Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Alstarz Bar & Grill Reviews List

Alstarz Bar & Grill

Alstarz Bar & Grill is an upscale restaurant bar & grill designed to tingle your palate with an abundant selection of appetizing cuisine and appeases your athletic spirit with televised broadcasts of all your favorite sporting events. Alstarz is New Jersey's most unique sports venue with 24 flat screen TVs throughout – even in the bathrooms! There is one 6'x8' front-projected screen and another 6'x4' rear-projected screen in the sky box. Our outside patio seats 125 guests and its 35 seat bar is unlike any other: 3 flat screen TVs, a fire pit, heaters and ceiling fans. Smoking is permitted on the patio. Private dining is available for up to 250 people and we can reserve private areas or entire rooms to accommodate parties and banquets.
See more Alstarz Bar & Grill details
18 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
(18 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
(2)
4 stars
(6)
3 stars
(8)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(0)
Food 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Service 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Ambiance 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(8)
  • great for lunch(5)
  • vibrant bar scene(5)
  • great for brunch(3)
  • hot spot(3)
  • kid-friendly(3)
Alstarz Bar & Grill Reviews List
Review 1 for Alstarz Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Enjoyable Evening

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Went for New Years Eve dinner with friends. Not much of a crowd at all, we weren't too pleased where they sat us (far corner in the back) especially with hardly anyone in the place. Made it a little difficult to see the bowl games on the TV's. Really just had a few apps, salads, and burgers. Food and drinks were good, service was friendly. Would definately go back again but think I enjoy the place more for sporting events at the bar with the guys then a dinner out with the ladies."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Alstarz Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/04/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Alstarz Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Thanksgiving Buffet

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The eggs and pancakes were cold. The turkey was covered in a light colored gravy that is not my favorite. there wasn't a good choice of vegetables and the stuffing didn't taste good. They cleared the dessert area before we got a chance to have anything, and we weren't asked if we wanted any coffee. Not a good experience.."
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Alstarz Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2012
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Alstarz Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Alstarz Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/21/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Alstarz Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2011
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Alstarz Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Just okay.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food is average. The service, ok. There is nothing special about this place. The location is convenient. I'd go back again but nothing to rush back for."
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Alstarz Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/30/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Alstarz Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Alstarz Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice execution of a classic sports bar

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The restaurant scene between Princeton, West Windsor, Hightstown, East Windsor and vicinity is a bit frustrating after a while. Lots of Chinese restaurants and pizza shops. A handful of Indian restaurants. Too much fast food. A couple of the currently trendy more expensive chains, like Seasons 52, have opened recently, and there are a handful of higher end solo restaurants around Princeton itself. It got to the point where our family was finding the choices a bit tedious, and have taken to visiting one of the half dozen diners in the area, so we'd at least have choices that could meet the diverse interests of family members. Eventually, though, diners get to be pretty mediocre and tedious as well.
We remembered Alstarz being not too far off, jumped on Open Table, and snagged a reservation at the last minute. As expected from a Sports Bar on a Friday night, it was loud. But we were seated immediately. The service was excellent, everything clean and in good condition, and the menu offered some nice variety for a change.
Drinks were very good - good choice of beers, and we sampled a few of their special martinis - also good. Buffalo wings offered good variety, and the sauces were tasty (we tried a few). The wings themselves were a mixed lot: some very good, some overdone and a bit dry. The nachos with chicken were pretty good -- not the very best I've had, but enjoyable: good solid (and fresh) corn chips, a mix with black beans, minced onion, salsa and fresh cilantro (nice!). The chicken was a bit limited - minced a bit too small - I prefer slightly bigger chunks of grilled chicken when it's on nachos like this. Happily, they used good real cheese melted onto the nachos instead of liquid (uck), so this was a nice touch.
The dumplings appetizer was good. Portabello burger was quite tasty, and the appetizer assortment dish was good -- although the wings on the plate were a bit limited as I noted above.
All in all - we enjoyed the place, and will be back."
Dined on 6/19/2015
 2014
Special Features: hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Alstarz Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Chosen dishes were worth money spent and service was great."
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Alstarz Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a special occasion brunch."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for brunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Alstarz Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

not worth it

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2013
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Was here some years ago and decided to go back only because they were offered on opentable.com and I was writing right past it. I figured maybe they had gotten better so I would give them another chance.
I was only craving a turkey burger and the menu for the sandwiches and the burgers look very very appetizing so I was anxious. I ordered the black and blue turkey burger on a brioche bun with waffle fries. My friend had a grilled veggie sandwich with coleslaw and a side of cream of broccoli soup which was very good. When my fries came out they were warm so I had to ask for new ones. When the new ones came out they were hot but extra greasy. The Burger came with lettuce tomato and red onion which was a little scarce . The burger patty seem to be frozen or bought from somewhere else and not made on location. The burger itself was okay but like I said it could have been better. I also ordered a purple poncho Margarita which tasted more like kool-aid instead of an alcoholic drink. Moral of the story, I don't think it was worth the money that we spent and probably will not be going back unless I have some type of special coupon on top of being able to use open table.
"
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Alstarz Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Brunch was delicious, service was great

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This brunch is a good value. The pierogis, omelettes and french toast were especially tasty. Dishes were removed and drinks refilled promptly. I would like to see them offer more vegetable options."
Dined on 1/04/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Alstarz Bar & Grill
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
3 / 3
Energetic