Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Winterthur Museum & Country Estate Reviews List

Winterthur Museum & Country Estate

Founded by Henry Francis du Pont, Winterthur (pronounced “winter-tour”) is the premier museum of American decorative arts, reflecting both early America and the du Pont family’s life here. Its 60-acre naturalistic garden is among the country’s best, and its research library serves scholars from around the world. We invite you to visit and explore this place of beauty, history, and learning.

Reservations are accepted for Sunday brunches, Afternoon Tea and many other special dining experiences held at Winterthur. Reservations are not required for dining in the Visitor Center Garden Cafe or the Cottage Cafe. Winterthur Members receive 10% off all Visitor Center Garden Cafe and Cottage Cafe purchases, preferred seating at special holiday brunches, and discounts on catered events.
See more Winterthur Museum & Country Estate details
93 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(93 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 93 reviews
5 stars
(39)
4 stars
(26)
3 stars
(16)
2 stars
(8)
1 star
(4)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.7 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for brunch(46)
  • scenic view(46)
  • great for lunch(38)
  • good for groups(37)
  • special occasion(28)
  • kid-friendly(24)
Winterthur Museum & Country Estate Reviews List
Review 1 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We go here for Brunch with Santa every year and are never disappointed with the food, service or Santa.
Previously we would go to Longwood Gardens; this is a more relaxed environment with better food and is less of a mob scene.
"
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Beautiful!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We go to this breakfast/brunch with Santa every year ... lovely presentation in a beautiful glass garden room. Wonderful variety of breakfast and lunch foods and appetizers, loads of desserts and coffee, drinks and soft drinks. Great family time! My 13 year old still enjoys it!"
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Don't waste your money

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Pricey for what was offered. Stations not manned and had to ask for items that had run out. Brunch food was mediocre, beef filet congealed on platter, whole buffet looked more like leftovers and not not a brunch buffet. Tables not the least bit festive and no Santa in sight. Looked like they were trying to close up. Our server was the only good thing about the brunch and he seemed to be aware of the brunch's shortcomings. Don't waste your money But do take advantage of the Museum and Country Estate. The cafeteria looked better."
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2004
Special Features: scenic view, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2013
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2010
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Very disappointed that the tea served was Lipton tea bags. For $30 a person for "tea", if you have to serve bag tea is should be a better brand and variety. The food was very good."
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Did Not Disappoint

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Not as many choices as some buffets, but I felt the quality of everything was better than the rest. There was someone making custom omelets, in addition to the buffet food. Atmosphere was really nice, not overcrowded, clean and nice quality. One of my favorite buffets."
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food nice. Service poor.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2012
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Winterthur is a lovely place to visit. The restaurant however does not come up to the same level as the museum or gardens. The food at Brunch was very good and there was a nice selection to choose from with varied options. The service was very poor. It was difficult to get a simple cup of coffee or tea. When they finally arrived, the beverages were cold. Forget getting refills or water to go with the meal. At that price point, I would have expected better service."
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2012
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2006
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food was excellent. Procedures were terrible.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"No Winterthur staff member knew Brunch procedures. No one was available to register or seat us, when we arrived. The chef was rude, insisting we needed tickets. One cafeteria customer had to stand with her tray while the tablecloth was pulled off her table, before she was allowed to sit down. Service was spotty and we had to request the check to pay. The food was delicious. The other staff members were very pleasant, when we encountered them."
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/15/2014
 2006
Dined on 3/15/2014
 2006
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/15/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great brunch! Omelette station was awesome"
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Afternoon Tea

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2014
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Did not eat at the restaurant or cafe but the afternoon tea was very nice."
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Mother's Day Brunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Brunch was excellent! Many items to select from. Good vegetarian options for my daughter. Service was good and attentive. Only complaint, the coffee at the end of the meal was lukewarm at best. The outside setting is gorgeous. Will come again for another brunch!"
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not what it used to be

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2013
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I didn't mind waiting 10 minutes after our reservation time to be seated. However, after being seated we waited patiently for over 10 minutes for a server to take our drink orders. Finally we had to get up and seek out a server because none acknowledged our presence. Food was fair, but certainly less selection than previous years. Many dishes were left empty several minutes. After the meal the server brought our check. Not only did the check include a 20% gratuity for buffet service, but I was also charged for an adult meal for my 12 year old daughter. The server insisted that the children's price was for under 12 years old. That is not what was advertised. Overall, I do not plan on attending any more holiday buffets at Winterthur. I am very disappointed because our family has so many fond memories of holiday brunches at Winterthur."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2010
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2010
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Mother's Day brunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Mother's Day brunch held recently at Winterthur was outstanding. We were seated quickly even though we were early for our reservations. The food was excellent with many choices. If I had to look for a negative it would be that I would have liked to see a sign on each item served. Some things were labels but not all and I have food allergies. The unlabeled dishes I could not sample. Highly recommend."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Mother's Day Brunch!!!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went for Mother's Day, the food was FANTASTIC!!! Our little one got a bit antsy at the end, and they were completely great with the fact he wanted to run out on the porch a bit. We'd love to go again!!"
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great for brunch on that special visit to the Estate."
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Winterthur Cafe and Afternoon Tea

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The afternoon tea is mostly a fundraiser for the museum and garden, in that the quality of the food is not commensurate with the price. There is a nice variety of desserts that are good and not too rich, but the tea sandwiches mostly consist of cream cheese and other heavy fillings. The teapot is endlessly refillable, but there could be more of a selection of non-caffeinated teas.
The regular cafe menu (in the visitor center, not the museum store) is quite good (especially the soups), and I would recommend it to any Winterthur visitors. The eating area is open and suitable for brown bagging as well."
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

So expensive

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/12/2015
 2008
Dined on 4/12/2015
 2008
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Love Winterthur, love the staff but hate the restaurant. So expensive, food had no taste and the crème puffs smelled and tasted like a refrigerator.....never again!!! Also told the waitress it was my friend's birthday and she never reacted and we were anxious to leave."
Dined on 4/12/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

German Brunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My 2 best friends and I had a wonderful German Brunch last Sunday at Winterthur. The food was excellent and plentiful and the service was wonderful. I would go back in a heartbeat!"
Dined on 3/22/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Different vendor?

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We have been members at Winterthur for a long time and as such have enjoyed the famous Sunday Brunch here at least 3 or 4 times a year. It was always a lovely experience and the food was the star of the show. Not so with the last few visits over the past 6 months or so. Yesterday's was really disappointing. The Pennsylvania German-themed menu was strange (and that's my heritage) and the items we sampled were either tasteless or tasted "off" (the salmon for example). To add to our dismay, the price has bumped up to $35.00/person. I realize that all non-profits have to manage on tight budgets, but considering that there are several outstanding restaurants within a few miles which also offer Sunday Brunch, we will now be choosing one of those on future visits to Winterthur. Maybe others are doing the same? The dining room had lots of empty tables yesterday."
Dined on 3/22/2015
 2011
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Afternoon Tea

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/04/2015
 2007
Dined on 1/04/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The afternoon tea was a wonderful addition to our Yuletide tour! The service was excellent and the food was quite yummy."
Dined on 1/04/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Surprisingly good and a needed respite

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A large group of my friends went to Winterthur to see the Downton Abbey costume exhibit and do the Christmas house tour. Both were wonderful. Since we had to travel over 2 hours to get there and back, we needed a bite to eat while there. Fortunately for us, the cafeteria was offering a "High Tea" in keeping with the Downton Abbey theme. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality as well as the variety of offerings. OK, so the tea was a teabag and hot water. That was not a surprise. But there was a nice buffet of both savory and sweet morsels. The staff was even kited out in Downton Abbey style maids outfits and were very good sports about it. All in all, I was quite pleased and glad we made the meal part of the experience."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Downton Tea

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We attended the afternoon tea held during the Downton exhibit. It was a bit pricey but was a great idea as an addition to the exhibit. We were seated shortly after the doors were opened and our server brought water to fill our individual teapots. It would have been more authentic to have loose tea rather than the tea bag selection that was offered. Also, there were quite a few herbal teas on our tray and only one choice as far as black tea which was disappointing to some in our group. We started with a small serving of a creamed cauliflower and Stilton cheese soup which was delicious. We wished that would have been made available for more! The tea sandwiches and luncheon foods were buffet style but tasty. Our server was very nice and polite, but we thought the staff may have been stretched a little thin as we waited for some time to have a few plates removed and to have our teapots refilled. The dessert table looked lovely, but we were a bit disappointed with many of the offerings. We were not in a rush and didn't get to that table right away and some of the initial items were not replaced quickly or at all (lovely looking fruit tarts went fast so we didn't taste them, cream for scones not refilled). There were far too many store-bought types of cookies and we found some of the other dessert items not as tasty as they could have been. Overall, we had a fine time at the tea and were glad we added that to our day."
Dined on 1/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointing for a high tea and price charged.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This was supposed to be a tea in conjunction with the Downton Abbey exhibit. Obviously, those who planned it didn't know what a typical English afternoon tea is which is probably what all the guests there were expecting. They didn't have enough teapots for the 200+ people there and the teapots weren't authentic. The food was plentiful but mass produced so it had been sitting out for too long and was dry and inedible. Most importantly, to use tea bags when you're charging $30 for the tea is absolutely unacceptable. Water for tea MUST be boiling hot, not lukewarm from the coffee machine. Our waitress, Nicole, did what she could to make things right, and we really appreciate her willingness and cheerfulness. I have been to many teas, and this was one of the worst. I wouldn't go back to this restaurant nor recommend it to others."
Dined on 1/04/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Downton tea at Winterthur

