Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

e2 emeril's eatery Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

e2 emeril's eatery

Chef Emeril Lagasse’s new restaurant, e2 emeril's eatery, is located at the Levine Center for the Arts in uptown Charlotte. This casual American eatery features an eclectic selection of appetizers, salads, seafood and steaks, as well as some of Emeril's New Orleans and Southern-style dishes, homemade desserts and modern American classics with a twist.

Find your favorite spot to enjoy Emeril's cooking or watch the action up close: from the chef's food bar--the centerpiece of the eatery where you can interact with the chefs as they work at their various cooking stations–-to the raw bar featuring fresh seafood, shellfish and fresh shucked oysters. At the bar, select from two house punches, local brews on tap or a handcrafted vintage and modern cocktail made with homemade infusions and syrups, plus a full menu of delicious bar snacks. We look forward to making your dining experience at e2 most memorable.
149 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
(149 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 149 reviews
5 stars
(63)
4 stars
(50)
3 stars
(18)
2 stars
(13)
1 star
(5)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(72)
  • special occasion(68)
  • good for groups(43)
  • romantic(39)
  • notable wine list(38)
  • vibrant bar scene(24)
e2 emeril's eatery Reviews List
Review 1 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2010
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/22/2014
 2012
Dined on 7/22/2014
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/22/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great location

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We loved the convenient location to the Knight Theater. the food and sevice were both great. I was sorry to learn that they were closing. I would have gone again. I hope another restaurant will locate there. I would E 2 again."
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went for Easter Brunch. Very disappointed with both food and service. Will not be back"
Dined on 3/31/2013
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went to E2 knowing it was closing the next day. We thought they might skimp on some aspects but that was not the case. It continues to be some of the best service I have ever had in Charlotte. It will be missed."
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

absolutely fabulous!!!!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/15/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/15/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"So sorry to find out they are closing in two weeks due to revamp of building that will not allow entrance/exit into the restaurant!!! What a loss to Charlotte!!!!"
Dined on 4/15/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nick's seal

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Excellent ambiance, fantastic service, friendly staff, but the gumbo was lacking salt, and the salmon was cooked medium rare with no warning. My sister didn't like her food. But adversely, I ordered the braised beef, which was so good, I almost ordered another one to go. Overall, I will definitely take my mother there when she comes to visit and probably go there for a personal brunch for myself on some weekends."
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great food and service; attentive wait staff. The food was very good. Too bad Charlotte is losing this restaurant."
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food and service

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I've come to expect quality anytime I dine in this establishment, this time was no exception. The food was excellent."
Dined on 4/08/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Terrific restaurant. So sorry they are closing.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Thank you Chef and all of the local staff for a terrific 3 years. So sorry the place wasn't exploding wiht people, but we have enjoyed it tremendously everytime we have come. All the best."
Dined on 4/03/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/06/2015
 2009
Dined on 4/06/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Very sad we were the only people able to enjoy this restaurant while we were there on Monday evening.... Hope Emeril's continues to do well in other cities!"
Dined on 4/06/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Time and Great Food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"A great place to enjoy a great meal. The food was expertly prepared and portions were huge., The fried chicken is a must if you are extremely hungry. Get that to share as well. We had the bbq shrimp as an appetizer and it was amazing. The bbq sauce was incredible. Its definitely worth a trip there."
Dined on 3/31/2015
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food was excellent, service was off

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was excellent, service was off. Took over 10 minutes To get a waiters attention so we could order cocktails , then took another 5-7 minutes to get said cocktails. I know they are closing soon but they should have been more attentive to service."
Dined on 4/03/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place to celebrate

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We treated ourselves to a nice dinner when in the Charlotte area. Everything we had was absolutely delicious. We had the shrimp
and grits and the ribeye and we found ourselves sharing them because they were both so delicious.
Everything we tried from the specialty drinks to desert was unique and executed perfectly. I would highly recommend."
Dined on 3/31/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good for a special occasion

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great atmosphere with exceptional service. The food was good, but my wife and I are not crazy about heavily seasoned. In hindsight, I would ask more questions about the food.
For example, the cheese plate was mostly pork. Our servers were incredible."
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2014
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good for business meal and good bar scene

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food is unique and price on the high side. Not for casual dinner. Bar is nice and not too noise. Valet parking in the front."
Dined on 3/17/2015
 2003
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

too bad we didn't find it sooner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The only thing wrong with E2 is that it's closing April 24th or so. The bar was full but I guess they just don't get the dinner crowd. Too bad, people don't know what they are missing or will have missed after they close. The service and food were top notch. We started with the bbq shrimp and the calamari; both really good. I had the braised short rib (mmmmm) over some of the creamiest, tastiest mashed potatoes and my wife had the braised rabbit over grits. Yummmmm is all I can say. The staff was attentive, the managers were very interactive and it was just an overall great experience. Even my kids liked it and you know tough and finicky kids can be. Again, too bad we didn't find this sooner, but we are already planning our return trip before they close. I suggest you do the same. Oh, and don't forget the deserts. They didn't disappoint either."
Dined on 3/11/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, kid-friendly
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"After going here this past Friday, my family and I left disappointed. However, since they are closing in a little over a month, I guess no one really cares.
We started off showing up at the restaurant on time for our reservation. The host informed us that our table would be ready in just a minute. So we offered to wait by the bar and grab a drink. After quickly ordering and cashing out (the bar had two other people at it). We went back to the host stand where we waited for almost 15 minutes. The host was no where to be found.
After sitting down, we were offered menus and greeted by an initial server who poured water and gave us a brief rundown of the menu. He was an awesome employee, friendly and knowledgeable. Then we met our waitress. She was great as well, but a little quirky and easily annoyed after she had to come back to our table a few times in order to take our order (heaven forbid we were having a good conversation and not ready to order).
Finally after ordering apps and our meals, about 10 minutes pass and the waitress comes back with the menus and hands them to 4 out of the 6 guests and says that they were out of one of the fish items and that they all had to order again. After scanning over the menu, we all ordered another fish meal. About another 10
Minutes pass, and our apps come out along with the menus again. This time we were told that only one other fish was available and three out of the 6 guests would have to order again.
Having never seen this kind of service before we made it known to the waitress that We were frustrated and asked her to tell us what all was available to be ordered so we wouldn't have to order for a 4th time. Instead of hearing the response, she sent over the manager who was completely rude, insulted members of our party, and acted like we were in the wrong.
We almost walked out of the restaurant had we not already been there for almost an hour. Worst manager ever. No apology of money off. Go ahead and close already!!"
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"the dinner was excellent from beginning to end. There were 4 of us and we all got something different--everyone's was really good! We also had dessert which was also excellent. I'm so sorry that this was our first visit because they are going to close the end of next month."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2006
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

e2 Emeril's loses touch with highest standards

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Emeril seems to have so extended his reach that it is no longer possible to ensure that the key details are missed. In specific: Beet salad was exceptional -- good flavor, nice mix of flavors/texture, etc. After that, delivery of items was slow, with serving temperature too low. Dessert had key lime pie missing. Beignets seemed tough."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fabulous !

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Birthday dinner with friends, e2 was the perfect choice. Excellent service, fabulous food, wonderful atmosphere. We had such an amazing time. I highly recommend."
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Food, Best Service Ever.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"E2's slow Pot Roast was tender, delicious, and almost indescribable. My wife had the Lamb Shanks and had only great things to say about it. I loved the Sweet Potato Cheesecake Dessert. For appetizer we shared Emeril's shrimp and sauce with his signature smoky flavor. The food was spot on as expected but what made it even better was the service.
I worked in the Hospitality industry for many years at top restaurants in the Pacific. I have not seen that level of service in Charlotte until E2. The Server was great with recommendations, Staging the table, Coursing the meal. This is definitely a
This is the best service I have seen in Charlotte. I've been to Bonterra, Villia Antonio, Ruth Chris, Flemings, Capital Grille, Fig Tree was nice. The Price tag was comparable to the other's but the service was the difference."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2012
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Lived up to the expectation

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I went to E2 for Valentine's day which is also my fiancee's birthday. We were very pleased with the service and the ambiance. The wine list is very extensive and the cocktail menu is very attractive. The menu is very complete and the food was delicious."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Just so-so

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Parking and valet parking were nightmares. The food and ambiance was less than expected for a restaurant by Emeril. All-in-all, it was just okay, but I was expecting more."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The House of Many Dinner at E2.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Once inside the young man with the winning smile greeted us and walked us to our table. As I was about to sit down Matt our waiter introduced himself and also reassured that all items he will describe for the children are nut free. This eased my mind tremendously and shows me that E2 pays attention to details. Matt is an amazing waiter he took the time to give my children the attention needed and attempted to remember the names (special touch). While waiting for our drinks before ordering our starters Dillon introduced himself and what an easy going friendly gentlemen. The staff works as a unit which won points with me. A beautiful young lady named Brittany also assisted my family with a smile. I'm sure some folks are not into the staff but for me that is the first thing I notice and this is also how I tip. Lets get down to business the meals are as follows: Starters - Gumbo, E2 Caesar Salad and Italian Wedding soup, Macaroni and Cheese was ordered my starter was a Lemon Drop and a shot of Grand Marnier. While the starters were being ordered the children placed orders of chicken fingers and fries. Let me describe those chicken fingers (baked chicken with a light bread coating) were so mouth watering fresh and well seasoned with the shoestring fries. The entrees for the adults were Shrimp and Grits, Lobster & English Pea Linguini (2) and for me the Springer Mountain Fried Chicken Breast with a side of sautéed local vegetables. Desserts were also a wonderful treat to finish our evening :Blueberry Crepes, Key Lime Pie, Emeril's Banana Cream Pie and for me Champagne & Vanilla Genoise. Our overall experience was amazing and I have already booked our dinner for next month. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone willing to try something a little be different for your taste pallet. Feel free to review the menu before arriving so that you don't feel rushed and have an idea of what you may want to try out."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delicious!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We have lived in Charlotte for a couple of years and had been meaning to try e2 for the entire time. We went on a very, very bitter cold evening and it was just perfection. Quiet, on a middle of the week night, and yet, perfectly ambient. Great for groups or couples. The grits are the best I have ever had in my entire life."
Dined on 1/07/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food is okay, Service is lacking

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2014
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Some of the food was pretty good, some was just okay. The service though was terrible. Our assistant server was great, but our main server was up and down. Seemed friendly at first, but completely rushed, no time for us, and when she did have a minute to spare she was rude. Somewhat apologetic afterward, but only apologizing for being rushed, not for her attitude. Wouldn't go back."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Bam!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My first visit was in July of 2014 during restaurant week. I came with a group of 5, including myself. We all were so pleased with our service and especially our meals. From the appetizer to the entrees and even desert. It was excellent! I took my husband so that he could enjoy the same experience. After reading several negative reviews, I still had faith that they were just people who could not be pleased no matter what service are quality of food was provided. Needless to say, my 2nd visit was even better than my first. The service was great and the food was exquisite. We even talked to Miki the General Manager and I believe the other gentleman's name is Nick, he's out of the New Orleans office. They were both so friendly and made sure that our experience was a great one. WE had fried green tomatoes (with lobster claws/black eye peas w/sauce) and the gumbo. Both were excellent. My husband had the braised short ribs and he didn't need a knife to cut it. He just used his fork. I had the fried chicken breast that came with a rice dish containing brussels sprouts and a butternut squash. I thought I was in entree heaven. We topped the meal off with an order of Emeril's banana cream pie. It's really like a banana pudding layered with a cheesecake like filling. And this is why our experience deserves Emeril's BAM!!!!!! rating. I'll definitely continue to recommend the restaurant and will be back to try something different."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

e2 starts the evening out right!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I've been to e2 before but just for dessert (the blueberry crepes there are wonderful). On this particular evening we were heading to the show at the Knight Theater. The restaurant is strategically situated so that it's perfect for dinner before the show or for dessert afterwards. We made the reservation for 6:15 so we'd have plenty of time to make it to a 7:30 show. Our server was friendly and efficient. My only quibble is that we waited for 45 minutes before anything besides bread showed up on the table. My companion had ordered an appetizer, a salad, and gumbo so you'd think one of those might have made it out first. That being said, he did say that each one was superb, especially the tuna crude appetizer. There aren't a lot of options for non-meat eaters at e2, but I found a "seasonal vegetable plate" on the menu. This turned out to be a sweet potato lasagne. It wasn't quite as warm as it might have been but it was the MOST delicious tasting entree I have had in ages. Truly fabulous. They knew we had a show to get to so our server quickly got us our check and we were out the door. I think that there may be some glitches in the process for getting food out, but when the food is that amazing and the server is as warm and friendly as ours was, you can forgive a lot. We'll definitely return."
Dined on 1/28/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Restaurant Week

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I had dinner here with my parents for Restaurant Week. All three of my courses (beet & persimmon salad, salmon and sorbet) were perfectly prepared. I've been here before for happy hour (cocktails are made with fresh and unique ingredients) and the GM introduced himself. He's the reason that I chose to take my parents here for dinner because he is passionate about ensuring that service is high quality. He was constantly pacing the restaurant during our night of restaurant week to make sure that all of the tables were appropriately waited on. I recommended this restaurant as a great place for groups because I believe that everyone in the group would be well taken care of during their meal."
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Find

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My roommate and I enjoyed E2 Emeril's Eatery as part of restaurant week and we were very glad we did. I recommend the oyster appetizer and the banana cream pie - both are absolutely amazing. All of the staff was super friendly and although we had a later reservation, everyone still had high energy and gave fantastic service. We will be back."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Enjoyed it

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2012
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Nice atmosphere. Good wine list. Server was fun. Restaurant week so they got bogged down and service slowed way down but they were doing their best. Would try them again for sure!"
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food was not impressive

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I took my girlfriend this past Saturday night and was not impressive with the main course or the gumbo. I order the rib-eye and it was dry. The dessert was amazing banana creme pie. The gumbo was very plain."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food Was Very Poor

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was my first visit to e2, and it will be the last. The food was not prepared at all as expected, and was not remedied successfully. My date ordered the grilled salmon and it was delivered grossly under-cooked. The waiter did not ask how she wanted it cooked, so we assumed it would be at least medium well, but it was in fact rare in the center to the point of being moist and almost runny. It was sent back at the urging of the head waiter (or mat're d) to be replaced, and the replacement was no better. My steak, which I ordered medium, came medium rare, and was rather "chewy".
The owners of this restaurant missed a good chance to create a near perfect dining experience. The location, ambiance, and interior appointments are excellent, but the food misses the mark entirely.
"
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food was BLAND!

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I expected more from Emeril. Resturant week gives me incentive to try new places. With drinks and wine our table of 4 spent $300.00. I have no incentive to return."
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2009
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

reliably delicious

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"everything on the menu is lovely and well executed. the gumbo is remarkable and comforting. if you prefer salads, they are all amazing and seasonal. the fish sandwich is wonderfully done - no matter what the fish of the day happens to be. the rib-eye was excellent. if you have room, their desserts are also wonderful. I recommend the banana cream pie. everything is always delicious."
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2006
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Shrimp and grits outstanding best I ever had. Bananna cream pie superb . Will return soon"
Dined on 1/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dining for Queensfest

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Was expecting a more of a New Orleans style of food. Oysters were GREAT and salmon could have been cooked for a shorter period. Chocolate cake was also excellent."
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

rude service, bland food

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Not what was expected for emeril's . All food needed seasoning, server at first was very rude. Overall I would tell people to stay away and not to waste their money!"
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2014
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

would not recommend

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2014
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2014
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Waitress was not as friendly as the guy making sure our drinks were filled. One friend had the pork chop , she didn't think it was worth the price. The other friend had the salmon blt, she said that was fair. I had the Italian sub which was extremely salty. We went there thinking we were getting items off the restaurant menu. The waitress inform us that restaurant week did not start til 4pm. This was not explain in any of the advertisement. Very disappointed considering the name of the restaurant."
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food always excellent. On event nights at Knights theater should go after event starts. Less noise and not crowded."
Dined on 1/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"food, drinks and service were very good. The ambiance was OK, but I expected something a little nicer, i.e. tablecloths, for the money. It is the "open kitchen" concept, however, so I guess that makes it somewhat less formal The noise level was very, very loud and difficult to hold a conversation. Would not go out of my way to go there again."
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2013
Special Features: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great first experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Ordered from Restaurant Week menu - Gumbo and Shrimp'n Grits best I've ever had and frequently dine in New Orleans so lots to compare to. Banana Cream Pie was outstanding as well. Restaurant surprised me with simplicity of décor and bare table tops. Bar scene was hopping so pretty noisy seated up in front but not a problem. Service was great. Love that they valet and valet is managed by restaurant rather than shared like so many downtown establishments."
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Why didn't I dine here sooner???

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Service is outstanding. After dining at other top restaurants since we moved here four years ago, we have been literally eating out at top spots fo find the best of Charlotte. We've never been to the Levine Center for the Arts- or passed e2- which is my feeble excuse for not dining there sooner. The dinner rolls were light warm & fluffy! Oysters!!!! Amazing, best staff in Charlotte! I can never have Shrimp & Grits anywhere else! And the homemade banana cream pie! I've died and gone to Heaven. Thank you everyone that makes e2 the well-oiled machine it is and beyond!"
Dined on 1/20/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A hidden gem

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I visited this establishment during Restaurant Week and booked an early reservation. I can't begin to express the wonderful, delightful experience. I selected the oyster appetizers, salmon and banana cream pie. With a great wine recommendation from my server the meal was excellent. The manager visited the table to check on things and was a truly personable person. I Will visit this restaurant again and again. I've found a new place to call one of my favorites."
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

E2 = EXCELLENT

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This is my 3rd Emeril restaurant and the food was excellent, as usual. Atmosphere was trendy, service was top notch and overall experience was fabulous."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2009
Special Features: special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

First visit but wont be our last.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Really enjoyed our dinner and wine. We will definitely be back."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for e2 emeril's eatery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great for any occasion!!!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2014
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I thoroughly enjoyed every course I had during my recent visit!!! The gumbo, shrimp and grits and banana creme pie were amazing!! I will definitely be returning!!"
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>