Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Diego's Mexican Grill Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Diego's Mexican Grill

At Diego's Mexican Grill, located in New York, the quality of our service is only surpassed by the excellence of our food. We have been serving the most exquisite Mexican cuisine we think it's time that you experience it for yourself.

As you enter Diego's Mexican Grill let yourself be whisked away by sights, sounds, and aromas… but that is just the beginning. Specializing in authentic Mexican dishes we guarantee one visit will keep you coming again and again.

Stop by and see what makes us unique!
44 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
(44 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
5 stars
(11)
4 stars
(25)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.7 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(19)
  • neighborhood gem(17)
  • great for lunch(13)
  • fit for foodies(8)
  • great for brunch(5)
  • late-night find(5)
Diego's Mexican Grill Reviews List
Review 1 for Diego's Mexican Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/27/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/27/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/27/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Diego's Mexican Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Diego's Mexican Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

pre theatre dining

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Standard Mexican fare at reasonable prices. Nothing to complain about in the guacamole, tacos, quesadillas or drinks but nothing special either. Service was good. Only issue was that we found it noisy even though the restaurant wasn't full. I can't imagine what it would be like if all the tables were taken."
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Diego's Mexican Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2013
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Diego's Mexican Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Diego's Mexican Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Diego's Mexican Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Okay Mexican - you can probably find better.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My husband and I were looking for a pre-theater dinner and decided to celebrate Cinco de Mayo a little early (the restaurant was already having drink specials, which was a plus). The guacamole was very good - and that was the best part. The margaritas were a little too sugary and the salsa wasn't to our taste. We each had the tacos, and so were able to try four different styles. They were good - but not worth the price. The vibe in the restaurant was pretty good, but over all we won't be coming here again."
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Diego's Mexican Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great tacos! Beer very cold!"
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Diego's Mexican Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Diego's Mexican Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food and reasonable prices!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had a great meal . . . Staff was pleasant . . . .food was great"
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2010
Special Features: hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Diego's Mexican Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Diego's Mexican Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/12/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Diego's Mexican Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

delicious brunch and fun atmosphere!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Decilicious lunch and fun atmosphere. Service was good, they didn't rush you. Yummy sangria!!!!"
Dined on 4/12/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Diego's Mexican Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Clueless service and cold food

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Not a good experience. Bar couldn't coordinate with kitchen and servers. Everyone was nice enough, but scatterbrained. Had to ask for everything twice."
Dined on 4/09/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Diego's Mexican Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

New find

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Always looking for something new to try, we passed by Diego's recently and decided to make a reservation for later in the evening. Diego's has an interesting design asthetic, not too bold, but distinct. The food was great: lots of flavor while being a bit more bold with the heat than the typical Mexican joint. Portions were perfect and the drinks were less expensive than most places. Will definitely visit again!"
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Diego's Mexican Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Mexican Food and Great Prices

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was awesome and a great value, especially frozen margi's. Location and ambiance is excellent. Staff was friendly and did not rush us to leave."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Diego's Mexican Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great food and service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Its not usually very crowded and good for big group. It was one of the few Mexican places in the area who accepted reservation on a weekend. Overall a very nice experience for us."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Diego's Mexican Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good service, bland food.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The waiter was nice and funny. I had the fish tacos which had some sort of slaw on top of it and over cooked fish. The guacamole was very plain, it lacked lemon, salt and pepper. The drinks were just eh, i ordered an appletini and got a cosmo."
Dined on 1/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Diego's Mexican Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good Mexican Food

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Overall, the ambiance, food, and service was good. The menu has plenty to offer for Lunch and Dinner. I ordered the avocado and chicken plate which was good. The only thing I would suggest is variety in terms of spices and seasonings. Even though the menu kinda read as authentic Mexican cuisine, I wish their were more of a infusion of pineapple exotic palette. But that is just my opinion. A good spot to go to."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Diego's Mexican Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Perfect pre theater find!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Great margarita menu. Excellent guacamole. Good solid food reasonable New York City prices. Timely service, not rushed, even when part of the party was 45 minutes late due to traffic! Will return."
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Diego's Mexican Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent food, excellent service, good prices.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Stumbled on Diego's last minute. Glad we found it. Food was terrific, service was great and prices were right. If you're looking for a fancy, romantic spot this probably isn't it. If you're looking for great food in a clean, casual environment then I woild highly recommend it. This is definitely a spot we will visit again."
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Diego's Mexican Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food, but drinks were lacking

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had a great meal with a group of six on Saturday night. It's sometimes tough to get a table for that many people on short notice, but I've almost always had luck snagging a last minute table at Diegos. The chips, salsa and guac were amazing and the rest of the food was solid. However, many of my friends drinks were wayyy too sweet to the point of being undrinkable. I think they were too heavy handed with the sour mix, because I had a skinny margarita and it was fine. We told our server about the drinks, they offered us a drink menu to order something else but didn't take the bad drinks off the check, which would have been a nice gesture."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Diego's Mexican Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great cozy place!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2012
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were a last min reservation for 11 people. They were extremely accomodating and welcoming! Food was good not best I ever had. Ambiance was warm and cozy on a rainy night. Would have been nice to have Mexican music to add to ambiance! They were playing Top 40 :("
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Diego's Mexican Grill
Based on the average of (21) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
17 out of 18 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
3.1 / 3
Energetic