Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Sorrel Urban Bistro Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Sorrel Urban Bistro

Born out of a vision to bring affordable farm-to-table dining to Houston, restaurateur Ray Salti created Sorrel Urban Bistro, a casually elegant and fresh design, featuring an ever-changing blackboard menu of organic, locally-grown cuisine. Sorrel represents Ray Salti's second fine-dining culinary endeavor in addition to Ray’s Grill, the highly-lauded farm-to-table concept in Fulshear, TX, 20 miles West of Houston.

In addition to a diverse menu selection featuring local organic produce, meat, sustainable fish, and wild game, Sorrel now offers a charcuterie bar with a wide variety of imported and housemade delicatessen along with artisan Texas cheeses, handcrafted breads and more.

Beverage service includes seasonally inspired cocktails, artisanal beers and diverse selection of 200 plus wines (25 percent organic.)

At Sorrel, it's about enjoying a unique culinary experience.
19 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
(19 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
(11)
4 stars
(5)
3 stars
(2)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
3.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(14)
  • neighborhood gem(10)
  • great for brunch(8)
  • great for lunch(7)
  • notable wine list(7)
  • good for groups(6)
Sorrel Urban Bistro Reviews List
Review 1 for Sorrel Urban Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

So sorry to see it go

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Hope they open again soon. I'll keep my fingers crossed!"
Dined on 12/03/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sorrel Urban Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2006
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was wonderful as usual. The service was absolutely perfect. We are so going to miss Sorrel. We are in hopes that it will have a new life in a few months, because losing Sorrel is a loss to the Houston dining scene."
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sorrel Urban Bistro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Very disappointed

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"When you go to a place with a menu and prices like that you expect stellar food. As someone who regularly eats well I was sorely disappointed. It's no wonder the place is shutting down"
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sorrel Urban Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Sorrel Christmas Eve Dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The Christmas Eve dinner was outstanding. I had scallops as a starter: two huge scallops that were perfectly seared with a complimentary relish. As a main course, I had leg of lamb with cucumber relish; the flavors were excellent, but the lamb was less tender than I would have liked. For dessert, I had pistachio crème brulee, just the right amount of sweetness to finish the meal, and a good cappuccino. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for an ordinary lunch or a special occasion."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sorrel Urban Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

I can see why they are closing

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Went for a Christmas celebration with friends Tuesday. Service was ok, but not what I'd expect for a restaurant at this level. The restaurant itself is beautiful, and I love the dim lighting. We ordered several appetizers, including the much touted Lamb Pops. The arugula salad, hummus plate, and soups were plentiful, but the Lamb Pops were so tiny that I sent it back. They did give us another one, but it wasn't much bigger. Two little bitty--you can't even call them pops--on a plate which were one bite each for $14. Total turn off regardless of anything else."
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sorrel Urban Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/17/2014
 2006
Dined on 12/17/2014
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food at this special customer appreciation event was fabulous. We will really miss Sorrel. I hope they reconsider and re-open in another location."
Dined on 12/17/2014
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sorrel Urban Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Brunch!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Went for the Sunday Brunch, started with the lamb lollipops and the brussels sprouts, both I would get again. The mains were outstanding, in particular their take on the biscuits and gravy. Will go again for sure!"
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sorrel Urban Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

So sad, too bad

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2011
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We are sorry to see Sorrel close its doors at the end of this year. All was as it was in our earlier visits since Sorrel opened. You could tell the end was near as neither my wife's favorite vodka and my favorite gin were available. The substitutes were good, just not what we wanted. We will miss this palace and await what happens next."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sorrel Urban Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

IT WILL BE GONE TOO SOON

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"SINCE DISCOVERING SORREL, IT HAS BECOME ONE OF OUR FAVORITE RESTAURANTS - FOR ANY OCCASION. WE ARE SO SAD TO LEARN THAT THEY WILL BE CLOSING DOWN AT THE END OF THIS YEAR. HOPE TO GET BACK A COUPLE OF MORE TIMES IN DECEMBER."
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sorrel Urban Bistro
Based on the average of (10) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
9 out of 10 recommend this product
Food 
4.8 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.8 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
3.4 / 3
Energetic