Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

the Cardinal Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

the Cardinal

Southern Cuisine with BBQ
34 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
(34 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
5 stars
(9)
4 stars
(12)
3 stars
(2)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(7)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
2.8 / 5
(Good) 2.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.9 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for brunch(12)
  • fit for foodies(9)
  • good for groups(9)
  • neighborhood gem(9)
  • hot spot(3)
  • romantic(3)
the Cardinal Reviews List
Review 1 for the Cardinal
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/08/2014
 2014
Dined on 2/08/2014
 2014
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The service was terrible and they served the wrong food. When asked if it could be changed they were rude."
Dined on 2/08/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for the Cardinal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/07/2014
 2013
Dined on 3/07/2014
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/07/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for the Cardinal
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I remember when the Cardinal was amazing. The hipsters running it were friendly and pleasant and the food was incredible. Now the food is sometimes hot and sometimes cold, and the service is atrocious.
DO NOT take your mother here Mother's Day! You will be very disappointed."
Dined on 5/18/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for the Cardinal
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

ran out of everything.

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2008
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"they ran out of half the menu by the time we arrived. then they ran out of vodka because they 'dropped and broke the one bottle of vodka' they had."
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for the Cardinal
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Lost our orders & didn't comp anything!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I've always had good experiences at the Cardinal... The food is awesome and it's great for group brunches. But this time my table waited for an hour and a half for our food - we watched another table get seated and pay their bill before we even got served! Our waitress was MIA, and eventually came by to tell us there was a glitch in their system and they lost our order. You'd think that they'd at least comp us something but instead they charged us for an extra Bloody Mary that we didn't even order!"
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for the Cardinal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice Surprise

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The Cardinal is understated with a simple menu and great food and service, and yes, $5 for unlimited mimosas. Not very large, there is seating downstairs but a party was going on. We had an 1130 rez and the place filled up quickly. Very nice staff stays busy keeping up. Decent music and with the conversation it seems like a party going on for brunch. The food was delicious with good portion sizes. Bottom line is we were glad we went and we will be back."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for the Cardinal
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Confusing set up

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We made a reservation at the Cardinal and when we showed up they acted like they had never heard of reservations ever. Everyone else waiting was just standing around and when we finally found someone to ask about our reservation she just kind of shrugged and said "okay just a minute" and we never heard from her again.
Does this restaurant take reservations or not? I am very confused. She was extremely unhelpful.
The ambience seemed great and food looked delicious, so I don't want to give a bad review overall. Just the hostess/reservation experience was so poor that we didn't get to enjoy the rest."
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2014
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for the Cardinal
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Good food, poor service

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2004
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2004
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"When we got there, they had our reservation but told us they had no table for us. We had to sit at the bar to eat. The food was good but this frustration colored the entire meal. We were also made to feel they were doing us a favor by letting us sit at the bar. They ran out of clean glasses in the restaurant and served us our cocktails in coffee mugs. Great menu - they need to get their act together."
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2004
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for the Cardinal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great brunch - service could improve

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The fried chicken and biscuit dish, toad in the hole and french toast were out of this world. Extra $5 gets you unlimited mimosas. Service could improve but it's not terrible. Worth checking out."
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for the Cardinal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Authentic Southern cooking

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Large portions, reasonable prices, and delicious authentic southern recipes without the "fancifying" most NYC southern restaurants succumb to."
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for the Cardinal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Monster brunch

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2010
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Took a bit to get seated but bartender was cool and agreed to a round of brunch cocktails @ the bar. Food came out slow, thankfully was phenomenal totally worth a wait.
Fried chicken & bisquits were a highlight if you are looking to be knocked out for a few hours following -- gravy super rich. Few of us got the toad in a hole which was slammin, really unique egg dish made w challah. All large portions. Bacon and sausage on point. Bloodies were great in mason jars. Mimosas for 5 bucks all you can drink.. Can't beat that.
Will be coming back for brunch again."
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for the Cardinal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food is fantastic if you enjoy down-home Southern!"
Dined on 12/18/2014
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for the Cardinal
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Dine at your own risk

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Made a reservation for 2 people at 1pm on a Sunday. Checked in at 12:55 and hostess said to let her know when my friend arrived. He arrived a few minutes later and she said to wait a moment. She then proceeded to seat 2 couples who arrived after us.
We reminded her we were waiting and she offered us the table right next to the front door (it was a cold day) and where everyone was waiting. We asked if we could sit downstairs which was pretty wide open. She got annoyed and said "fine, let me clean a table". She went downstairs and came back up a few minutes later and grabbed the next 2 people who walked in after us and sat them. When she came back up we reminded her we had been waiting and she replied she thought the people she just gave our table to were us. She then said the only option was the table by the door and the crowd so we took it at that point since we were waiting 15 minutes.
The food was very good but the overall service was terrible. I also saw the hostess yell at another table. Everyone working there seemed to be in a bad mood. Maybe they were understaffed? The hostess was also the lone waitress, there was one bartender who was also refilling drinks and one guy busing food.
Take your chances!"
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2014
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for the Cardinal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Amazing fried chicken!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Great food and just what I came for on my birthday for a big brunch with my friends. Asked for the $15 unlimited bloody marys that are on all the menus/reviews etc and was told that they were low on vodka so they werent doing it. Not sure why no one could go get vodka? Or how a restaurant runs out during brunch on a weekend anyway? Not impressed by that or the unapologetic attitude about the situation but great food as always"
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for the Cardinal
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Great food, terrible service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This weekend, I made a reservation for a party of 10 for brunch. I've been here several times and have always had fantastic service, so I was excited to bring my friends here for the first time. However, we couldn't have had a worse experience. We had to wait almost an hour to be seated-- yes, you read that right. The staff was extremely unsympathetic to this, even though I had made a reservation several days in advance and told them we were on a tight timeline. The food was amazing, as always, but I really doubt any of my friends or I will be back because of how rude the staff was to us."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for the Cardinal
Based on the average of (19) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
6 out of 9 recommend this product
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.9 / 3
Energetic