Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar Reviews List

Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar

Stellar service and inspired wine list paired with delicious food. Enjoy al fresco dining or sit at the bar or dining room. Something for everyone.
See more Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar details
125 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
(125 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 125 reviews
5 stars
(50)
4 stars
(43)
3 stars
(21)
2 stars
(8)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(70)
  • romantic(55)
  • fit for foodies(47)
  • great for outdoor dining(45)
  • special occasion(34)
  • notable wine list(29)
Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar Reviews List
Review 1 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2015
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 4/16/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/13/2016
 2013
Dined on 4/13/2016
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"At 8:15 on a Wednesday night, we were one of only two tables, so it was very quiet. The menu is small, but good. They advertised flights of wine on the chalkboard outside the restaurant, but they were not mentioned on the menu or wine list, so make sure to ask about that if you are interested."
Dined on 4/13/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/12/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2013
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/10/2014
 2014
Dined on 7/10/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/10/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Terrible food and service

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Dishes were not served at the same time. Menu on website does not match what is served in the restaurant. Chicken was very tough and inedible. Very poor experience."
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Fair.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/16/2016
 2013
Dined on 2/16/2016
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"New ownership has not preserved the fine quality of the food. It was a great disappointment because this was our favorite restaurant two years ago."
Dined on 2/16/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great food poor service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Our table was great with a pleasant atmosphere.A very romantic setting. Our waiter brought my wife's salad and entree together, forgetting mine all together. He offered to keep her food warm while she ate her salad but when he brought it back with my food hers was cold. What should have been a very nice birthday.dinner turned out to be a bad experience for us."
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 2/11/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent service in a cozy and intimate locale!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Recommendations: Indulge with something off the captain's list! They're pouring with a Coravin and I got to try legendary wine Cardinale without having to buy a whole bottle! It's only 25$ for a 1 oz pour which we let sit for the meal and WOW.
Also, the mussels are very tasty and the perfect sized appetizer to then jump to the salmon. Incredible preparation and the best lentils I've had!"
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2006
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A place I keep returning!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Always a new fun wine and my servers, Alex, knows a lot about wines. Always good to learn new things!"
Dined on 1/04/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

New Year's Even fun!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Always an excellent selection of wine from this place, and with the amazing cheese plate definitely the best choice to bring in 2016!"
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went for dinner the entire family as we were on vacation in San Diego area. Service: the wine list is way overpriced. The wine server tried to rush us to decide and when he saw that we have not decided yet disappeared and never came back. The rest of the service was OK, although they did not change the cutlery between services. I ordered the fettucine Alfredo and the chicken was burnt and gave a horrible flavor to the entire dish. The salmon and the chicken was good though. We ran away and never gave a try to the desserts. We will never come back. Not worth it. Impossible to feed kids in this restaurant, btw."
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We celebrated our anniversary here

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"It was the perfect place, romantic, intimate, great food and great service."
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2007
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This is a very tiny restaurant in a very covert location with a very small staff and a very good chef. Our waiter never mentioned the daily specials that the other waited recited to the table next to us , but our selections were fine : a chicken dish and a filet, more or less forgettable a week later but tasty then."
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Keep returning!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Lovely place, keep returning and never feel bored. Great place to have a quiet lunch with some stellar wine."
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Boutique Wines galore

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Stopped in when I heard there was a wine bar in La Jolla pouring some amazing wines by the glass. Was not disappointed. Got to try ounce pours of some of the most incredible wines being produced in California right now, but their by the glass selection also offers great choices. Really enjoyed their mussels in pesto cream sauce. Top notch service!"
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/03/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

May be a sad good bye to FInch's?

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"During our lovely dining experience - we found that Finch's will be undergoing an ownership change.
We hope the new owner will continue the innovative dishes and friendly atmosphere.
"
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/03/2015
 2005
Dined on 12/03/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 12/03/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2012
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good food, disappointing selection

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My husband and I had been talking about going to Finch's for quite some time but had never managed to align our desire to go there with a day when they had a table available. Last Saturday we decided to go there with my mother and sister, who were in from out of town.
We were particularly excited by a few items on the menu that is posted online, including an avocado appetizer, among other things.
Upon arrival, however, we discovered that the menu they actually offer at Finch's is significantly more limited, including none of the items we'd been eagerly anticipating, and offering only 6 entrees. Then, despite the fact that it was not even 7:00pm, we were informed that they were out of 2 of the 6 entrees, specifically the filet mignon and the rack of lamb (the only 2 red meat items), leaving the entrees to consist entirely of chicken, fish, and vegetarian options. This seemed a bit unreasonable to me, given how limited the selection was to begin with and how early it was on a Saturday evening.
That being said, as we were already seated and hungry, we all found items to order, and ultimately each of us enjoyed our meal and wine. The food is indeed very good - my balsamic brussels sprouts in particular were excellent - and the wine selection is fairly extensive. Our waitress was very nice, and the service was pretty good. But I think people should know that the menu is much more limited that what seems to be posted online."
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Complete 180

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I went with a group to Finch's Wine Bar and Bistro over the weekend and had a terrible experience. Most of the menu was not available because they kept running out of everything! 3 different times they came to our table to update the menu on what was currently out of stock. The waiter was somewhat snippy with us and told us that it was not his fault but poor management. My husband and I have been here on previous occasions and it was wonderful, the food was great, great wine list, great service and wonderful atmosphere, with live music. This experience could not be further from what we were expecting. The items they did have on the menu were completely flavorless and the wine list was somewhat limited but they did have some good options. Overall I was expecting more because of our previous experience but this was just terrible."
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2012
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/19/2015
 2005
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The Service, Food, Price, Wine Selection and Environment was outstanding. We will be back for sure and I would recommend this to everyone."
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

good for lunch and so-so for dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food here is good and the duck salad for lunch is great. The Dinner Menu is also good and tasty and inventive. The problem the night I was there was the slowness of the kitchen/service. it took two hours for dinner. Three people and only two appetizers each. One desert took 20 minutes to get and it was wrong....so 20 minutes more to get it replaced. So almost three hours! It isn't cheap either."
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for lunch, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2009
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Slow start but a great ending!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"As we arrived for our anniversary dinner, the setting is quaint, outside seating tucked between 2 buildings with some white lights giving cute atmosphere. Perfect until we waited for about 20 min to receive water. Started with female waiter who stopped briefly but then disappeared for a very long time. We were just about to leave when the male waiter came by and apologized and took care of us very well from that moment on! Sorry that I don't recall his name but the pace was great and he brought us complimentary champagne for our anniversary and bread pudding that was amazing! All of the food was awesome! Not sure what happened with the service initially but they made up for it! I would visit again!"
Dined on 10/08/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

One of our favorite local restaurants

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We returned again to Finch's last weekend and were pleased that it hadn't changed much with the new ownership. The menu was pared down a little, and some of the really unique dishes were eliminated, but the entrees that were left were excellent and beautifully presented. The live music is always a nice touch. We will return."
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2008
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

What an amazing evening!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was wonderfully prepared and service was top notch. The wine list was very impressive and the sommelier Ricardo was very pleasant, knowledgeable and welcoming as was our server Alex. Definitely recommend this place for a date or if you are looking for a great meal as everything we ate and drank were delicious and I am already eager to return. Thank you both to a wonderful evening with my wife!"
Dined on 9/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Unique find, great evening of food & wine

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Very good food, excellent sommellier, great ambiance. Impress your spouse or date with a fine evening."
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Neighborhood gem

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Finch's in the heart of the Village of La Jolla is a great place for dinner - be it entrees or many appetizers. Wine list is great - ranging across prices, and many choices for diners. It's a cozy setting where you can really talk with your partner and friends."
Dined on 9/17/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2007
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/10/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Finch's Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

cozy find

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were pleasantly surprised. This was a very cozy and friendly bistro. We went for my son's birthday and it was successful. Ravioli was excellent. Osso bucco and lamb rack were very nicely done. Filet was slightly overcooked but still with good flavor. Peach cobbler was amazing.
Service was attentive and very friendly even with three kids. No stuffiness. Definitely will go again.
"
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>