Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Sole Reviews List

Sole

Sole Restaurant in Oceanside is the supreme Long Island dining experience. It is the perfect gathering place for friends, family, or clients - everyone who appreciates great food. It has been ZAGAT Rated as one of the Best Italian Restaurants on Long Island since the doors opened in September of 2000.

Owned by Chef Robert "Bobby" Carmosino, every meal at Sole is prepared with the finest quality foods, cooked to perfection and served by the friendly, knowledgeable staff. The full and extensive menu, aside from the signature daily house specialties of three oven roasted fish, succulent duck, and baby pork osso bucco, is rich in antipasti, unique salads, seafood specialties, mouth-watering meats, and delicious desserts. Chef Carmosino believes that good food equals good times. And a good time is guaranteed every time you dine at Sole.

The cozy, friendly atmosphere is inviting and just one bite will convince you that the food is clearly the best food under the sun.
See more Sole details
114 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
(114 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 114 reviews
5 stars
(61)
4 stars
(50)
3 stars
(3)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(82)
  • fit for foodies(50)
  • good for groups(42)
  • special occasion(34)
  • romantic(13)
  • notable wine list(10)
Sole Reviews List
Review 1 for Sole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Sole' Restaurant in Oceanside, NY

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 5/01/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We made reservations for 5 pm and arrived right on time and were quickly seated in a lovely and cozy spot. Our waiter arrived and was very friendly and helpful. He answered any questions we had about the menu and took our orders when we were ready. My husband, my son and I all chose the same dinner, Eggplant Parmesan, which came with linguini with tomato sauce and a salad. The bread on the table was delicious and was quickly refilled when we finished most of it--delicious. My husband said the salad was the best he ever had and we all finished every bite. The eggplant was delicious as was the linguini. The portion was large and we still had to make room for dessert, which was included in the dinner special. Again, we all chose the same dessert, which was a kind of a chocolate custard with whipped cream and strawberries, very attractively served. It was so delicious and a perfect dessert because it was nice and light. We also had coffee and tea. My family and I had a wonderful evening at Sole' and will definitely dine there again. The price of the meal was very reasonable. I would definitely recommend Sole' as a good choice for a night out."
Dined on 5/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sole
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 5/01/2016
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"A member of our group is gluten intolerant. She complained of cramps during the night following our meal. My suspicion is that the pasta was not gluten free as requested."
Dined on 5/01/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sole
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2012
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Sole was everything we expected and more

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/26/2016
 2009
Dined on 4/26/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"From entering the restaurant to leaving, Sole was wonderful!! Service was impeccable!! The suggestions our Server made were really appreciated and right on!!! I asked for actual basil to be added to the fusion style Caprese salad because it comes with basil oil and I LOVE Basil and they happily obliged!!! It was a treat for the eyes as well as the tastebuds!! The rest of the meal was equally as good.
The manager came by and gave us a coupon for our next visit, which we will surely use!!
It was a perfect for my birthday!!
"
Dined on 4/26/2016
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Couldn't find better dining in Manhatten!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We've come to look forward to our birthday dinners for the ladies! The wait staff is always attentive and on top of things. The food never disapoints and there are always lovely specials too! On our most recent visit they had an eggplant parmesan spring roll that was absolutely heavenly! It's a blessing to have a local place to go and feast!
Thanks to Sole for being incredible!
"
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sole
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sole
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/14/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/14/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/14/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sole
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/10/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great local restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Sole has a wonderful menu that should satisfy even a picky eater. A nice blend of traditional Italian food with a modern flair. Love the meatball menu, especially the "eggplant meatballs.""
Dined on 4/10/2016
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sole
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Would never order the special

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/06/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/06/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The portions for the special that night (swordfish) was very small My two friends ordered it the vegetables with the dish were extremely small in comparision to my Veal Ch0p"
Dined on 4/06/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/31/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/31/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/31/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 3/10/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/05/2016
 2009
Dined on 3/05/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/05/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Never had a bad meal here ever. Your fish specials are excellent"
Dined on 3/02/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 2/28/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sole
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/28/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/28/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 2/28/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sole
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2013
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sole
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Excellent food -

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/23/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/23/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a tasty, original and well done meal. We had the Tempura shrimp with guacamole and corn which was very light and delicate. We also ordered an Rustico salad, Chicken Scarpariello, Linguini Clams and Shrimp, and Nana's Ragu - All were superbly done. I would return to try more dishes. Service was well-timed and friendly, wines were affordable. Overall a great restaurant I also like that they have a separate bar area. The one down side is the decor it is a bit worn out looking. The place could use a makeover and refresh on the interior design side. Otherwise I thought this place hit it out of the park."
Dined on 2/23/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Sole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Sole
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Sole never disappoints!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We always enjoy Sole. It's a little on the pricier side but the food really never disappoint's so it's worth it. Even our kids love to eat there. They are 11 and 9 years old and love the kids menu, which is not your typical 'chicken fingers and french fry' sort. I've been going for years and usually pick one of their fish dishes which are excellent but this time around I was hungry(!) and went for the Veal Sole. Holy cow I can't believe I never ordered this before. It was so good.
Anyway, the best part was the service. Our waiter, Adam was outstanding. Attentive, polite, and helpful! He really made the meal enjoyable and provided grounds for a great lesson for our kids in what hard work and caring about your job looks like.
All told if you haven't tried Sole and you're in the area you should give it a go. You won't be disappointed."
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Sole
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2013
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Sole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

MANHATTAN EXPERIENCE CLOSE TO HOME

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/11/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/11/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"The bruchettas were to die for!! My main dish was Nana's home made meatballs and it delivered!! My date had the chicken ravioli and she loved it. Desserts were excellent as well, a bit small for my taste but delish!"
Dined on 2/11/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Sole
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/10/2016
 2010
Dined on 2/10/2016
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/10/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Sole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Could lower the lights a bit

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Sole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Cute little spot

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The spot is somewhat small. However, don't let that deter you. Food is awesome. There isn't a super big selection, but I guess they are going for quality over quantity. We had a 20% coupon. I think they give you one each time you dine to hook you to come back. The broccoli rabe spring rolls are awesome as well as the regular broccoli rabe"
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Sole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Sole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/17/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Sole
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2002
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Sole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Sole is wonderful. I've been there numerous times and it's consistently terrific."
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Sole
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Consistent but seems to have changed

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Overall very good and would recommend.
I have not been here in about 2 years but what I remember the selection of food was better.
Lots if not all the chicken dishes (except Parmesan) were on the bone. Menu seemed a little more limited. May have been me not sure.
"
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Sole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/13/2016
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Sole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Sole
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

NYE--Tradition

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"For The 3rd Or 4th Year In a Row This Was Our N Y E Choice.
Always Has Been A Good Meal .
"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Sole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Sole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Local Italian Restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"The menu is fantastic and the food is great. The salads are wonderful and I highly recommend the Rustica salad. The salads are so big they can be split between two people. The entrees are extensive. The traditional Chicken Parmigiana is terrific and very big. I highly recommend Nana's Ragu which is pasta with meatballs and sweet and spicy sausages. The desserts are great and the price is reasonable. I guarantee you will leave full and satisfied. The gluten free menu is also great."
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Sole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2008
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Sole
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Sole
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/15/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Sole
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2006
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Sole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Great food & service at an affordable price! Very relaxed atmosphere."
Dined on 12/15/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Sole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Sole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

DELECTABLE!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We used to live nearby and would dine there as often as we could, either as a couple or with kids and grandchildren. On our recent visit back to New York, we made a point of re-visiting Sole and, as always, not a single bite there ever, ever, disappoints. We are fairly fussy, but are always delighted with whatever is on our plates. The chef is a genius! The only problem is deciding what to choose because you know it will be fantastic.
This is not to say that the place has no problems. They will not seat you until everyone in your party has arrived, and since traffic and parking is always an issue there, it could be aggravating to mill around the tiny vestibule with limited seating while you wait for the others. The space is very jammed and navigating your way to and from your table is sort of a circus act. The service can be spotty - depending on your luck; who your server is matters as some are great and some should be looking for other work. Also, since our regular visits before we moved two years ago, the nibblers offered while you wait had greatly diminished. No more bread sticks no more spreads, only one kind of rolls. It certainly can't be for the sake of economy; the place is always packed to the rafters (although, in all fairness, the prices have not gone up in all this time). Also, this is not the place for social interaction. Sardines have more elbow room, everyone is trying to hear everyone, so you should leave chatting for before or after. Ah..., but when the food arrives, all is forgiven; you use your mouth only to enjoy it.
"
Dined on 8/27/2015
 2010
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Sole
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Sole
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Really good!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had an opentable certificate to use and chose Sole since we live in Long Beach. The food was really good. We had the salmon with crab risotto which was excellent, the chicken parm which was one of the best we had had, not dry at all, and the Nana's Ragu - the sausage and meatballs were great as was the marinara sauce. Wine list is really good and the service was perfect. We will be back for sure!"
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Sole
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Service was a bit slow, food was good, meal small

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/24/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/24/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Sole
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food as always

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/25/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Moved out the area many years ago and when I return to visit this is a must stop. The mussels appetizer was out of this world"
Dined on 11/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Sole
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/25/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Sole
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/22/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>