/Soul, Jazz, and Caribbean to traditional African rhythms. Intimately immersed in big flavors, live performances, and our signature Sugartinis, an evening here might begin at the watering well where specialty cocktails and a selection of cultural appetizers set the mood and wet the appetite.
See more Sugar Bar details
50 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(50 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
5 stars
(25)
4 stars
(15)
3 stars
(6)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4.8 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.8 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • late-night find(23)
  • neighborhood gem(19)
  • good for groups(18)
  • special occasion(18)
  • vibrant bar scene(18)
  • hot spot(17)
Sugar Bar Reviews List
Review 1 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2006
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fabulous Food & Music!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Went to Sugar Bar expecting either good food or good music, and both were excellent. It has the vibe of a private club. Everyone is very welcoming, and the music is superb! Anyone who is an R&B fan should run not walk to this bar! Check out their website for who is performing, there house band is excellent, and there were Grammy winners dotted about in the audience."
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2013
Special Features: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

I enjoy looking at the decor.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I will be returning to the Sugar Bar to have a round of 72Street Drink."
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Special Features: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/09/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Had a fabulous time, great entertainment and food.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Sugar Bar

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We made reservations to grab a bite before going to Beacon to see Miriah Carey Holiday Concert. We ordered appertizers and drinks. The food was excellent, service was quick and friendly. They had a band coming on later, so we stopped back after concert. Overall Sugar Bar gets 5 stars."
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Nancy and Gerald Foote

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was the best spot for good food and fabulous live music. The drinks well prepares and the atmosphere intoxicating. Onwer/somgwriter/singer Valerie Simpson is a gracious hostess and you never know who will drop in from the music industry. Love every minute of it."
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Performance

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2012
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Although it is a small restaurant, it is beautiful and personal. I love the fact that you are up close and personal with the performers. I LOVE THE SUGAR BAR!!!! I always enjoy my food and the company (other guests). It is like being home with a large family."
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Old School

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"If you love live music, good drinks, great food and making New acquaintances....this is your spot. Dining is tight, but the Food is very good."
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

a night out..

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My wife and I decided to come in for our anniversary dinner. The ambiance was perfect, the live entertainment was just right, the staff was attentive and personable and for a delightful change we enjoyed all the food that we ordered..if I have to say anything not too great it was that I felt the mixed drinks were a bit weak and I was confused by the pathetic/childish looks of disdain from the caucasion patrons throughout the night in this black establishment..the rude irony. But overall we laughed, ate and had a very nice dining experience."
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The Sugar Bar went out of their way to host a wonderful early evening get together for a bunch of Steely Dan fans last Saturday. The service, ambiance, and food was outstanding. Looking forward to doing it again next year. Thank you Jimmy, Leila and your great staff!"
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A special evening, great energy, fantastic music

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"A special evening, great energy, fantastic music. The band was outstanding, the singing host charming and terrific. Great musical experience. We felt very special when the director gave us a table in the main room, and had such a blast!"
Dined on 10/15/2015
 2015
Special Features: hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great people, great service, great food, great music, I felt very welcomed and will surely return!"
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2014
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2013
 2009
Dined on 12/27/2013
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great place to hear music, good food and island atmosphere - been here twice - good times!"
Dined on 12/27/2013
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/16/2015
 2008
Dined on 9/16/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/16/2015
 2008
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/15/2015
 2014
Dined on 9/15/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/15/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

What a find!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My husband and I visited the Sugar Bar over the Labor Day weekend and we were very pleased with everything about this restaurant. The food was outstanding and the service was excellent. Our waiter, Terrill, catered to our every need and was very attentive. There was live music the night we attended. It was Irini who belted out Portuguese Jazz. She was phenomenal! We WILL return To the Sugar Bar when we visit NYC again. Outstanding!"
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2014
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/02/2015
 2011
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Lots of fun& great entertainment -Thursday night!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2006
Special Features: hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/25/2015
 2006
Dined on 6/25/2015
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was Good, our waiter needs to either step up his game or find a new line of work.
The hosts, guests and most of the performers at the Open Mike night last Thursday were Fantastic!"
Dined on 6/25/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Wonderful food, wonderful music

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This place was amazing. The food was incredible, and I loved seeing Danny Kean here. The atmosphere is great too. Nice for a quiet night, if you want it, before the music starts of course. The staff was incredibly nice, but a little aloof. We walked in at 6:45. There was one other table. I ordered an app within 10 minutes and we ordered food at 7 pm. An hour later, nothing had come out, so we asked about it. Everything, including the app, came out 2 minutes later ... luke warm. They had forgotten! Which doesn't make sense since there was only one other table to pay attention to. My order came with dressing when I ordered it on the side, and when I tried to send drinks over to a friend, I had to order them three times. All that being said, the food, even though it wasn't hot, was incredible, as was the music. And I'll definitely be back. Lcukily we were in no rush, and I don't think I'll ever be in a rush to get outwhen I come here. Loved the atmosphere. I'd rather have slow service than mean service anyway."
Dined on 5/26/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

I came from cali, made reserv had to sit in back

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I had a great experience the service was great, I was offered a tour of the restaurant. If I had better seating I would have stayed to watch open mic."
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2012
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome place

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/28/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/28/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great place to take a date! Great service, food and live music. Had a wonderful time"
Dined on 4/28/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/30/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

refurbishment

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/14/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Very difficult to answer these questions as while your website allowed me to make a reservation, the restaurant was shut for a week for refurbishment. Not good."
Dined on 4/14/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"When I arrived I was told that I had not made reservations. Was sat in the back and ate but did not see show. Was extremely disappointed. I have never experienced this type of service through open table."
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2012
Special Features: hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Sugar Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Slow service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2013
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"If the service was faster it would have been a better review"
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2013
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sugar Bar
Based on the average of (9) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.7 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.7 / 5
8 out of 8 recommend this product
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.8 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic