Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Carmine's Italian - Pasadena Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Carmine's Italian - Pasadena

Carmine's Italian is set in a comfortable, romantic atmosphere with the bustle of a New York City trattoria. Our cuisine is a fresh, contemporary take on robust old world Italian dishes from the central and southern regions of Italy. Our dishes compliment our boutique wine & beer selections, as well as our one of a kind cocktails.
45 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(45 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
5 stars
(12)
4 stars
(15)
3 stars
(12)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(1)
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(22)
  • neighborhood gem(19)
  • kid-friendly(16)
  • fit for foodies(12)
  • special occasion(8)
  • great for outdoor dining(7)
Carmine's Italian - Pasadena Reviews List
Review 1 for Carmine's Italian - Pasadena
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nice family restaurant.

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/23/2015
 2009
Dined on 9/23/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This place is always a solid choice. Nothing fancy, but always reliable."
Dined on 9/23/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Carmine's Italian - Pasadena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2011
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Everything was good, the waitress was wonderful. the person backing her up was not friendly. We enjoyed the evening."
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Carmine's Italian - Pasadena
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Carmine's Italian - Pasadena
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Carmine's Italian - Pasadena
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The experience I had last night was great. My girlfriend and I enjoyed the delicious food. The garlic bread was amazing!!! We went here to celebrate my girlfriend new job.."
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Carmine's Italian - Pasadena
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Carmine's Italian - Pasadena
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Very old establishment with low quality ambience.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was average and the service was poor. Looks like a neighborhood restaurant with a lot of locals."
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Carmine's Italian - Pasadena
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/02/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Carmine's Italian - Pasadena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent itAlian

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2004
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2004
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Carmine's Italian - Pasadena
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/23/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Carmine's Italian - Pasadena
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Off night?

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2005
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We've been to carmines quite a few times and always had prompt friendly service and great food its what keeps us coming back. Sunday evening was just a little off from a service perspective which was unfortunate because we were a party of 6 with 2 people who had never been there. The food was still good and it appeared to be just our table as another party came and went in the time it took for us to be served. We asked for bread 5 times, never got our water refilled and would have ordered dessert but couldn't seem to find our waiter. Glad there is a Baskin Robbins across the street so we could celebrate a birthday. We'll definitely be back but will ask for a different section if we get the same waiter
:-(
"
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Carmine's Italian - Pasadena
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delish Italian Food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was delicious - flavorful and large portions. (We brought own wine so did not look at wine list). Staff friendly and helpful."
Dined on 6/17/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Carmine's Italian - Pasadena
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

More than decent

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Had not gone in months and decided to give it another go. Good energetic service. Better than average. Brand and oil were never empty either.
Our group had from Pizza to Linguini and Clams - all good sized portions, decent tasting, pretty good.
Free piece of cheesecake since they made an error on the pizza - that was nice!"
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Carmine's Italian - Pasadena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2007
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great service and huge portions. If you're hungry and in the mood for Italian, this is your spot!"
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Carmine's Italian - Pasadena
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

My partner's Birthday party.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This was not our first time at Carmines, but our first time with a large group. We had a reservation for 7:30 PM , and most of our guest arrived by that time. The staff had our tables all set up and ready to go for our party of 12 on our arrival. We started out with several appetizers, which arrived fairly quickly, along with their special garlic cheese bread. We also brought along four bottles of wine. Their corkage fee was a little steep at $10 a bottle. You would think they would charge maybe at the most for two bottles , or drop the fee in half, but we were charged ten dollars on all four. All 12 of us seem to order a different entrée. The entrees like the appetizers came out fairly quickly. Everything was going great till our guest starting to eat there meals. I heard sever guest mention there meals were to salty. One guest mentioned the sauce on her dish tasted just like the marinara sauce that came with the garlic bread. When everyone was finished , we then had cake to celebrate my partner's birthday which we had brought in like the wine. Normally for a birthday like this, we divide the check up everyone paying for the person celebrating their birthday. But with many of the guest disappointed with their meals, I decided to pay the bill myself. But our waitress was amazing, so not all bad."
Dined on 5/06/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Carmine's Italian - Pasadena
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Carmine's Italian - Pasadena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Carmine's Italian - Pasadena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place for any occasion!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We've been here twice this month and have enjoyed it each time. We were blown away by how good the clams and pancetta appetizer is..a meal in itself! Service is great and although we haven't been to the bar area, it looked like a swanky place to have a drink or two at."
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Carmine's Italian - Pasadena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

First time

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It was our first time at this great restaurant, food was amazing! Portion sizes are big and the taste is out is this world."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Carmine's Italian - Pasadena
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The lasagna was really good and the free bread is amazing! The only ok dish was the appetizer. The calamari wasn't anything special and I wouldn't get it again. But other than that, the bread and salad was great and so were the main dishes. By the time we got the main dishes though, we were pretty full off the bread the salad so we took home most of the main course and had plenty of leftovers."
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Carmine's Italian - Pasadena
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Busy!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was good, but on a Saturday large groups and families dominated the restaurant making our dinner quite loud and extremely slow.
We got seated very slowly due to some mix up with the front desk not checking us in for our reservation and then claiming we were too late after we had been waiting and wondering for fifteen minutes how long it would take to be seated. That was fine, but our meal took forever to be delivered with many apologies to us. I'm not sure we would try this again on a weekend."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Carmine's Italian - Pasadena
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food, okay service, big portions.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The big portions come with a downfall of not being able to split your food. Gumbi is a must. Big eaters. Gumbo is highly recommended. Chicken Alfredo is sort of small. Bland taste. Bread is to filling.
Overall 8/10
"
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Carmine's Italian - Pasadena
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Needs a menu makeover, but has potential

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Carmine's is a neighborhood gem, I will give it that. However, the food is pretty low quality and the menu probably has not been refreshed in 25 years. The portions are huge, iso f you are the Hometown Buffet type of client, you may like this place. I would prefer super fresh, high-quality, moderately portioned fare. I will say the red sauce is really good. The bread rolls, which are basically the first things which hit the table and set the expectations for the rest of the meal, were heavy, thick and bland. The restaurant should put more care into the bread, even using a high-hydration, long-rise process would probably do the trick. Overall, very mediocre."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Carmine's Italian - Pasadena
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Too Noisy!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was fine. The server was attentive. It took quite a while to get our food, though. Our reservation was at 6:00, but we didn't get our food until 7:30. The big problem was the noise. A large group (an office party?) was beside us, screaming, laughing, and shouting the entire time. They should have had a separate room. Parking was an issue too; we had to park near OSH. I wouldn't go to Carmine's again unless I had to."
Dined on 12/09/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Carmine's Italian - Pasadena
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good pre-theater for Noise Within

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Our waiter was a little slammed, but the staff (including the manager) worked well together. The food was good, perfect for dinner with the 8 and 10 year old nieces before heading off to A Noise Within to see A Christmas Carol."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Carmine's Italian - Pasadena
Based on the average of (20) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
16 out of 18 recommend this product
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic