Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute Reviews List

Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute

The Parrot Cage Restaurant is a creation and operation of the highly acclaimed Washburne Culinary Institute, one of the nation’s best and oldest cooking schools.The elegantly appointed gourmet dining restaurant features an American Cuisine at affordable prices. It has received the industry's prestigious Zagat rating of "excellent or better" for three consecutive years and, its Sunday brunch has twice received the OpenTable Diners Top Choice award!

The Parrot Cage Restaurant is located in the South Shore Cultural Center -- a Chicago historic landmark and architectural treasure. It is positioned between Lake Michigan’s picturesque beach front and the lush greenery of the South Shore golf course.

Please note: the price for the Sunday Brunch is $25.00.
See more Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute details
27 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(27 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
5 stars
(9)
4 stars
(9)
3 stars
(5)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(1)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for brunch(15)
  • neighborhood gem(15)
  • scenic view(15)
  • special occasion(9)
  • good for groups(8)
  • fit for foodies(5)
Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute Reviews List
Review 1 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 5/01/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 5/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

1funspot

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"This restaurant is in a very picturesque setting. The South Shore Cultural Center is a lovely spot and has been beautifully restored by the Park District. The food is provided by the Washburn Culinary School. The service was impeccable. The food was good."
Dined on 5/01/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2007
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2007
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

I have always loved Parrot Cage !

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food is 5-star quality every time!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Delightful setting, looking out over golf course to the waterfront on Lake Michigan. An oasis in an otherwise congested part of Chicago. Food is incredible--top quality and appealing presentation. Service is good. That this is a student run enterprise makes the experience even more special! One day this fabulous chefs will graduate and you'll be paying triple to enjoy their culinary creations! Go now!"
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good food but no customers due to the no alcohol.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2010
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/03/2016
 2009
Dined on 4/03/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/03/2016
 2009
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dining Room

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The door leading into the kitchen was in the dining room utilized on Easter day. As more and more people arrived and workers kept going in and out of the kitchen the dining room became very warm. People were using makeshift fans, myself included to cool themselves.
'That is my only negative The FOOD and SERVICE were great. I am looking forward to my next visit for Sunday brunch."
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fine dining at a very reasobable price

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2008
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"The quality of the food, its presentation and the often unique selection makes this place a true 'find'. There is no better place at these prices in all of Chicago. Its 5 star eating at a 2 star cost. Ever since I seen this place on Check Please a few years back, this has become my favorite 'go to' destination when I want something good to eat. AND, it's all for a good cause. If you haven't been here, you need to give it a try."
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2008
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Parrott Cage

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/20/2016
 2012
Dined on 3/20/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Excellent food preparation and presentation--all by students! Warm hospitality and comfortable seating with stunning lake front views. I have enjoyed dinner several times as well as brunch. I recommend this for a casual get-together or special occasion."
Dined on 3/20/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/13/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food, magnificent view!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"My friend had never been there before so I thought she might like it. We had a very good time and the food was very good. My friend is a vegetarian and was able to eat quite well because of the variety. I've been there several times before and will certainly return."
Dined on 3/06/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

It was ok

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2016
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Pros
- Was able to make an online reservation
-Arrived early and was able to be seated
-Server was courteous
-The bread, lemonade and blackened catfish were good
-The roasted tomatoes could have been served as a side on the menu, they were very good
Cons
-Doesn't serve alchohol/that should have been highlighted when making the reservation
- The room was chilly
- The host wasn't friendly
-Our server forgot the soup I ordered which meant he either didn't write it down or forgot to submit it
-The kale salad was awful-check out Bandera's kale salad for inspiration- Its delicious
-The chicken chili was good but a little salty, but worth ordering
-The blackened catfish didn't really look or taste blackened but was good still
-When the server seen that I hadn't eaten the salad, instead of inquiring if I was dissatisfied and offer to bring me something else, he just ignored it. But still added it when the check arrived which then was requested to be removed.
The service was slow as well. We spent a lot of time just waiting
Overall, I would only return here if I was attending an event here and didn't want to leave to go elsewhere."
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Magnificent views, great food, a “hidden gem.”

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Our favorite special occasion spot

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"The Parrot Cage has become our favorite special occasion restaurant. It's convenient for us South Siders and we're always happy to support Washburne Institute. Thank you for an excellent level of service and culinary delights."
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2016
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/18/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

No Communication, No Service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My party and I never made it to the Parrot Cage restaurant because the restaurant never returned my calls regarding my reservation. I had a reservation for Sunday brunch, for which I had some simple questions. I called several times during business hours over the course of several days, leaving messages asking to be contacted. But nobody ever picked up the phone; and nobody ever returned my calls and messages. So I figured, if the communication is this bad in just making a reservation, what must the service be like at the restaurant? Needless to say, my party and I decided not to visit the Parrot Cage."
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Love the setting

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2005
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2005
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The setting in the old South Shore Country Club is remarkable. The service was good, if a bit slow when we split the check. The food was so-so, with good variety,but with waffles that were floppy and not firm, and rather tasteless sausage and bacon.
We ate dinner at the Parrot Cage several years ago, and it was better."
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

a neighborhood gem

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The parrot cage is an absolute gem in South Shore. Set in the South shore Cultural center right on the lakefront, it is quite lovely. The food was awesome. We have eaten here in the past and it has always been good. However, we had no idea that the kitchen closed so early. On a Saturday night we were informed at about 8 p.m. that the kitchen was closing soon and we should get our dessert order in. This was quite a disappointment as we had not even arrived until 7:15. If we come again, I guess we will have to make an earlier reservation."
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

very disappointed !!!

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I have dined at the Parrot Cage many time before throughout the years. I was extremely disappointed with my last visit. I made the reservations online and at that time I checked the menu which was to my liking, Upon arrival I was informed that they has a pre fixe menu which was not to my liking, this should have been on their website. Also one of the main reason for choosing the Parrot Cage was that we thought we would be able to dine outside (there is a great view that overlooks the lake) outside dining was not available . This visit I was just disappointed all the way around which is unfortunate because it was a good local spot with good ambiance . Please get it together Washburn!!!!"
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/26/2015
 2014
Dined on 7/26/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/26/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food and good environment.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Enjoyed the food and service here. It was a nice environment as well."
Dined on 10/31/2012
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.