Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar

Casual American Bistro style which offers a wonderful variety of menu selections to please every palate. The warm, inviting atmosphere is complemented by our knowledgeable and attentive service staff. Whether you are looking for a pleasant lunch, family or business dinner, a great date night, or lively bar atmosphere, Blackthorne will deliver. From mid March through October, weather permitting, Blackthorne opens its European style rooftop patio with full service bar, excellent menu, and live entertainment.
71 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(71 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 71 reviews
5 stars
(27)
4 stars
(29)
3 stars
(8)
2 stars
(6)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(26)
  • fit for foodies(18)
  • special occasion(18)
  • romantic(14)
  • good for groups(10)
  • great for outdoor dining(10)
Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar Reviews List
Review 1 for Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/31/2014
 2011
Dined on 8/31/2014
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Average at best. There are better places to go for the $ and eerily quiet while we were there"
Dined on 8/31/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/03/2015
 2013
Dined on 3/03/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/03/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2009
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Totally disappointed!

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were totally disappointed in this restaurant. As first time diners here a were expecting a truly excellent experience. The service was terrible even after we spoke with a manager. The food and drinks were mediocre at best. It's doubtful that we'll even go back to give them a second chance. There are so many excellent choices in this area it will be difficult to justify returning."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Eggs Benedict

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"They make the best hollandaise sauce for their eggs benedict."
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Very slow start, but th food almost made it better

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"It was my wife's birthday and I sent in notes with my reservations. They first tried putting us in a less secluded location, but moved us per my request, at least 5 other tables were filled after we sat down. Almost all 5 saw their waiter and waitress and we had not seen anyone. When I asked the girl who sat us if someone was working our table she acted surprised although she could see we didn't even have a our water glasses filled. Then the waitress finally showed up and instead of apologizing for the long wait (almost 12-15 minutes since we sat) she pretended nothing was wrong.
The food was good but because our mood had already soured it sort of soured the dinner. I had one glass of wine and called it quits. The noise level from the bar was coming into the dining area where we sat making it more noisier than we would have liked. My wife's birthday was not recognized and I couldn't get the check and leave fast enough. Will think twice about returning. Not a place for a quiet evening with your significant other.
"
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2008
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was great. Received excellent service from Zack!!!"
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food, needs consistency.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We have been here several times. First visit food was fantastic, mussels appetizer was superb. Next visit, service was off, mussels were awful. Tried it out again last weekend. Mussels were fantastic again and service was great. Hope to come back again. Love the location in Ballantyne."
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Seating was fast. The wait staff was very good and the food was good. I would recommend this place and will be going back soon."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

was good, but not as good as before

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We went with a small group for a birthday dinner (which after 3 reminders not one employee acknowledged it at the dining table sadly...but the bartender did at least). The food was good but wow have portions gotten smaller!
We ordered the calamari for the table to split (like we have in the past)...and it was 1/3 the size as usual. If you order steak I recommend ordering it one level more rare than you want...everyone's meat was just a bit overcooked. The meatloaf wrapped in bacon was tasty, and I would order it again, but I discarded the bacon because it was not cooked thoroughly. The meatloaf itself had great flavor. The cocktails were all tasty. All in all we used to love this place, but if these smaller portions continue then we likely won't dine here as often.
"
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Just OK

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It was very cold in the restaurant, but the server did turn the heat up. Food was good, just nothing special."
Dined on 1/29/2015
 2008
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Blackthorne Restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great food, friendly service, was a bit cold with the door opening frequently but the experience was terrific overall. Owner Tim Duffy does a great job and serves the customers himself!"
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

It's been much better....

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Queen's Feast week, so I guess that might have had something to do with it, but we've had way better quality food than this on a number of prior visits.
The ravioli appetizer tasted very much like Campbell's Mushroom soup, and the strip steak had a lot of gristle in it. It just lacked the attention to detail and quality we've come to expect here. It stop me from visiting again, but a repeat performance definitely would...
"
Dined on 1/25/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Exquisite.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Was our first timwe into BlackThorne and completely enjoyed the experience. Great Food and Service. Thoroughly enjoyed."
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"VEry good food. It was restaurant week so menu was downsized but everyone in the group commented on how good their food was.. if you go.. you must try the clam chowder.."
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Our First Queen's Feast Experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We were aware of the Charlotte tradition of Restaurant Week last year but were new and didn't quite make it to sample one of the fine restaurants in the Queen City. We arranged with neighbors to choose a restaurant in the south Charlotte area and make reservations. Our choice was a bit challenging since one member of the party has celiac disease and must be very careful not to ingest wheat gluten. We studied the menus of many establishments and came to the conclusion that Blackthornes had many offerings that would be safe. The party with the celiac called the restaurant ahead to confirm that the night of our meal, gluten free would be confirmed. Two of us had the 10 oz. NY Strip and two ordered the pork chop with chutney. The meat was moist, tender and cooked exactly to perfection with very nice sides. Our clam chowder and salad were wonderful and desserts of Bourbon Pecan Pie, strawberry cheesecake and special gluten free dessert were sublime. We will definitely return to this fine establishment in the future."
Dined on 1/20/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

First time to Blackthorne

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2008
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Was told about this place by a friend. Decided to try it. Really liked the food, service and place. Will definitely go back. The mushroom ravioli was great."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Donna Hamrick

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was great except the bacon wrapped meatloaf which was not great, not the same quality as other items we had. Had a reservation for 445 but could not order dinner menu queens feast items until 500. Restaurant staff seemed unprepared for early diners. Didn't have a cocktail pumpkin spice martini I ordered. Ordered a pecan old fashioned and it was so medicinal couldn't drink it. Not sure I would return here."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

excellent service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"There was Barely a wait time. Experienced Wonderful service and food was outstanding, full of flavor."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, vibrant bar scene, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dinner setting

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My wife and I went for two reasons, first, we are celebrating our twenty seventh anniversary and second, I picked it for Resturant Week. This was our first time but the hostess greeted us like we come there all the time. Our waitress came over almost immediately. She made us feel very welcome. The food was fabulous. The owner, Tim Duffy came over and wished us a Happy Anniversary and introduced himself. That was real nice. The one thing I really liked was the Resturant was not real big and not noisy like Longhorn for example. Very nice. On a scale of one to five stars, I give Blackthorne ten."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Food was excellent. But service was so fast we were out in an hour. No sitting around and relaxing. Because it was restaurant week perhaps they were overbooked but there was a couple nearby that was not taking part in Restaurant week and they definitely were not being rushed."
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice little neighborhood gem

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Based on the classification of restaurant this falls into, we rate this a 4/5 stars. We had a reservation for 9:45pm. We were able to order off the full menu and decided on calamari, clam chowder, and fish and chips. The calamari was good, albeit, a small serving. However, they were properly seasoned and properly cooked. The clam chowder was fantastic! Add a little dash of Tabasco, and you have a great meal starter! As an entree, we selected the fish and chips. The fish and fries were expertly fried, although they both could have benefited from a little more slat. Condiments included malt vinegar, ketchup, and tartar sauce, all which paired nicely with the meal. To round things out, instead of bread, you are provided with complimentary citrus cornbread served with a side of orange marmalade butter. These little morsels were divine!
Our server was Zack and he was a pleasure! He was very knowledgeable about the menu, was attentive, and was very humorous!
It was a little noisy due to a live band playing music and people at the bar viewing an NFL game.
Overall, we had a great dinning experience, would recommend this to a friend, and will be going back!"
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2007
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2007
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Fried calamari was mediocre at best and the fish and chips wasn't much better. Service was very good."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Slow Friday night . . . for a reason?

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2005
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2005
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Romaine in caesar salad was old. Blue cheese dressing in pear salad tasted old. Glass of Pinot Grigio tasted like it came from a bottle that had been open for a while. However, the meatloaf and filet were pretty good. Overall, and as a 1st time visitor, I understood why business was slow."
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fit for Foodies

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The ambiance of the restaurant was a bit noisy with families and groups celebrating the Holidays. However, our food and service were outstanding. This was our first time for dinner and we will be going back. I thought the menu was moderately priced."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

All time favorite in Ballantyne

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2005
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The shrimp and grits are a southern tradition. Here it is my favorite meal. Also, the strawberry creme brûlée was wonderful. It is delicious!"
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Perfect Spot for a Nice Evening Out

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We had a wonderful dinner and everything tasted delicious. Dinner for two with an app, a desert, and some good craft beer under $100. We enjoyed it a lot and will definitely be back."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great find

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We tend to frequent the same spots and rely on what we know when deciding a restaurant. We were visiting Charlotte and hadn't planned our night out and relied instead on previous reviews to direct our destination. Blackthorne is a fabulous find. In the heart of Ballantyne this intimate restaurant offered terrific food, friendly and helpful service, as well as live guitar music in a contemporary and upbeat setting. We would have liked more variety on the menu but our selections (shrimp & grits and salmon) were both outstanding. We will look forward to returning when we are back in town."
Dined on 11/28/2014
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Blackthorne Restaurant & Bar
Based on the average of (42) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
31 out of 34 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic