Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

AKA Bistro - Pasadena Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

AKA Bistro - Pasadena

Conveniently located in Old Pasadena's stylish One Colorado Plaza, a/k/a is the latest concept by renowned restaurateurs Deborah and Robert Simon, who have also operated Bistro 45 for the last 20 + years in Pasadena, and previously launched the a/k/a concept in St. Helena two and a half years ago to critical acclaim. Drawing flavors and menu focus from California wine country sensibility and from specific, sustainable, and, where ever possible, organic sources is what a/k/a is all about. a/k/a's sophisticated yet comfortable ambiance is highlighted by gracious and abundant hospitality, and a diverse menu featuring choices for every taste. Chef Jonathan Wiener's vivid flavors pair naturally with an exceptional and well-priced wine selection and hand-crafted brews from California.
32 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(32 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
5 stars
(14)
4 stars
(14)
3 stars
(3)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for outdoor dining(11)
  • neighborhood gem(10)
  • fit for foodies(9)
  • romantic(8)
  • special occasion(8)
  • good for groups(7)
AKA Bistro - Pasadena Reviews List
Review 1 for AKA Bistro - Pasadena
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/11/2014
 2014
Dined on 1/11/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/11/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for AKA Bistro - Pasadena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/13/2014
 2012
Dined on 6/13/2014
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/13/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for AKA Bistro - Pasadena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2008
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for AKA Bistro - Pasadena
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Overall, great! Some querks

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2006
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Thought it was odd that when we asked for a booth, we were put towards the back."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2006
Special Features: fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for AKA Bistro - Pasadena
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food, baffled by Open Table coupon though

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was our first visit to AKA Bistro and we thought the food was outstanding, ranging from the mozzarella and tomato appetizer to the risotto to the pork chop. All were terrific.
The only quibble I have is that we used a $20 Open Table coupon to apply to our bill, and when presented with the coupon our server looked at us like we were aliens, and there was a VERY lengthy delay while, she said, the manager processed the coupon. Seems to me that if you're going to be part of the Open Table program, you might want to be prepared for someone using an Open Table coupon."
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for AKA Bistro - Pasadena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Old Town Choice

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Found it through an Instagram post, and was not disappointed. Great food and service. The seasonal risotto was outstanding, and the portabello fries are not to be missed. Highly recommend!!"
Dined on 1/20/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for AKA Bistro - Pasadena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Very cool!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We love this place, great food, great service, great location."
Dined on 12/17/2014
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for AKA Bistro - Pasadena
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

dinning at the bistro

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had dinner reservations at 8:ppm on a rainy Sunday night after thanksgiving weekend which was pretty empty but open table only had either 615 or 830 and on open, no after 630 AND before 830 and the place was not busy, which kind of made me a little upset at open table when we could of just called and got a reservation at 7ish.
Our server was great, he told us all about the specials and brought wine glasses to our table which we brought a bottle of red which corkage fee was 10bucks which is cheap to drink our own wine at a restaurant. We ordered the lamb cut entree which wasn't on the menu. We also ordered the Portobello fries with aoili sauce which I really liked, the pulled pork Mac and cheese which was ok, fois gras which was fake because it's banned in Cali which tasted fine still, and duck confit salad which was pretty big and alright. Kind of ordered too much food. All in all great time with friends and food was ok but service was great.
The server brought out dessert wine for us which was a great ++ after our bill. Would come back again for the service and atmosphere in good ole historic old town Pasadena."
Dined on 11/30/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for AKA Bistro - Pasadena
Based on the average of (24) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
16 out of 16 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic