Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

BARRA Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

BARRA

Translated as "bar" from Italian, BARRA provides guests with a quality, casual style trattoria & bar; where guests can expect a fun energetic atmosphere, professional service, and bold genuine flavors



BARRA's beverage program introduces guests to our creative cocktails, select wines, and an eclectic collection of local craft beer on tap.



At BARRA guests will enjoy a combination of creative antipasti, fresh salads, and many choices of innovative & shareable italian influenced plates & pastas paired with our delectable coal fired pizzas.



BARRA also features a private special events space for any occasion.



BARRA will combine unmatched quality & value in everything we do, from a delicious & fast power lunch, to a great dinner get together with friends or a late night snack.
55 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.1 / 5
(Very Good) 3.1 / 5
(55 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 55 reviews
5 stars
(6)
4 stars
(17)
3 stars
(15)
2 stars
(11)
1 star
(6)
Food 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Service 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Ambiance 
2.8 / 5
(Good) 2.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • vibrant bar scene(12)
  • great for lunch(10)
  • good for groups(9)
  • neighborhood gem(9)
  • fit for foodies(8)
  • late-night find(7)
BARRA Reviews List
Review 1 for BARRA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for BARRA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/09/2013
 2011
Dined on 2/09/2013
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 2/09/2013
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for BARRA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for BARRA
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/28/2014
 2008
Dined on 9/28/2014
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/28/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for BARRA
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Was a little disappointed with this restaurant.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/28/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for BARRA
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Needs work

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We dined at Barra Saturday my filet was good bukt the veal parm ;of my friend was bukrn and overcooked. The overall appearance of the place needs remodelling. Wall with paint off etc."
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for BARRA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2012
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for BARRA
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for BARRA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for BARRA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Everything was great except that the exhaust hood in the kitchen must not have been working because the air was heavy with the smell and smoke from grilling the steaks. The manager opened a window , but that just made it too cold in the bar and front seating area."
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2011
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for BARRA
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food was absolutely horrible

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went there for Brunch. Although the server was pleasant, the wait for drinks and food was much too long. Clearly under staffed. And the Food when it came was just horrible. All three of our meals were flat out bad. Worst meals we've had in years. Not one to write bad reviews but felt the need to warn others! As my wife said, "cross them off the list"!"
Dined on 3/22/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for BARRA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great lunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I recently went to Barra for lunch and the salmon was excellent & perfectly prepared. My guest ordered the short rib ravioli and loved them. The service was also excellent and the hospitality was gracious. I'll definitely be back."
Dined on 3/04/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for BARRA
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2007
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2007
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Possibly the worst restaurant experience of my life. If you want to make this place into a hookah bar and nightclub, please stop serving food."
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for BARRA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Business Friendly

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went there on a whim for a business lunch and was pleasantly surprised. The ambiance was great, the place was quiet and the food was fantastic. What was going to be a quick meeting turned into a 2 hr lunch because we were not being rushed or bothered at the wrong times by the staff. go for it!"
Dined on 2/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for BARRA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

valentines

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"staff was really nice, good service, easy to grt a last minute res, not alot of superfancyglam if you want that, cool spot"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for BARRA
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The table we were gvien was in a bad spot, especially for a romantic Valentine's Day dinner. The set menu for V-Day did not provide options that I really liked. Whe we called earlier in the week, they did not say that they would only serve that menu for Valetine's Day so I did not get to try the dish that I was going to order."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for BARRA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fantastic!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/01/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/01/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great food,great service,nice people. a must for foodies! They have a burger that is wrapped in pizza dough and baked. AMAZING!"
Dined on 2/01/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for BARRA
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Go early before the dance party starts

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/10/2014
 2008
Dined on 10/10/2014
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great Pizza, good spot to book a large table for a big group. Didn't realize it turned into a night club at a certain point. Felt like we were rushed out a bit so they could clear the table to make room for a dance floor.
The mac and cheese pizza is life changing."
Dined on 10/10/2014
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for BARRA
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dinner at Barra

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2010
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Was an ok dinner at Barra. We ordered the calamari, which was pretty good. The blueberry pepperoncini sauce on the side was good and not too sweet, my friends Mediterranean Salmon was good, but the pasta I ordered for my entree was just ok. I ordered the Orecchiette with Crab meat, which had almost no crabmeat in it, my dish was something that reminded me of the frozen pastas you buy in the supermarkets. The atmosphere (once you're inside) is very nice and service from our server was good, not sure if I would go back again."
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for BARRA
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Served wrong food but it was good anyway

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"First time at Barra. Had a great time with my girlfriend and was satisfied with the service and quality of the food. However, I was served the wrong pizza and upon questioning the server, I was informed that it was indeed the correct pizza. We accepted the answer thinking maybe it was described wrong on the menu. After looking at their menu online, I see that it was definitely the wrong pizza, as it fits another description perfectly. I will still go back next time I'm in the area but with careful optimism."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for BARRA
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Barra, gave them a second chance

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Very disappointed..pizza over cooked,.
Loaded w/sauce could hardly taste anything else.
dry in spots.
cheese scarce.
Had to wait awhile.
worse pizza I had in town.
Should have sent it back, but could not afford the long wait.
Service good..better than the food.
Last time, got the wrong burger.
Not going a 3rd time...."
Dined on 1/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for BARRA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always a great choice

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Lunch or dinner Barra is consistently good! Great food, hospitable staff, attentive service. My two favorites are the salmon with mixed veggies and the burgers cooked in pizza dough are amazing! The prices are also very reasonable."
Dined on 1/13/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for BARRA
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Very consistently good.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great salmon at lunch with a medley of veggies, perfectly cooked. Service was also very friendly & efficient."
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for BARRA
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

good Italian food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The kobe beef ravioli was very good as we're the meatballs. It was slow die to the holidays, buthe is located in a great area in old city. I would definitely recommend it for a good Italian meal."
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for BARRA
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good not great...if the place lasts

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were the only people in Old City Barra's at lunchtime.
For most of the time eventually 2 more people came in
Waiter helpful we both ordered cheeseburgers made in a pizza oven described & delicious in Open Table Review.
I HATE mushrooms... by mistake, I got the order my friend should have gotten.
LOADED w/mushrooms.
Had to scrape aprox 3 tablespoons of mushrooms. Took awhile to make, did not want to wait again, so did not send meal back
My friend got my burger.
Should have been marked by the cook.'cause . we ordered the same lunch
Annoyed they never gave me points or marked off my reservation when I showed up
Had to call Barra's..not too helpful
OT settled it.promptly & friendly!!!
"
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for BARRA
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Manager tried to convince us not to eat here

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A group of us were looking for dinner late Friday night and used Open Table to see what was available. Since a 9pm table was available I reserved it but when we arrived the manager didn't want to seat us because the restaurant turns into a club shortly after 9pm. I'm not sure why they would have that time slot open if they aren't seating customers. She then proceeded to try to convince us that we would not want to eat here because it turns into a club and the music will be loud. That wasn't a problem for us and eventually we were sat. We were the only table in there and service was still horrible. If they wanted us to leave so badly they should have taken our orders quickly, but instead made us wait 15+ minutes just to take our drink orders and the drinks took an additional 15 minutes to get to our table. The only good thing about this restaurant is the pizza, it's almost worth the pain of horrible service... almost."
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for BARRA
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Ok, but disinterested

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food quality was (overall) very good; however, the chef (apparently new) didn't seem to take the time to read his own menu...I got the "crabby bene" (described as two poached eggs and hllandiase over jumbo lump crabcakes with sauteed escarole & spinach, served with house potatoes). Instead, I got two eggs (more "over medium" than poached), served atop polenta cakes, topped with a scoop of crabmeat...with nothing green in site. No potatoes were to be seen either. The waitress was appropriately apologetic and brought out the potatoes (which were good, though as with most breakfast potatoes in the Philly/South Jersey area, could have used more seasoning) and admitted that the chef was new. I think this place could be great - it has the right "bones", but the kitchen either needs to pay attention or re-write the menu to match the outcome."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for BARRA
Based on the average of (28) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
12 out of 22 recommend this product
Food 
3.1 / 5
(Very Good) 3.1 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
2.7 / 5
(Good) 2.7 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate