Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Meritage - Philadelphia Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Meritage - Philadelphia

Casual and relaxing atmosphere with excellent service. Meritage has a wonderful seasonal menu including starters, small and large plates. Many dishes are great to share. To match these dishes, there is an interesting wine list suiting all your preferences. Bar and outdoor seating is also available.
91 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(91 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 91 reviews
5 stars
(41)
4 stars
(36)
3 stars
(9)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(52)
  • fit for foodies(41)
  • romantic(30)
  • special occasion(28)
  • notable wine list(23)
  • great for outdoor dining(10)
Meritage - Philadelphia Reviews List
Review 1 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2014
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2007
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

It is so sad to see a place like this close

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It was the last night for Meritage. I am very sad that this neighborhood restaurant is closing. We enjoyed many great meals here since moving into our current home."
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

terrible service/poorly managed

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I waited for over 45 minutes for someone to come take my order and when they finally did come they told me they were out of an entree. There were only 3 entrees, so to be out of 1/3 your options on a Friday night seems like pretty poor planning. We just paid for our drinks and went somewhere else."
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2013
Special Features: notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/04/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place for quiet dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My husband and I have been going to Meritage for years. We went just last Friday for a tasting menu, and it was delicious--lobster tempura, scallops with perfectly cooked pasta, also perfectly cooked skirt steak. The wine list is always interesting, and Michelle has good recommendations. In the spring and summer, the outdoor tables are quiet and pleasant because all manner of Philadelphians, and their dogs, are strolling by. We are not in the age bracket that enjoys the bar scene, but judging from the hilarity we hear coming through the windows, the bar is a jolly spot, especially because of Irene's hearty good spirits. The members of the wait staff too have been there for years, and they always have a cheerful hello when we arrive."
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Surprised

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went because we read a positive review and wanted to give them a chance as it is close to home. The meal was fabulous! I chose the 4 course tasting menu and my partner chose the heritage pork chop. The flavors were excellent and the portions ample. The only flaw was my partners dessert, delicious chocolate cake served with a beet sauce. Cake delicious, not liking beet sauce. Also, pricing was good. Welcome back Meritage!"
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2008
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was really good, if the portions a bit small. This might have been a function of the tasting menu. There was a moment when there third course seemed to have been delayed, but our waitperson was proactive and saved the day."
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/13/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/06/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Menu

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was very good but the menu was limited. There were not a lot of choices."
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 7/30/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/22/2015
 2010
Dined on 7/22/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/22/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2014
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2011
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2011
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Meritage never disappoints.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great food. Inventive use of ingredients. Pleasant service. My husband had a lovely salad with two rice cakes that were crisp and delicious. I had roasted chicken with pearl onions, lima beans, fingerling potatoes and a creamy, lemony sauce."
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A nice outdoor spot

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Went for dinner on a beautiful Sunday and sat outside. Service was excellent and attentive. Food was good with great flavors and sauces, but could be even better if the pastas were made in-house. Would come back again."
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderfully executed food in a gracious setting

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Every dish that we had was spectacular in its quality and creativity, and we sampled a lot of them! The prices were very reasonable and the value, for the food served, was great. This is very much a neighborhood gem that I think gets overshadowed by its more boisterous neighbor across the street, but it was a real pleasure to eat there. And the service was first rate."
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2008
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2007
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2007
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2007
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2005
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Meritage - A Pleasant Place to Dine

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were able to get a last minute reservation Saturday night at Meritage, and we continue to be pleased by the food and service. Everyone was very attentive and helpful in interpreting the new menu. We always request seating in the back room which is considerably quieter than the front dining room.
We definitely recommend Meritage for a pleasant evening out."
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Pleasant neighborhood restaurant

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Very enjoyable environment, with good service. Interesting dishes, some of which hit (e.g. Wagyu brisket, coffee panna cotta), while others were a bit off (root vegetable soup was too thin, and overwhelmed by turnips). Some portion sizes a bit small for the price. Patron noise was fine, but background music rather jarring, and completely unnecessary. Still a pleasant experience overall; will likely go back."
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dining Out for Life at Meritage

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Every mouthful at Meritage was a treat. Don't miss out on that bread pudding."
Dined on 4/30/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2000
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Absolutely Wonderful

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was absolutely excellent. We got the prix fixe dinner. Unbeknownst to my dinner partner, she was allergic to one of the elements on the first course. The staff offered to replace it with another plate completely different which she declined. But it was very kind of them to be so generous - nearly insistent that it was not a problem. The gnocchi's were the best - like home made pillows and the waygu beef brisket was phenomenal. We added a foie gras appetizer which was the best in the city.
We ate dinner rather early, so the noise level was just fine. Cannot wait to return.
"
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2012
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

not impresesd

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went to meritage the weekend before valentine's to try and beat the crowds of the holiday. We ordered the scallop appetizer and cheese plate to start and both were good. I ordered the lamb chops and my husband the filet special. My lamb was cooked very nicely but the potatoes that came with it were not cooked all the way through, and the haricot vert that were with it came with about 6 green beans, for the price the portion was just too small. My husband ordered his filet med rare and it was medium at best, with a gloppy sauce poured on top. It was served with potato croquettes which my husband said were good, but was disappointed with the measly 6 (half) Brussel sprouts. Our dessert was the beignets which were tasty. We were very disappointed as this was not our first time at meritage and we really enjoyed it the first time (about a year before)."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Limited for vegan

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Amazingly surprise with everything. We were pleasantly surprised from start to end. Service was friendly and attentive. It's sad to say the menu was very limited to vegans."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good, Not Fantastic

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"So, I made reservations based on reviews and because this was close to friends home thus being close enough to walk. It is a very small place with a very small bar. As a party of 8, we took up the entire entry and bar space (rather tight). Once at our table, it took a considerable amount of time for server to take our order (as it seems once we got seated several other groups of 6 or more followed). The food was ok, not fantastic or particularly fabulous for that matter. I got the duck and was kinda of disappointed. A little too salty and not breast as I had hoped but leg/thigh. I will say it was not fatty at all though....nor greasy as duck served this way can be. I should have gotten the lamb chops as many of my friends did and really liked it. What really ruined it for us though was the neighboring table; a woman at the table laughed like a hyena the entire time they were next to us and made our first experience an absolute nightmare. To say she was loud is grossly understated. Couldn't order enough drinks to drown her out.. This is a nice intimate little neighborhood spot which I'm sure is popular in the area. I found the food ok and service good for most part."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2002
Special Features: neighborhood gem
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Sophisticated neighborhood bar and restaurant

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A very pleasant atmosphere, cozy, well prepared food with attentive but not overbearing service."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2003
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2010
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Atmosphere was pleasant and romantic. Our server Samantha was awesome. Food was very good."
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Outstanding in every way

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Meritage really excels in every aspect of the dining experience. The service was prompt without being overly officious. Our waiter Casey had a clear grasp of the menu and was able to articulate the different choices available. The specialty drinks were inventive and delicious. The food was beyond superb with the filet mignon being one of the best cuts of meat I've had in years. This was a fabulous birthday dinner for my wife. Very highly recommended."
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Return Visit to Meritage

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We used to eat at Meritage frequently but stopped after we realized that were not enjoying most of the menu items. This past weekend we returned after reading that a new chef had been hired. We found the menu changes interesting and greatly enjoyed our dinner. Rather than the small plates formerly on the menu, there was a limited but interesting selection of appetizers, main courses and desserts. Portions are modest, but well prepared, attractively presented, hot and tasty. We will return again."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Yet another gem in Philly

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My wife and I were looking for a place to have some cuisine before the New Year's Eve Philadelphia Orch. concert. When I made the reservation, I specifically mentioned that we had a 7:30 show, and they accomodated us. The place was a little off the beaten path, but it was also an easy walk (like 10-15 min) to the Kimmel Center.
Atmosphere was nice. The hard surfaces made it a little noisy, but it wasn't overbearing. Lighting was low. We didn't sit in the bar area. They have a complimentary coat check.
The food came out fast and was good. They had both a prix fix menu with option of wine pairing as well as the standard. I had the fried Oysters with "spicy" Aioil then Veal Bolognaise. My wife had the salmon. We had the pot de crème for dessert with tea and coffee. We didn't have any wine, so I can't speak to the list."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful surprise

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I have never been here, but figured we would give this a chance. What a wonderful surprise. The food was excellent, the atmosphere warm and inviting, and the service perfect. Definitely going back."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Meritage is definitely a winner!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We ended up eating at the bar since the backdrop of the neighborhood was so pleasant. The food and the service were both wonderful - especiallly the risotto with crab and brie - what a combination! Their specialty vodka drink was also very good."
Dined on 12/10/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Meritage - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Fabulous all around - food was great - chicken and salmon entrees, bread pudding dessert. Service was attentive, polite and the atmosphere is lovely. Will make this one of our Philadelphia favorites."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>