Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Shells and Sauce Reviews List

Shells and Sauce

Serving authentic Italian American food in the heart of Congress Park, Shells and Sauce brings Old Country taste to a cozy neighborhood restaurant. If you’re craving home-made lasagna, meat or fish, Shells and Sauce has a variety of savory appetizers and entrees to chose from. We also boast an extensive wine list to pair with anything you choose, and we offer delicious desserts to top off your evening. Whether you sit on our rooftop or in our main dining room to watch our open kitchen, Shells and Sauce is a great place to entertain friends or family in an inviting setting. Step into our kitchen and let us share our passion for food!
See more Shells and Sauce details
1079 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
(1,079 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 1,079 reviews
5 stars
(573)
4 stars
(372)
3 stars
(106)
2 stars
(22)
1 star
(6)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(694)
  • fit for foodies(428)
  • great for brunch(269)
  • special occasion(205)
  • great for outdoor dining(186)
  • good for groups(171)
Shells and Sauce Reviews List
Review 1 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 4/24/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 5/03/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great brunch!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/13/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/01/2016
 2007
Dined on 5/01/2016
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/01/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Our favorite restaurant in Denver!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 5/01/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"The only reason I wouldn't recommend this restaurant is because I don't want more people taking up the reservations :) It is our favorite spot for any meal and the service is always outstanding. We have taken our baby since she was just a few weeks old and they are always so helpful. Great for two people or a big group. Their food is amazing!"
Dined on 5/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was our first time at shells and sauce for brunch. It was wonderful just like their dinners are."
Dined on 5/01/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2015
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Annie was a great server. She made our meal fun!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Logan was our waiter. He was so accommodating and so excellent. The kitchen didn't do our orders correctly and he immediately made it right. No, 'oh gee, I'm sorry', which is what we seem to get anymore these days. The food was absolutely delicious. Definitely on my go-to list from now on!"
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 4/19/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good food. Crowded and load.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2015
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We tried to visit a few times before always finding a 45plus minute wait. The layout of the resteraunt is claustrophobia inducing and it is very load inside. But it is cute in its own way. The staff was nice and helpful though they seated us by the entrance and wrinkled their noses when we didn't order wine or cocktails. The food was a somewhat unique take on pasta and sauce with bold flavor combinations and really nice texture. The serving sizes carry quite a bit so you might want to ask your server if this is a concern. If I return to this resteraunt it will be late on a summer night and i will sit outside."
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2015
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 4/29/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2016
Special Features: hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/28/2016
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2013
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/28/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 4/24/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2008
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Best Italian food in Denver for the dollar and the quality is amazing with every dish.
Just pass on the side salads - nothing unique
Eat upstairs so you can carry on a conversation. Little louder on the main floor.
Once a month must!"
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Brunch specials were fun, tasty, and large in terms of serving size. Service was good despite being very busy."
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Noisy Noshing

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2010
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We had 2 different shrimp and pasta dishes and the shrimp were large and plentiful. We loved the buttery bread and dipping sauce. We just wish the place was not so noisy; it's hard to hear ourselves talk."
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/26/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/28/2016
 2005
Dined on 4/28/2016
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Tremendous value, and a neighborhood dining anchor."
Dined on 4/28/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 4/23/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2012
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"There was an obnoxious employee that made us feel uncomfortable. Kind of a loud mouth guy. Said he was from Brooklyn. He finally left on a bicycle. I've got to believe there is a back story otherwise...yikes."
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2015
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Sunday Brunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Food was good, as usual! Service was a little slow but we were a table of 2 next to a large group of 10 or 12 so it was understandable. The waiter acknowledged this on a couple of occasions, which we appreciated. Plus Sunday brunch is always busy everywhere, no big deal. Our table was ready upon our arrival and they had a wait of 45 minutes. Thanks for another great meal!"
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2011
Special Features: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

At least the food was good.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We went to Sunday brunch at Shells and Sauce for something new and brought my mom who was visiting for the weekend. We were seated upstairs and had a nice view of the neighborhood. We were immediately greeted and our beverages arrived promptly. The waitress took our order. Then we waited. And waited. And waited. It was over an hour from the time we ordered and the food arrived. I truly can't even remember ever asking if our meal would arrive soon, but the fact that there were open tables surrounding us prompted me to at least make sure that the order was placed! The saving grace was that the food was good. Maybe because we were at the point that we just wanted to eat :). Might try it again. But with all the options, the wait unfortunately will leave a sour note."
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome food and service but....

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"The food is always great, and the service was attentive yet not hovering, but it is so so so LOUD! Hard to have a conversation. I guess that is the way of restaurants these days."
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2016
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Love S&S- Don't love the crowd

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I've been to S&S several times- it's always great. This was my first Friday night experience. I'll say it was way too crowded. You're basically in your neighbor's lap. That normally doesn't bother me, but Friday night it was WARM in there. Dining in a crowded place that is too warm- not my favorite. I like outside or the bar much more, as you don't feel so claustrophobic! Also- this is the first time I thought this- but our food was TOO garlicy. Usually it's great, but this time it almost tasted fishy because it was over-garliced. This was disappointing, but usually it is great."
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2013
Special Features: great for brunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Family Brunch

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2010
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"My family and I went there for brunch to celebrate my birthday. Based on a friend's recommendation for a good brunch but not too far north (like in the Highlands), she recommended this place.
My first impression was that it was in a good location, and had a fun/trendy ambience. My second observation was that it was very loud and hard to hear everyone in our party or 7.
Our server was very friendly and informative on the specials.
I ordered the Portabello Benedict. It had a lot of flavor but the portion was a little small, especially compared to the other dishes that were served at our table. Everyone else enjoyed their food as well - chicken and waffles, breakfast stack and chicken fried steak.
Nice place, I'd go here again."
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 4/10/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/19/2016
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 4/20/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2012
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

I really want this place to be better than it is!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2008
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2008
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Nice location, kind of fun atmosphere. Food was just not very good.
We went on a Sunday and three of the items we asked for they were out of.
No problem, except the items we did order just weren't very good. The bread was good but the dipping sauce made of balsamic vinegar and who knows what else was just weird.
We had to send back the beef stroganoff it was so bad. They replaced it with gummy spaghetti and meatballs.
The flourless chocolate torte tasted as if it had been sitting on the refrigerator shelf, uncovered for several days.
Sorry, we won't be back!
"
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

WONDERFUL time at Shells & Sauce

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2010
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"My girlfriend and I went to Shells & Sauce for the 1st anniversary of our first date . We are a low key couple so this dinner was exactly what we wanted. It wasn't the fanciest place we could find, but was refined and classy, while also being "homey". The service was great (our waiter was nice enough to give us a free desert since it was a special occasion - it was so nice!) and the food was amazing. We will DEFINITELY be going back."
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not great this time!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2005
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2005
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We have enjoyed our meals at this restaurant in the past but this time the food was mediocre at best. My french toast breakfast was cold, my bacon was burnt. My husband said he didn't enjoy his meal either. I think there are much better places in town to have breakfast/brunch now."
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Shells and Sauce
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>