Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

8 Block Kitchen & Bar Reviews List

8 Block Kitchen & Bar

8 Block Kitchen & Bar pays homage to the eight blocks that comprise Upper Bourbon Street in the French Quarter, one of the city’s most iconic and historic attractions known for local culture and classic cuisine.Serving breakfast and lunch this restaurant offers a menu of local, seasonally inspired dishes that fuses traditional New Orleans style with international flair Chef Eric Damidot has acquired throughout his career. Diners are invited to start their day with delectable warm dishes from the breakfast buffet or sample the a la carte menu, which features Fried Oyster Eggs Benedict and classic New Orleans Beignets. Lunch specialties include New Orleans staples such as Garlic and Pepper Crusted Gulf Shrimp, Grilled Cajun Black Drum Fish and the city’s famed Muffaletta sandwich. Additionally, 8 Block Kitchen & Bar offers tantalizing beverages, including hand-squeezed lemonades, crafted iced teas, fresh juices and vintage-inspired cocktails to complement every meal.
See more 8 Block Kitchen & Bar details
23 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
(23 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
(6)
4 stars
(9)
3 stars
(2)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
3.1 / 5
(Very Good) 3.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for brunch(10)
  • good for groups(7)
  • great for lunch(6)
  • kid-friendly(5)
  • fit for foodies(1)
  • romantic(1)
8 Block Kitchen & Bar Reviews List
Review 1 for 8 Block Kitchen & Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Terrible service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We had breakfast with clients here 2 mornings in a row, and had made reservations for both days in advance. The first day they acted surprised that we actually had a reservation and said they would try to fit us in. They continued to seat other guests. After we were seated it took 20 minutes to get our hot tea. We never got the water we ordered until the end of our meal. Good thing it was a breakfast buffet or we would have never gotten out of there! Seriously, for only having to take beverage orders and deliver them, they were terrible. If we weren't staying there for a conference we wouldn't have gone back the 2nd day, but it was pre-set and convenient for everyone as they were also staying at the hotel. The food was good, but wayyy overpriced. $22.95 for a breakfast buffet or $17.95 for continental - ridiculous!"
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 8 Block Kitchen & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2012
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 8 Block Kitchen & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

brunch session

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"As a place to eat brunch the options were excellent the food choices were outstanding and service was great"
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2016
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 8 Block Kitchen & Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Service is non existent. Slow responses. Food quality is average at best."
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 8 Block Kitchen & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 8 Block Kitchen & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 8 Block Kitchen & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/17/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 8 Block Kitchen & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Unique menu and very helpful staff"
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 8 Block Kitchen & Bar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

No Thanks!

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went to the buffet as a quick and easy option before a Saints game. The buffet was out of more than half of its food. We never once had our water glasses filled throughout the entire meal. And to end the experience, our credit card was swiped for someone else's bill. This isn't a restaurant I would ever need to go back to."
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 8 Block Kitchen & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

NFL Game Day Brunch

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2008
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Stopped by for a pre game brunch
Good food great selection and reasonable prices
Plus its right next to the Superdome
Would go again
"
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 8 Block Kitchen & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Ambiance for Buffet

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Enjoyable atmosphere with a variety of buffet selections. It has a warm restaurant feel that also allows you to order a calorie friendly entree if you don't want the buffet. Highly recommended."
Dined on 10/26/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 8 Block Kitchen & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Went before a Saints Game

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great Brunch spot to meet up with friends for a Saints game. They offer bottomless mimosas and bloody mary's. The food is served buffet style which is great because you don't have to wait for service. Some of our group chose to drink and not eat or vice versa which worked out well and we could all hang out together at the same table. It was a quick walk to the dome for game time! Who Dat!"
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 8 Block Kitchen & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 8 Block Kitchen & Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

waited in line for no reasons , service poor ,

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2014
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2014
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"waited in line for no reasons , food was cold , service not existing , I am a local , will not comeback ,"
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 8 Block Kitchen & Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 8 Block Kitchen & Bar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2004
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2004
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 8 Block Kitchen & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Breakfast

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"As usual, the breakfast buffet was very good. Nice variety, and everything seemed fresh enough. The only minor issue was that the eggs were a little overcooked. The service was good as well, between the two servers that kept our table clear, brought beverages frequently, etc. And we were particularly impressed when my wife asked for a cafe au lait, and the server not being sure if they could make one asked the manager and he came by and insisted that he run next door to the coffee shop to get her one. Everyone was friendly, the restaurant is clean, roomy, and well illuminated with all the natural light."
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 8 Block Kitchen & Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Service? what service earned 18%?

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were a party of 11--yes I know most places charge a required 18% on large parties...but, we were served (can you call it that?)at two tables of 6 by two different waiters. All they did was pour coffee and bring water and juice--and we thought he would never come by with coffee--we finally asked someone else...then he showed up. When I booked on OT, perhaps I didn't read it well enough. I was not aware it was a buffet only--a nice buffet, but we would have preferred to order (or maybe not with the crummy service). It was early--they were not slammed--9 AM on Sunday morning. If you were staying in the hotel, it would be a nice enough breakfast...for us, just looking for a way to fit in one more meal before our group left town for their respective homes, it was a major and expensive disappointment."
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for 8 Block Kitchen & Bar
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product
Food 
4.7 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.7 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
2.7 / 3
Energetic