Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Fassia Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Fassia

Fassia is a restaurant that feature authentic Moroccan cuisine from Fez (one of the best in the world,also the country's culinary and gastronomic centre) owner Drissia Rafael a native of Fez and a husband jean -Roger Rafael (executive chef) a native of Marseille worked under the supervision of Drissia mother who had a well know restaurants in Fez and he also worked with great chefs from france.
they had 3 successful establishments in New York city over the years. Chef Rafael uses locally grown products creating great classic dishes like couscous,tagines and bistilla(one of Fez most prestigious dishe)Fassia is the perfect introduction to mouth watering culinary heritage and vivid description of an ancient and beautiful city.it offers a taste of delights and sophisticate cuisine. all bread,pastry&desserts are made daily on premise. we welcome you to join us to experience the Moroccan hospitality and the most refined,colourful and aromatic cuisine in morocco. .
24 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(24 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
5 stars
(6)
4 stars
(11)
3 stars
(3)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(3)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(16)
  • fit for foodies(13)
  • good for groups(4)
  • romantic(4)
  • special occasion(4)
  • great for lunch(3)
Fassia Reviews List
Review 1 for Fassia
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

very disappointed!

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We waited for more than 45 minutes for our meal and we were there first and only one other table that night. We were very disappointed!"
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fassia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Friendly Service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Good Moroccan food in a quiet neighborhood. The owner / chef greeted us and came by the table explaining the dishes. She was very friendly as was the waiter. It was nice and the seating was on chairs which made it comfortable for my friend who is handicapped and loves Moroccan food."
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fassia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Food. Great Service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were a group of 10. Seated promptly. Served promptly. Delicious food. The service was exceptional .. friendly, warm, informed."
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fassia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2008
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fassia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/10/2015
 2008
Dined on 6/10/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/10/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fassia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Fassia is Good

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food here was ok and the waitress was excellent, however in spite of a small crowd the service was very slow."
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fassia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2008
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fassia
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Bland, bland, bland

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I have eaten Morrocan food in many places. I lived in the middle east and know what these recipes should taste like. The food here is simply uninspired and lacking in any real flavor. I had a Lamb Tagine, and my wife had a lamb cous cous. Tee cous cous and lamb in it tasted like the food you would give to a patient at a hospital who needs a bland diet. the meat itself was flavorless, knowing it is a braised dish both my dish and her's were tasteless.
It seems that they are trying to appeal to people who have an aversion to spice, as this food was not spiced underseasoned and any other word you could come up with for Bland.
Go elsewhere for good Moroccan food, spending $29 for a plate full of boiled lamb is not for me (or you)"
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fassia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Travel to Fez, Morocco without leaving San Mateo

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A small family run restaurant in a less than ideal location. Upon entering, we were struck by the comfortable ambiance and attention to detail. This was reflected in the service and food as well. Everything we ate was yummy, and spiced in interesting ways. Service was slow, but we didn't mind. We would have liked to have more vegetables, but that did not take away from our experience. We will come back!"
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2000
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fassia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Undiscovered or else under-appreciated

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This restaurant is just too good to go unnoticed. We have now visited it several times, each experience adding to our appreciation of the food and service. However, it sits on what may be the ugliest business district in all of San Mateo County and that may prove its death knell. It is always quiet at dinner.
The tagine is excellent--chicken, a couple of different lambs and salmon have all been very good.. So is the filo-wrapped goat cheese on the salad menu. The wine list is small but OK. I like the Moroccan red wine, which is mostly cabernet. They serve a nice and simple white Bordeaux sauvignon blanc which compliments the chicken dishes well. Their house-made rolls are my wife's favorite part of the meal, flavored with just a hint of anise.
I hope more diners discover this restaurant and reward its efforts to bring fine Moroccan food to the Peninsula."
Dined on 3/11/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fassia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

If Moroccan Food appeals to you

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"They have a limited menu, but what they do they do well. Tagines, kabobs and several lamb choices. Food is tasty at the very least. Place was full on a Saturday night and they have competition in the neighborhood. If you have a dog they can put a table outside."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2002
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fassia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

What a fabulous evening!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We found this restaurant by going through all the availabilities for Friday evening. Why we hadn't seen it before (and why the restaurant wasn't utterly packed) is a mystery to us because it was an amazing experience of flavors and ambiance. We had the specialty dish (duck) and the special of the evening (salmon). Both were cooked perfectly and the spices used were unlike any combination we've tried before. We opted to try the Moroccan wine, which paired perfectly with the dishes. Service was very personal (since the restaurant wasn't busy at all), we would fear that this could degrade as folks experience this restaurant and start a repeat business - which is exactly what we plan to do."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2004
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fassia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

HOME-STYLE COOKING

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Menu is somewhat limited, mostly everything is lamb. Cooking is very basic and appear to be
home-style cooking, plain and not exotic, fancy, or impressionable. It's ok if you just want to eat
simple Moroccan dishes without fancy trimmings.
"
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fassia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

nice find

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This was a business dinner on a Sunday night. It was very quiet so we were able to accomplish our primary task. We shared a couple of appetizers and each a different lamb dish--all suited our tastes and was cooked to perfection."
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fassia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Moroccan delicacies

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The menu is somewhat limited but the food - especially the lamb and chicken tagines - is authentic and delicious. The service is quite slow, however, probably because of the time it takes to prepare the food, but also because the servers take a liesurely approach. This is not the place to go if you are looking for a quick meal."
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fassia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Slow Service, Amazing Food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"First off, the bad:
Saying that the service was slow, is a gross understatement, We sat down around 7 pm, and didn't get our entree until 9 pm. (to be fair, there was an appetizer that arrived around 8 pm. Also, I was there on New Years Eve and they were busy...)
The Good:
The food was superb! I honestly think it was worth the wait, but it gets better.... they offer carry-out! That's right, you can have this amazing food without the wait!
As for the price:
Our bill with 2 entrees and an appetizer, and tip came out to ~ $60. I would be willing to pay $75+ for that meal, so I think it was adequately priced.
If you have time to kill (seriously) then this is a great place to have a few drinks, and enjoy amazing food. If you're in a hurry at all, I recommend the take out option."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fassia
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Average food awful service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2008
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2008
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My wife and I went to Fassia for New Year's eve. The service was incredibly slow. It took them 15 minutes to bring us the menu and 30 minutes for water. We reminded them about water 3 times. We are very familiar with the Moroccan / Middle Eastern cuisine and found the food to be average. The duck pastry was dry and we felt that it was of the quality of a defrosted frozen meal. The lamb tajin was served 2 hours after we made the order and it did not have integrated flavors that are so common of tajines / stews. The quality was just not there and we are surprised that the reviews of this place have been so good in the past."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fassia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Gem of a restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"If it wouldn't have been for Open Table I would never have found this restaurant. My friend who
lives in San Mateo didn't know about it, but liked it so much she's planning on telling her friends and becoming a regular customer. When I come to visit her I plan to go there again. the food
was wonderful.
"
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2005
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Fassia
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
5 out of 6 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic