Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

The Bird & The Bear Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

The Bird & The Bear

Known by generations for her hospitality, proprietress Elouise Adams Jones, a.k.a. Ouisie, serves an eclectic collection of Southern & Mediterranean foods with an excellent wine list to match. The Bird & The Bear gives Ouisie’s much-appreciated eclectic tendencies even more freedom. It is a little more casual than her San Felipe restaurant, Ouisie's Table, with lots of Southern flair and no shortage of surprises - in both menu and decor.
104 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
(104 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 104 reviews
5 stars
(35)
4 stars
(27)
3 stars
(19)
2 stars
(11)
1 star
(12)
Food 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(30)
  • good for groups(28)
  • great for brunch(28)
  • special occasion(22)
  • neighborhood gem(20)
  • great for lunch(19)
The Bird & The Bear Reviews List
Review 1 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/29/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2007
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2007
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"What a terrible place. It seams that no one knows what they are doing"
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 8/10/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/03/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2008
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2008
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2014
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2012
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Brunch

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The service was relatively slow, but our waiter was very nice when we would come to our table. We went for restaurant week and at first they messed up the menus, so we couldn't order what we had originally wanted. Once the food came, it was really good. However, it was a little too pricey for the quality in my opinion."
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2009
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Bummer bird and bear!

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"There was no one here which should have been a clue, the decor was confusing, and the music was loud club like music. Then the food was HORRIBLE! My fish was mushy and tasted like pancake syrup was the sauce!! And my husbands green beans and new potatoes tasted like gas. Bad!! I was surprised because the sister restaurant Ouisies is fabulous! This place will go our of business at this rate!!"
Dined on 7/28/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice quiet lunch spot

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Enjoyed a nice lunch here the other day. The menu had changed somewhat since my last visit and I did miss some of the items that had previously been offered. I had the soup, tomato basil sandwich and chicken salad plate. The sandwich was a bit sub-par having been made with what seemed to be a leftover hamburger bun and little tomato and basil. Gumbo and chicken salad were great."
Dined on 7/27/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Enjoyable, delicious food, but a long wait.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Three of us had an enjoyable visit over our delicious meals. The décor was very nice and the low noise level made conversation easy. The biggest negative was it took a very long time to prepare the food."
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2010
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 7/16/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Lovely spot for Lunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food and service were great. It was very quiet and a great place to have a business conversation over delicious food."
Dined on 7/14/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dead Night

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2006
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went on a Tuesday evening the place was very quiet.
Nice people would go back
"
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2013
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2013
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2013
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I truly enjoy this place. The food is great. You can tell that they put a lot of thought into the food selections. I have been here several times and had nothing but great experiences. The menu changes frequently so you can walk in and be surprised sometimes so that's great! Service is great and the drink menu is plentiful as well."
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/14/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2005
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

First time was a winner!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Chef has his act together......Perfectly prepared dishes. Salad cold, as it should be, delicious main dishes. Loved the Beef Tenderloin and Trout dinners. Crab cake appetizer undersized, but well prepared and tasty. Dessert menu is ordinary."
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/19/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/19/2015
 2014
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/19/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Brunch!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2011
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Can't believe I waited so long to dine! Amazing brunch and still can't stop talking about the wonderful menu selections. There is truly something for everyone. The staff is friendly and helped in choosing a dish."
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/09/2014
 2014
Dined on 8/09/2014
 2014
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/09/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Highly recommend this restaurant!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Very nice restaurant! Food was excellent & very attentive service."
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Place for Brunch!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I had a wonderful Birthday Brunch with my girlfriends! Food was Great and our waiter was attentive and pleasant!"
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

not good

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"They were not prepared for as many customers as they had that day and it showed in every way."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great for Groups!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I had a birthday brunch here. They were very accommodating for a large party. They had a perfect table ready for us. The food is delicious. Bottomless mimosas as well on the weekends, which is a steal. The servers were all very polite. It was an excellent experience."
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/27/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/27/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/27/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2008
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2008
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2012
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We enjoyed this establishment for a bridal luncheon. We had a large party and the restaurant took good care of us. I had the cheese omelet with fruit and a Bellini. Everything was delicious. The decor in the restaurant is also very chic. It was a nice place for lunch. I'd return again if I was in the area."
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

I should have read the reviews...

