Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Nick's Steak and Taphouse Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Nick's Steak and Taphouse

Nick's Steak and Taphouse, located in downtown Gastonia, is a modern upscale casual dining restaurant reminiscent of the classic silver screen days. We are located inside the historic Webb Theater, offering a truly unique dining experience.
We specialize in prime rib but our screen-inspired menu also features fine hand-cut steak, seafood, pasta, signature salads with homemade dressing, chicken, burgers, and more. We also offer a full bar with fine wine, spirits, draft beer and mixed drinks. Your meal is sure to be memorable when paired with one of our 18 draft beers or a selection of our fine wines. Once you step through the door, you'll notice the historic significance of this location. Our open kitchen allows you to to watch our kitchen staff prepare your meal. Whether you're searching for a unique dining experience, a venue for a special occasion, a night on the town, or the best Prime Rib around, Nicks Steak and Taphouse is sure to leave a memorable impression.
29 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(29 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
5 stars
(9)
4 stars
(10)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(3)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
3 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(14)
  • neighborhood gem(13)
  • special occasion(12)
  • great for lunch(9)
  • fit for foodies(6)
  • late-night find(6)
Nick's Steak and Taphouse Reviews List
Review 1 for Nick's Steak and Taphouse
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had reservations. Arrived ahead of time and still had to wait over an hr for a table. The service was extremely slow and poor skills. The cost vs quality is not worth the prices charged for food. I waited over an hr to get my food and had to send it back and left hungry."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nick's Steak and Taphouse
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not the place to go for Restaurant Week!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We went to Nick's for Queens Feast and were very disappointed! The menu online was last year's menu and this year's menu was not what we had planned. The place was pretty empty and yet the service was slow. When we arrived we were told the "meat truck" was 3 hours late so we may have to wait. The wait wasn't actually too long, but for what we paid we were very disappointed."
Dined on 1/19/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nick's Steak and Taphouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

local gem..

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"When I went in I really enjoyed the overall dinner and service will be coming back soon.."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nick's Steak and Taphouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nick's

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Steak was delicious, but the service was not very attentive. No silverware when we sat down, and had to ask for it after we got our salads. Restaurant week menu online did not match menu in the restaurant. Ordered a beer and a water, received the water and had to ask again for the beer. It did not seem to be very busy, but the waitress walk by was few and far between. I loved the big screen TV playing the Patriots vs Colts game, but my wife did not feel the same. Overall was a decent experience. My mother was a waitress, so I understand there are off nights for wait staff. We would dine at Nick's again."
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nick's Steak and Taphouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dinner Was Awesome!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Thisi is a great place to dine, a beautifully restored old movie house. What a great idea. The vibe in the place was ecletic cool. Good food, good service. Would recommend to a friend. And I will be back."
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nick's Steak and Taphouse
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

The menu posted online is NOT the menu served.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I traveled from Charlotte to Gastonia for this meal and it definitely was not worth the drive. The menu posted on line is not what was served. The food was ok, not great and the 'creamy potatoes' were not creamy. The service was fair but we did a lot of waiting and they were not that busy. Wii not go back or recommend to anyone."
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nick's Steak and Taphouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice place for dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We stopped at Nick's for dinner during a long drive from Philadelphia to Birmingham. The Holiday Inn Express gave us the recommendation. Nick's is a fine place. The food was good, and the service was outstanding. It was definitely a step up from the 'normal' restaurant that you use when driving a multi-day trip on the Interstate. Since we do this drive a couple of times a year, we'll stop again."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nick's Steak and Taphouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Had to change tables due to ricketty one; no silverware when appetizer came; had to ask twice for water; appetizer came without small plates to share; ate seafood combo- fish was greasy, sauce on shrimp was very spicy; added another table's alcohol to our bill. Although very polite, attendants lacked skills needed for a successful dining experience."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nick's Steak and Taphouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

nice experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"It was a great experience and the courses for two menu was perfect for us! Filet was excellent and the shrimp and grits was great."
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nick's Steak and Taphouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nick's is a hit!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Our New Jersey guests enjoyed the ambience and the food! Thanks!"
Dined on 12/10/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nick's Steak and Taphouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Enjoyable evening with friends

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Our group of eight enjoyed the nice atmosphere, pleasant service, and superb food."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nick's Steak and Taphouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent business lunch experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We came from Charlotte for a business lunch meeting. We had an excellent experience and would highly recommend Nick's for this purpose. Food and service was timely, personable and excellent."
Dined on 12/04/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Nick's Steak and Taphouse
Based on the average of (17) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
12 out of 15 recommend this product
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
3.1 / 3
Energetic