Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute Reviews List

Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute

The Parrot Cage Restaurant is a creation and operation of the highly acclaimed Washburne Culinary Institute, one of the nation’s best and oldest cooking schools.The elegantly appointed gourmet dining restaurant features an American Cuisine at affordable prices. It has received the industry's prestigious Zagat rating of "excellent or better" for three consecutive years and, its Sunday brunch has twice received the OpenTable Diners Top Choice award!

The Parrot Cage Restaurant is located in the South Shore Cultural Center -- a Chicago historic landmark and architectural treasure. It is positioned between Lake Michigan’s picturesque beach front and the lush greenery of the South Shore golf course.

Please note: the price for the Sunday Brunch is $25.00.
See more Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute details
10 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.1 / 5
(Very Good) 3.1 / 5
(10 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
(1)
4 stars
(3)
3 stars
(3)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(1)
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3.2 / 5
(Very Good) 3.2 / 5
Ambiance 
2.7 / 5
(Good) 2.7 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(5)
  • great for brunch(3)
  • scenic view(3)
  • fit for foodies(2)
  • great for outdoor dining(2)
Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute Reviews List
Review 1 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2016
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/18/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

No Communication, No Service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My party and I never made it to the Parrot Cage restaurant because the restaurant never returned my calls regarding my reservation. I had a reservation for Sunday brunch, for which I had some simple questions. I called several times during business hours over the course of several days, leaving messages asking to be contacted. But nobody ever picked up the phone; and nobody ever returned my calls and messages. So I figured, if the communication is this bad in just making a reservation, what must the service be like at the restaurant? Needless to say, my party and I decided not to visit the Parrot Cage."
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Love the setting

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2005
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2005
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The setting in the old South Shore Country Club is remarkable. The service was good, if a bit slow when we split the check. The food was so-so, with good variety,but with waffles that were floppy and not firm, and rather tasteless sausage and bacon.
We ate dinner at the Parrot Cage several years ago, and it was better."
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

a neighborhood gem

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The parrot cage is an absolute gem in South Shore. Set in the South shore Cultural center right on the lakefront, it is quite lovely. The food was awesome. We have eaten here in the past and it has always been good. However, we had no idea that the kitchen closed so early. On a Saturday night we were informed at about 8 p.m. that the kitchen was closing soon and we should get our dessert order in. This was quite a disappointment as we had not even arrived until 7:15. If we come again, I guess we will have to make an earlier reservation."
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

very disappointed !!!

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I have dined at the Parrot Cage many time before throughout the years. I was extremely disappointed with my last visit. I made the reservations online and at that time I checked the menu which was to my liking, Upon arrival I was informed that they has a pre fixe menu which was not to my liking, this should have been on their website. Also one of the main reason for choosing the Parrot Cage was that we thought we would be able to dine outside (there is a great view that overlooks the lake) outside dining was not available . This visit I was just disappointed all the way around which is unfortunate because it was a good local spot with good ambiance . Please get it together Washburn!!!!"
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/26/2015
 2014
Dined on 7/26/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/26/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food and good environment.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Enjoyed the food and service here. It was a nice environment as well."
Dined on 10/31/2012
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Parrot Cage - Washburne Culinary Institute
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.