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"While I'm up for trying l new places I really should have read the reviews first on this place. It was my birthday dinner and it was kind of ruined. I ordered a gumbo to start and when I got it, the rice in the soup was not cooked. It was crunchy. They offered to bring my another one but that one was cold in the middle.
Next I ordered a pork medallions dish. First, the food tasted like it was made yesterday and heated up in the microwave. Second, the pear glaze was smothered over the pork you could on taste a pear jam like substance. The meat was tough, the potatoes were pretty much stale our old. I couldn't eat it at all.
Concerning the rest of my party: one's lobster ravioli was frozen on the inside and changed shape when it came back from the kitchen, another's risotto was extra cheesy, and another's pasta was very undercooked and crunchy. The only good thing I had was the wine. Fit as pricey the food was we really did expect better.
They should focus less on food here and become a wine bar. Overall, not a good experience and I won't be going back."
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2010
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

The service is great, they have major problems

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The quality control is very poor. This is the fourth time I have gone there for Sunday Brunch. The first time they served me eggs that the whites were liquid water and had not been cooked, I returned it only to have it come back overcooked.
This time I ordered the dates which are usually wonderful. They came out cold and I sent them back. I was with someone and we both had taken a bite out of one. They brought them back to us after microwaving them until they were hard, and served us the same two dates, but we didn't know which one either of us had bitten out of. They were rock hard, I called the waiter back and ask him if he would like to try to bite into one. He declined, after seeing I couldn't even put a knife into it. We ask for the eggs to be over medium, stating not hard, white done, yellow runny. The eggs came out the yellow was completely cooked hard, no runnniness at all. I guess by that time the cook was trying to make a point. This is a manager not paying attention, the quality control here is very poor, and Ouises should be notified that their sister restaraunt is handing out food in this manner. The manager before offered to give me a free brunch and I declined, I told him I wasn't trying to get something free, I just wanted a decent breakfast. So two our four times, it was a bad situation. I will be following up with a letter to the owner. I love the food there, and the easiness of brunch, but this is more than irritating.
They are having problenms."
Dined on 4/12/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A Pleasant Evening

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We enjoyed the entire experience, such a pretty dining room and a polite, knowledgeable server. Food was served attractively and arrived hot which is a nice change from some other restaurants. Everyone had something different and the real winners were the tenderloin and the pan fried grouper. Only small complaint was the margarita two of us thought was overly sweet. We chose a lemon meringue tart to share for dessert. It was super good! Everyone enjoyed our evening out!"
Dined on 4/09/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Easter Brunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were delighted with Easter brunch at The Bird & the Bear. The food was top notch. Everyone tried something different and all were pleased, which is not often accomplished. Even though it was a busy holiday our meal arrived in a timely fashion and all was as ordered. It was a very pleasant experience all around. The Bird & the Bear is highly recommended!!"
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Loved Ouisie's table so much a couple weeks ago, decided to try Bird & Bear. The place was empty at dinner time - ours was the only table on a Thursday at 6:30. The food was a good price. The Bacon/date appetizer was great. The flat bread and relish were also great. The duck tasted like ti was steamed to warm it up. The Ribeye chicken fried steak was thin, small and mediocre. Just not a place that I would run back to."
Dined on 3/26/2015
 2013
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

This time was excellent. The food was wonderful

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I had had a bad experience once before and I decided to give them a second chance. I went in anomously and got excellent food and service."
Dined on 3/22/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Lovely brunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great food and service, attentive but not intrusive wait staff. Bottomless mimosas and bacon wrapped dates were the highlights."
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for The Bird & The Bear
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Suprisingly bad food and service from a Ousie rest

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2011
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2011
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food and service were terrible. They had no idea whose omelette belonged to whom after they had reheat all if them. The presentation was aweful and there was no compensation on the bill for the troubles. I will never go back"
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>