Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen

Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen offers the elegance of fine dining in a relaxed, family friendly atmosphere. Susanna's food has been consistently praised by guests as well as critics from around the country. We hope you will experience Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen for yourself.



We have a beautiful 27 foot fully stocked bar with excellent and diverse wine list.. Relax after work or come and see the big game on our HD Large Screen TV.



Enjoy Happy Hour at the Foo Bar from 4:30 PM to 6:30 PM Monday through Friday with 1/2 price dumpling and sushi and drink specials.



Come check out our two beautiful outdoor patios where you can enjoy a great meal in peaceful serene setting.



Our private dining room which seats up to 60 guests. For more intimate gatherings our chef's table seats up to 14 guests. And for your very large events, rent the whole restaurant for up to 200 guests.
131 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
(131 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 131 reviews
5 stars
(61)
4 stars
(34)
3 stars
(16)
2 stars
(15)
1 star
(5)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(58)
  • good for groups(42)
  • special occasion(39)
  • great for lunch(23)
  • neighborhood gem(21)
  • romantic(18)
Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen Reviews List
Review 1 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2007
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/15/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/26/2015
 2009
Dined on 3/26/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/26/2015
 2009
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Why did you close?

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2006
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great and unique restaurant over the years! Why did you close?"
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2013
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2010
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We will miss you

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"One of the classic restaurants in the region closes this week, so we went one last time. Looking forward to Suzanna's next venture, Soogah in Rittenhouse Square opening this fall."
Dined on 6/08/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/07/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

wonderful food and wonderful service.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2007
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Dissapointing

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Had dinner there on 5/25/15 to celebrate my son's graduation. The food sadly was just edible, my expectations were clearly too high. What I thought was unforgivable was what they did when we pointed out that we had been served the wrong vegetable item. We had ordered the Spicy tofu dish with tomatoes and scallion. What we received was the braised Chinese eggplant dish with tomato. When I pointed out the mistake to the our server, he took it back and reappeared a few minutes later with tofu added to the eggplant dish. We decided not to push our luck with the chef. It was our first visit and will also be our last."
Dined on 5/25/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Consultant, good food, pleasent wait staff . Lunch or dinner entrees or Sushi always good."
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2013
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/19/2015
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Had a nice evening at Susanna Foo. Sushi and dumplings were very good"
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Average food but disinterested service

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The dumpling appetizers were good. My wife and i shared the dumplings for two appetizer. But even though there were five different kinds on the plate i found them to taste remarkably similar; the lamb were the best. For dinner i had a spicy chicken dish and my wife had a short rib lomein. Each was OK but nothing special. The waiter was nowhere to be found and i waited forever just to get a refill on a glass of water. For Chinese food in the main line area i definitely prefer YangMing in Bryn Mawr and Sampan Inn in Havertown at Darby & Brookline which I could walk to (and should have). Or jump in the car and go to Han Dynasty on Market St in University City - that is amazing. So everything was just average. Nothing to recommend here that would make me come back compared to other options."
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

an atypically poor experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Maybe it was the press of Mothers Day, but we rarely encounter such poor service in a restaurant of this quality. A delay of almost half an hour between ordering and seeing anything at all (even the wine was AWOL) is certainly not typical of Susanna Foo. We've been fans for many years and have had some wonderful meals and times everywhere from the original HuNan to Walnut St to today's location. Something serious was missing last night - there's simply no rational excuse for so experienced a restaurant to fall down because of a not-quite-full house on a holiday (even if there was a large party in the back room). I walked out to the front desk & asked a supervising staff member to please look into the delay, after which the waitstaff appeared & asked if we'd ordered yet. When things settled down, we got what we'd ordered - but no dish was quite as special as it usually is. Whatever went wrong needs attention - this was simply not the way Susanna Foo hosts her guests. Yes, we'll go back - we know she'll find and fix whatever broke."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/10/2013
 2013
Dined on 2/10/2013
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Love my friends restaurant it is always a great time"
Dined on 2/10/2013
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2009
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2005
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/15/2015
 2008
Dined on 4/15/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/15/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It was very empty on this particular Sunday evening, but the service was fantastic, and the food was pretty good as well. I recommend the spicy ahi tuna roll with avocado, and the baby back ribs."
Dined on 4/12/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Consistently Excellent

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2009
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Once again, we had a delicious dinner at Susanna Foo! If you can, enjoy the Passover special menu. The food was out of this world and presented beautifully!"
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A delicious meal and the staff was so helpful and accommodating. Would definitely recommend!"
Dined on 4/06/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2013
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food is always amazing. But the night was ruined by a member of the staff rudely turning off the lights in the restaurant for a few seconds as a way to tell us to leave. Keep in mind it was only 8:30!"
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always a fabulous meal

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We have eaten at susanna foo many many times
And it is always wonderful
"
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A Good Meal

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Overall a good meal. The dumplings are AMAZING. I went there for the Crispy Duck that was her signature dish only to find it isn't on the menu and replaced with a Tea Smoked Duck. It was still very good and perfectly cooked but just not the same."
Dined on 4/02/2015
 2010
Special Features: fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Enjoyable

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Susanna Foo has good food and good service, but it is rarely crowded, which can be a good thing on a random Friday night. I've been several times, and haven't been disappointed."
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Fresh, quality food, but not flavorful

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The meats, fish and vegetables at Susanna Foos are very high quality, but the dishes do not have much flavor. Sauces were simple. The kung pao chicken was not spicy. We returned it once and the second version came with lots of sriracha rather than a chili oilwhich made it salty. The soup had virtually no flavor. The atmosphere of the restaurant is great. It is more upscale than other Asian restaurants locally but the food isn't as good. I know they think of themselves as French-Asian but there is no French inspiration."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

never makes a wrong turn

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Susanna Foo defies the demons of the restaurant world. She's been delivering fine meals with flair & skill for a long time & has stayed true to her mission. As a result, it's hard not to love what she does & how she does it. We began our son's birthday celebration last night with a wonderful assemblage of dumplings, buns, noodles, rices, & ribs. Although everything is better than good, the goat buns were truly wonderful & quite different from most Asian fare found here. The ribs were delicious - so tender that they fell off the bone but still "al dente"....& sooo tasty! My wife's fried rice special was loaded with great stuff (e.g. bacon, veggies) & quite good. My Mongolian lamb with eggplant & jalapenos was very good, although I was surprised that it wasn't spicier. Our son's girlfriend loved the pork special (tea smoked) & he really enjoyed his chicken. And unlike most that we've tried, the green tea "gelato" (more like ice cream - not quite as rich & smooth as classic gelato) actually tasted like green tea! Plating & presentation (often a weak spot in Asian restaurants) are also as fine and pleasing as any. Susanna Foo still has it !"
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2011
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Went to celebrate a birthday dinner and the food was GREAT. We enjoyed everything, especially the calamari, tea-smoked duck, crispy shrimp, banana-chocolate dessert & specialty cocktails. The noise level was really loud and it took some adjusting to talk above the sound. There was much confusion with our service- cocktail and appetizer appeared after others had made it to our table and waiters brought dishes which weren't ordered. However, since the food was so good we will be returning and hope that the service will be better."
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2010
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Nothing special

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This restaurant is resting on its reputation. Food was not hot. Service was ordinary and the room is tired."
Dined on 2/26/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Always Good

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2006
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Reliably excellent food, outstanding service, a nice if a bit coldly decorated room. We've been enjoying her food since the great days on Walnut St. Valet Parking was welcome on a cold night. If she has Asian-style Short Rib on the menu don't miss it."
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Incredible Dumplings!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The highlight of our meal was the dumpling sampler! It includes chicken with mushrooms, pork, shrimp, lamb, and vegetable dumplings with a twist added to each. The accompanying sauces are great as well. Even the seaweed salad has a twist to it. Delicious! We also really enjoyed the popcorn pork ravioli. Again, a twist on traditional ravioli. Very flavorful!! The short rib sliders were okay but the meat was a little too dry for my liking. However, it was well seasoned and had interesting ingredients combined with the short rib.
The only problem we encountered was that the restaurant was cold, although they tried to accommodate guests by placing space heaters throughout the restaurant. It was an extremely cold day so perhaps the heating or pipes were a problem. We've eaten there several times before and the cold was not an issue in winter.
"
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

I guess I was just expecting more flavor

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was high quality - I was probably just expecting a bit more flavor."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Susanna Foo Gourmet Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Ice Cold Dining

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The area in which we were seated was towards the rear of the restaurant past the kitchen area. It was unreasonably cold, apparently the space was unheated or the heat was broken. There was an oscillating portable heater in the back of the room which was obviously too small and inappropriate for a 'fine dining' establishment. The 4 course meal (only option that evening, 2/14?) was so-so, nothing special. The main course was tepid due to the conditions in the room, maybe if the dining area was warm it would have tasted better."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>