Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Alex Italian Restaurant Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Alex Italian Restaurant

THE RESTAURANT
Alex Italian Restaurant owned and operated by sommelier Alessia and Alessandro Sbrendola offers first class, Italian cuisine and service in an intimate sophisticated settings. Opened in 2011 and located in Rutherford in the heart of the Napa Valley, the restaurant features a creative and contemporary cuisine. Alex Italian Restaurant received the Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator 2012. Alex Italian restaurant which take its name for the Americanized versions of the owners names, feature a top notch wine list that in its over 100 pages includes extraordinary wine makers from both old and new world.
31 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(31 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
5 stars
(17)
4 stars
(9)
3 stars
(2)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • romantic(18)
  • fit for foodies(17)
  • notable wine list(16)
  • special occasion(15)
  • neighborhood gem(13)
  • good for groups(6)
Alex Italian Restaurant Reviews List
Review 1 for Alex Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food and service were outstanding the best Italian restaurant in the area"
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alex Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/15/2015
 2012
Dined on 3/15/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/15/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alex Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Check to see if still open

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"During our lunch, we found that the inn next door has closed and the restaurant may also close."
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alex Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent place to relax and visit. Excellent!!!!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Portions are perfect size, food is fresh, desert was excellent. What a great place to relax after a day of wine tasting. Staff was extremely tentive, but you still felt as though it was just you and your loved one! Very charming and warm."
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alex Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

I love the relaxed feel of this place –

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I love the relaxed feel of this place – I definitely would return. One of my favorites."
Dined on 3/22/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alex Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had a great lunch at Alex. The food, ambiance and service were fantastic. Enjoyed visiting with Alex and our wait person. Can't say enough about our experience."
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alex Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2009
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was good although the entrees were small. The service was slow that evening almost like they were missing servers. Nice facility, good food but competing against very good restaurants in the area. Too many good choices to consider first."
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alex Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best kept Italian secret in Napa Valley

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Alessandro and Alessia Sbrendola are the Italian husband & wife owners of Alex (hey, an Italian restaurant owned by people from Italy! Imagine!) It is probably the best kept secret for Italian food in the area. Alessandro is a master sommelier and his wine knowledge, wine list, and pairings are awesome. And he transfers that sense of taste and moment to his restaurant. Although chefs have come and gone over the years, they both do a terrific job in maintaining their view on what Italian food should be. If you want lasagna, spaghetti, etc, you should go elsewhere. But if you want the best ingredients, clean and distinct rustic profiles that go beyond American Italian cliches, and great wine, then you should give Alex a try.
We're locals, and we've eaten at all the NV Italian restaurants many times, and Alex is still our favorite. It's a small, family owned restaurant. They do their best to keep up, but a small, family restaurant isn't going to work at the clock-like precision of the many tourist factory restaurants here. Sometimes they fall behind. But it's great for a quiet dinner where you just want to talk and eat in peace rather than see and be seen (and pick Alex's master sommelier brain on what you should be drinking.)"
Dined on 2/26/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alex Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Hidden Gem

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2009
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I have to start off by saying that the 4 of us sharing dessert exclaimed that it was the best we'd ever had. We ordered the shortbread custard tart that had to be ordered up to 30 min prior to serving.
The night prior we had been to a very well known restaurant in the area, and although it was very good, we prefered Alex's. The ambiance was elegant without all the bustling. Alex visited each table which added an extra old world charm. And by the way the food was excellent.o
"
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alex Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent courses served at a relaxed pace.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We really were very impressed with the overall quality of the courses. Fresh salad with just the right amount of dressing, wonderful but not-too-heavy pasta and main course. The custard dessert that has to be ordered in advance shouldn't be missed. It was amazing!
Would really like to see more wines by the glass offered. Wines are a bit pricey.
"
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alex Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Absolutely fantastic

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This is Napa's Hidden gem,
If you appreciate a great Italian meal
With excellent service ! Alex's Will not disappoint you at all.
"
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alex Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Arrived for Valentines night dinner, found out only beer and wine is served. Shocker for any world class restaurant. When asked where I could buy a bottle of Bourbon nobody had a clue...40 mins later I had a bottle and then the real issues begin. .fixed menu and at least 40 mins between courses...some sort of kitchen issue. . I guess....really delayed delivery between courses. ... staff and management totally overwhelmed....kind of unimpressed with everything, coming from the land of quality food."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Alex Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A hidden gem off the beaten path

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food is beautifully prepared and presented. The wine pairing is perfection. The dining room is cozy and romantic, or sit on the lovely shaded patio. We've been many times and always have had a wonderful meal attended to with care by the proprietors, Alex and Alessia, who obviously love what they do and want to share their love of good food and wine."
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Alex Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Outstanding experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2013
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Outstanding food and atmosphere. There were seven in our group and everyone loved the experience and meal."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Alex Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best Italian restaurant in central Napa Valley.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Try the wild boar w/polenta appetizer. It is heaven in a bowl.
Pork chop was prepared perfectly
"
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Alex Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Undiscovered Gem

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"To our pleasant surprise, this fabulous restaurant in located in the Rancho Caymus Inn property where we had the pleasure of staying. The Tuscan style menu was delicious as the owners are from that region.
We particularly enjoyed the boar with polenta appetizer and the melt in your mouth Italian style steak and it's wonderful sides. Our waitress was one of the owners so the service was very personal and informative. We highly recommend it!!"
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Alex Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Unique Italian Tasting

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Came here again with friends. The menu is not extensive, but it is interesting and unique. This night, the crowd favorite was the cocoa pasta. Perfectly made and the right portion for this rich dish. The other winner was the special desert. Baked fresh for the table. Crust was light and flaky...but very rich with the custard. Only downside is the service is spotty...not sure if they have a specific serving protocol."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2002
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Alex Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We brought friends who had never been to Alex. I have never heard so many raves from them at one meal! Everything was wonderful - the food, the service, and the ambience. The pastas are to die-for. As usual, our gracious host, Alex himself, personally checked on us throughout the meal. It was truly a wonderful experience."
Dined on 1/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Alex Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not my wheelhouse

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/22/2014
 2009
Dined on 11/22/2014
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I know this restaurant gets great reviews, but I was disappointed in the amount in the servings, and the price for these small amounts was out of line in my opinion.
The nmsic system was dreadful - an old boom box, I think - playing a dreadful hodgepodge of someone's very eclectic choices, from old rock to country to whatever. Not cool!
I would not return to this restaurant,nor can I recommend it."
Dined on 11/22/2014
 2009
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Alex Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Simply the best!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"What can you say when everything is perfect. Alex and Alessia are the perfect hosts, the food is prepared perfectly, the wine list is superb featuring both American (mostly California), Italian, and other European houses. Alex's knowledge of wine and food is encyclopedic and he is always accommodating. The main dining area is beautiful but try to eat on the patio. Always a treat to eat at Alex Italian restaurant."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Alex Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

EXCELLENT

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Spend an very enjoyable early Christmas Eve dinner at Alex's. Staff and service was very congenial.
The groper was stylish and very tasty. Soup and salad was just right for my husband. The torta di Nona was a real hit.
Will defintely come back and bring my "foodie" daughter when she is in town."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2013
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Alex Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Lovely dining

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"this was the first time we had eaten at this restaurant. It was a wonderful dining experience and we will be back again. Food is very rich but delicious with complex flavors."
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Alex Italian Restaurant
Based on the average of (9) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
5 out of 6 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic