Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

East by NorthEast Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

East by NorthEast

Overlooking scenic Fort Pond, East by Northeast is among the most beautiful restaurants on the east end. Serving the freshest Montauk seafood and shellfish, locally grown produce, serious steaks and Long Island and new world wines. The menu is a culinary journey from the Northeast to the Far East. Panoramic sunsets over Fort Pond, a stone wine room, and a comfortable and extremely popular bar and lounge make East by Northeast the perfect choice for a group celebration or an intimate dinner for two. Live music every weekend.
25 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
(25 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
(8)
4 stars
(11)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(0)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • scenic view(15)
  • romantic(11)
  • vibrant bar scene(10)
  • special occasion(9)
  • fit for foodies(8)
  • neighborhood gem(8)
East by NorthEast Reviews List
Review 1 for East by NorthEast
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Grab a window early to watch the sunsets!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"In Montauk for weekend blizzard in the dead of winter. Not too many places are open dead of winter, this one was still full.
Food didn't live up to the hype for me, but the unexpected beautiful view of the sunset over th lake made up for it."
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for East by NorthEast
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

An experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"That's what my husband said: that place was an experience. We loved our waitress- perfectly attentive. And the sushi was AWESOME. I ordered a main course of Pork Ramen, which I would NOT recommend. It was a huge bowl, over spiced, and just ok tho not bad. My hubby got some lamb ribs which were great.
We sat and watched the sunset over Fort Pond, a lovely experience. It got a bit crowded as the evening wore on- Friday in the winter. There was a GREAT guitar player who serenaded us in just a wonderful way to eat by- and I am picky about music.
"
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for East by NorthEast
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Highly recommend by locals in Montauk
Good food, very pleasant waiters, drink anything other than wine. Hostesses attitude bad
"
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for East by NorthEast
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Came here for Valentine's Day dinner. Atmosphere and service was terrific but was disappointed with the food. I have been here before and it was great. I understand they changed chefs....too bad because I really like the restaurant. Hope they get their act together again."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for East by NorthEast
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great sushi

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went here for Valentine's Day. Great sushi, margaritas, and the duck tacos are excellent. Would go back with a big group"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for East by NorthEast
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good....

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2006
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My overall experience was very good. The food was very good! the service was just ok...it was not kid friendly at all. Nothing for our kids to really order so that was a problem. Also...after we got home we realized that the bill was very high and that we thing the waitress might have put the tip on without telling us...we were a party of seven."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for East by NorthEast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent Food & Atmosphere

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2008
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My wife and I had a wonderful dinner Saturday night at ENE, as we call it here in Montauk. The food is excellent as well as the atmosphere and the service. The hand made Sushi Rolls are delicious as are many items on the menu. The 1/2 price apps small plates and drinks from 5 to 7 are a real bargain. Ofcorse Matt at the bar is the best!"
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for East by NorthEast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Winter Getaway Surprise

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"It's great that East by NorthEast stays open in the cold weather. The restaurant was crowded on a Sunday night at the end of December. I expect there were a lot of local people who come here all the time in the off season.
The food was terrific as was the service. There were numerous things on the menu that I would like to try in the future."
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for East by NorthEast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Highly recommend!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We tried this restaurant on a recommendation from friends and were not disappointed. The menu was a little unusual but we tried some things a little out of our comfort zone and were pleasantly surprised! The Caswells sushi was amazing-- and we are not really into sushi but this was delicious! My husband had the Lancaster chicken which comes in a huge bowl with moderately spicy sauce and ramen noodles, topped with a fried egg which, we were told after the fact, you should mix in with the noodles, sauce, etc. Very tasty!!
We were there after dark but had driven by during the day and you could tell that the views were beautiful.
It was very cold when we were there and the only complaint would be that when the heat cycled off it and even though I was wearing a thick sweater I was very chilly. But when the heat came on again it was very comfortable.
Good coffee- even the decaf-- and yummy dessert (chocolate brownie).
The servers were attentive without being annoying, and very friendly and helpful!
We would definitely go back!
"
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2014
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for East by NorthEast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Asian Fusion Food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2008
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Emphasis on seafood but also good for beef, chicken, and vegetarian entrees. Unusual appetizers and interesting speciality drinks. Wonderful views - overlooks Fort Pond."
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2008
Special Features: romantic, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for East by NorthEast
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"as usual the food was excellent, as was the service, n the view is unbeatable.. why not 5stars .. well (are u listening mr erb).. no bread... they don't serve bread... hard to believe a sister place of the harvest serves no bread... I had to fill up sat nite with bread when we dined at the harvest.. another gem... but IMO ENE beats it..
no disappointments
"
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for East by NorthEast
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Other choice beckon

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We read in the local newspaper that ENE had a new chef and we were excited to try it. We ordered our drinks when our waitress arrived and then waited forever for them to be served even though they weren't that busy. We started with their signature appetizer, the duck tacos, along with a brussel sprout salad. The tacos were topped with a layer of bitter kale, and were good once the kale was scraped off. The salad was bitter and unedible, and we sent this back and ordered edamame instead. No luck there, as they were covered in a layer of oil...
For entrees I ordered a sushi selection and my wife ordered the tile fish over noodles. My wife's entree arrived promptly, but no sign of my sushi. They took her's back to keep it warm, while we waited 15 minutes for my sushi. Finally, my sushi arrived, and five minutes later, my wife's tile fish arrived. Both were OK, even though the tile fish and noodles had no real taste.
There are many other choices in the area....most better than ENE."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for East by NorthEast
Based on the average of (13) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
10 out of 11 recommend this product
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic