Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Blue Plate Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Blue Plate

The Blue Plate is an American restaurant situated just below Beaver Creek in Avon, Colorado. Serving up Schnitzel, All natural Colorado beef & lamb, The Blue Plate is sure to impress...

Happy Hour daily 4:30 pm - 6:30 pm in the bar features $6 Ketel one martinis & specialty cocktails, $3 drafts, and a Tapas Menu of small bites from $4-$9.
31 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(31 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
5 stars
(11)
4 stars
(12)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
3.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(14)
  • fit for foodies(9)
  • good for groups(7)
  • kid-friendly(6)
  • special occasion(5)
  • great for lunch(3)
Blue Plate Reviews List
Review 1 for Blue Plate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2006
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blue Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

German oasis

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Schnitzel is first rate, and the service is impeccable."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blue Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I went with my 13 year old son. Although clearly geared toward an adult crowd with some adventuresome items (escargot and frogs legs) he loved the cheese fondue and hanger steak. The staff was spot on, made us feel comfortable and welcome. I enjoyed a pasta dish; great ingredients and flavors with enough of a twist to make it memorable but not weird. Not inexpensive, but a real bargain in the Beaver Creek/Vail neighborhood. I plan on going again."
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blue Plate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Solid experience. Nothing to complain about.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/15/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Solid experience. Nothing to complain about. The food was good, Had a good variety of styles; pasta, steaks, fish. Service was friendly. Prices were reasonable. Everyone raved about the fresh baked bread."
Dined on 1/15/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blue Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Comfy casual with great flavors

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had been there before for lunch and dinner. So we know we can find something yummy. I wasn't to keen on the live music. Tooo hard to hear my company. It got annoying. Service was very good. Which is great Cuz otherwise I wouldn't go back if that guy is playing guitar."
Dined on 1/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blue Plate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Blue Plate

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Spiralized zucchini with marinara sauce, black olives, artichoke hearts, capers was delicious. Vegan to boot. Wow!
Mussels Casablanca style delicious! All mussels opened. Dipping bread in sauce wonderful."
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blue Plate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Aewesome

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The best part is that is supervised by the owner, allways good!!!!"
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blue Plate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

God local restaurant

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Appetizers were great, but drink service was a bit slow. Hanger Steak was excellent, but the pasta was lacking. Was pretty packed and a bit loud. Wine selection was great. Would have liked more selection on the dinner menu."
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blue Plate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not as good as we remembered

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Server was nice but timing was incredibly off. Two tables seated after us had apps and entrees before we were even brought bread. $10 spinach salad had virtually nothing on it. Steak entree good, schnitzel okay."
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blue Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Christmas Eve

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Great time and food, particularly on a very busy night. Our original table folks were taking a very long time to finish up. The hostess had us take a seat in the bar and got us another great table within just a few minutes. The food was all excellent."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blue Plate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2004
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2004
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Adam and Elli continue to impress with their creative menu, courteous service and simply fantastic food. The frog legs were great, the schnitzel was great, the mussels were great, everything was great."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blue Plate
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Under staffed and over lemoned

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I think they had a private Christmas party that they hadn't adequately prepared for, so regular dining customers were left waiting. The party also was very loud and disturbed the restaurant guests. I ordered the trout with mashed potatos and green beans. The chef used taragon in the beans, which was unexpected, but interesting. The mashed potatos were excellent, when most often they seem like an after-thought. The sauce on the trout was way too lemony. It prevented tasting the fish, completely. I found the same to be true of the caesar salad. The dressing was very heavily lemon, with no other flavors present. We had the flourless chocolate cake, which was ok, but nothing special. Coffee was luke warm, but strong. Even the refill was tepid. Not very impressed, although our waiter was enthusiastic and charming. Perhaps on another night, without a Christmas party in the next room, the overall experience might be better. I doubt we will risk it, though."
Dined on 12/15/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Blue Plate
Based on the average of (19) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
15 out of 16 recommend this product
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
3.2 / 3
Energetic