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My BFF and I visited Winterthur for the costumes of Downton Abby exhibit, which was awesome! We also went on the Yuletide tour and had afternoon tea "Downton style". The tour and exhibits were wonderful...we looooove the time periods featured in each. The tea was set up to reflect the Downton theme and the servers were dressed in the maids outfits. The food was delicious, we went up to the buffet twice...everything was 'tea-sized' so you could easily try everything, and the desserts were yummy too! Very attentive servers kept your tea water hot which was very nice, especially since they were so busy. Overall a really fun day :)"
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great atmosphere. We were there for afternoon tea buffet, so it is difficult to review menu, wine list, or full service experience."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2014
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Tea Buffet Highlight of my First Trip.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I've never been to Winterthur before and decided to go to see the last day of Downton Abbey and the Yuletide tour. The highlight of the trip was the Downton Abbey tea buffet. I am what one might call a connoisseur of tea and taking in an afternoon tea service. I was delighted by this tea service. It was presented well, the quality of the food everything I had hoped and the service attentive in their finery.
I visited the Hotel DuPont in November for their afternoon tea service (same charge) after a rather disappointing tour of Nemours and was somewhat disappointed in that, as well. My friend and I had been gravely irritated that for the price, no soup or salad were included. You can imagine how after a day of endless rushing about, traffic jams in pouring down rain rushing to not miss our incredibly tightly scheduled tour we were hungry and anxious for the tea. We found we needed to order food off the regular menu after, in order to satiate the hunger in which the tea, alone, had left us feeling. The Winterthur experience, however, matched that rather high standard I had set prior to going to either, both as preeminent examples of country estates and museums.
Admittedly the tea at Winterthur was the high point of the day for my group on Sunday. Learning from the last experience in Wilmington, we did the tea first. I was pleased with how accommodating Winterthur were. From reserving an additional seat to providing ticketing to the tour for our last minute guest. They truly lived up to their reputation.
We are eager to return in spring and summer and tour more leisurely both the home and gardens (in better weather). We even thanked our server for providing equally appropriate English weather to suit the occasion :D
Will surely check the website often to keep updated on new such events. A garden picnic or tea would be ideal."
Dined on 1/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Lovely day

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The D/Abbey costume gallery was so fun!We had a wonderful Tea, but the sunlight was harsh/sheer curtains would've been helpful.The Holiday Mansion tour was lovely."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Tasty Tea

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We went to the LIGHT TEA, and were celebrating my three granddaughters and daughter- in- laws birthdays. The girls loved the choice of teas but opted for the hot chocolate. the choice of food gave them a wide variety to choose from, and were encouraged to try new things. It was not only delicious but well presented. Our server Abbey was delightful and helpful by answering the girls questions and requests (their ages were 8, 11, & 13) making them fell like young ladies. We all left there feeling pampered and full from our Light Tea!"
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delightful afternoon tea

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We enjoyed afternoon tea after the Downton Abbey costume exhibition. Winterthur offered a wide variety of teas and treats to satisfy both sweet and savory tastes."
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"They wanted to seat us at the first table inside the doorway in the direct sun. We asked to be moved further inside and at 2 pm the restaurant was fairly empty. The location has more of a
cafeteria feel to it. Food was okay but nothing special. Our server Lindsay was very good and helpful.
"
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Family favorite!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Winterthur brunches have become a favorite family tradition for us. The food is absolutely amazing, there is always a grand selection of everything from fresh meats, cheeses, fruits, and salads, to hot, savory dishes and desserts. The view from the windows is beautiful, the servers are attentive, professional, and friendly, and I've never seen the place crowded or noisy. They stagger their reseveration times extremely well, so you never get there and have to crush in with a bunch of other people. It's a little pricey, so we only go a few times a year, but it's well worth it!"
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Love complimentary mimosas, consider unlimited???

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Food was delicious, nice assortment of hot and cold foods; love your salmon filet but was also looking for some roast beef?"
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2011
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Breakfast with Santa was nice, wonderful memories.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Made nice memories at the Breakfast with Santa. Fresh food, eggs prepared to order, limitless desert choices, staff was so friendly. Santa looked genuine! No long lines to wait in, Santa spent lots of time with the children."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Since the windows face west, the sun in the afternoon can be somewhat overbearing without adjustable blinds to moderate the situation."
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice tea.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Nice tea. i was in a group of three, two ladies are gluten intolerant, so the crab on rice crackers and cheese and tomatoes skewers were welcome. Not that anyone expected there to be many options for gfree at a tea. The strong afternoon sunlight made it a bit challengi.g to look across the table. maybe a partial transparent shade would be nice. Dont want to spoil the view. nice food. salt on the table would be nice."
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not afternoon tea as I expected.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I guess it was my fault - I didn't read the detail before making reservation. I was expecting a traditional English afternoon tea but it was actually only a tea buffet. Food was fine."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Mothers Day Brunch 2014

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We made a last minute reservation for brunch this past Mother's Day and we were extremely pleased with everything. The food quality and selection were great. There was live music and everyone seemed to be enjoying their time. Brunch included Champagne Mimosas and the service was really excellent."
Dined on 5/12/2013
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Winterthur Museum & Country Estate
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2006
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My friends and I went for the Tea buffet Dec 7th. I have to say I was a little disappointed, I thought the ambience would be more grand and decorated, it had more a cafeteria feel, and I was not thrilled they served tea bags instead of loose tea. The food was good, the desserts were not so good. It was most definitely overpriced. Even though I love Winterthur I will be passing on this type of event in the future."
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>