Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

The Curious Grape Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

The Curious Grape

The destination spot in Shirlington for those with a passion for food and wine, the Curious Grape offers a contemporary seasonal menu of American fare with locally sourced ingredients. Enjoy either full or half portions of selected menu items as well as over 400 wines and 100 craft beers from our store.
109 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(109 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 109 reviews
5 stars
(46)
4 stars
(44)
3 stars
(13)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(72)
  • notable wine list(68)
  • neighborhood gem(49)
  • special occasion(34)
  • good for groups(29)
  • romantic(26)
The Curious Grape Reviews List
Review 1 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Top Choice in Shirlington

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The Curious Grape has become our go-to restaurant in Shirlington: a great combination of food and portion size options; wine selections and, again, portion sizes - half glass, glass, half bottle, bottle; and service."
Dined on 3/26/2015
 2004
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A very positive experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went Monday night, and the place was moderately busy. The Curious Grape also doubles as a wine store, so it lacks a little ambience. Food was very well prepared, and the service was very attentive. I had the brussel sprout appetizer and scallop entrée; my friend had the turnip appetizer and lamb chops. All were very well prepared. They had a daily special--buy a bottle of wine and pay just the store retail price and not any restaurant mark-up, which is a great deal. Interesting wine list. Overall, a very positive experience, and I would go again."
Dined on 3/23/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for lunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Always a great experience. Food is excellent, service is always top notch. Fun place to have dinner. Also, have a nice wine selection...and a great selection of chocolate to end the evening!"
Dined on 3/23/2015
 2005
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

First time - probably won't go back

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Had heard good things so decided to try it. This is just my opinion..every body has an opinion.
The food was okay. Pretty extensive wine list. We ordered a glass of wine, it was bad, had to send it back, server appeared to be either new or just unaware. Said he would take it off the bill, but when we got the bill it was on there. A pretty cool layout, not very intimate. Very open. Pretty pricey for what the portions. Probably won't go back.
"
Dined on 10/10/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great date night spot

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Took the lady out for dinner on a Friday night, the restaurant atmosphere was great and the food came out elegantly displayed."
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We had a very nice dinner and will come back

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My wife and I had dinner here a couple of weeks ago and everything was superb. We started with some proseco and appetizers-the mussels and root vegetable soup. Next we had Duck and a fish called Arctic char, and they were both very delicious. We split a chocalate cake for dessert which was very good. Service was attentive and friendly. We'll be back!"
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Lovely pre Signature dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My sister and I had a lovely time at THe Curious Grape. Food was yummy, service excellent, and wine list extensive."
Dined on 3/12/2015
 2006
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

One of the best in Arlington

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Understated but the food is excellent, as our the wine selections."
Dined on 2/26/2015
 2004
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A great Saturday evening!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"A movie and dinner in shirlington --- that's a great Saturday evening. Especially when dinner is at Curious Grape. You can't go wrong with anything on this menu. I love the spinach salad and followed with the lamb chops --- outstanding! My husband had the eggplant parmigiana followed by the scallops, also outstanding. We were too full for anyhting else but got a great bottle of wine to take home. This place is the best!"
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

good but disappointed ...

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2005
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2005
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My favorite brunch dish is the lavender french toast (although I can never taste any lavender) or at least it used to be. Apparently they have a new chef and he changed it. OK get it but I was disappointed and won't be ordering again."
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2005
Special Features: great for brunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great food, average service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was delicious and the menu options were varietal. The challenge for this place is the service. I made a reservation (although upon arrival realized I really didn't need one) and when I arrived, my party and I stood at the front door for about 5 minutes before anyone - even the barista behind the coffee bar just 5 feet away - acknowledged us. Finally an older gentleman came up to us, grabbed a few menus and after shuffling through them for several minutes, finally sat us. From entry to being sat, my party and I stood in the doorway for over 10 minutes (and the place was not crowded). We received water immediately but did not have a server stop by to take a drink order or deliver bread for over 10 minutes (again, it was not a busy night).Once we received our first round of drinks and breaf was finally delivered, the service began to improve.
About half way through our meal, the same gentleman who sat us stopped by the table to ask how everything was, which was a nice touch.
Overall, the Curious Grape is an interesting place. Part wine bar, part coffee bar, part wine shop and part restaurant, the setting and ambiance are a bit confusing. I will dine there again and will recommend it to friends, but with a cautionary note."
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Awesome brunch

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2007
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I went here with my friend for brunch, and it did not disappoint. The food was amazing, and it was refreshing to have spring peas as a side with my eggs benedict, rather than some greasy potatoes. (If I was hungover, however, I might have been singing a different tune...)
It'd be great for a date too. it's cozy, and has a great wine list.
"
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for brunch, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The dinner here is always delicious and they have a great selection of wines. The seasonal salads are some of the best I've had in the DC region."
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great accommodations for food allergies.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This is one of our favorite restaurants. It is hard to dine out because of the many food allergies in my family. The food is carefully prepared and delicious."
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

kcindc

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was our third visit to The Curious Grape and I was a tad nervous reading they had a new chef. Fear not!! If anything, the food is more vibrant and interesting than before. We began with the best grilled octopus we have ever had--how do they get it so tender? My husband had perfectly grilled lamb chops--the smaller order was plenty for him. I had the potato-wrapped Arctic char and it was juicy and flavorfull. The wine list is always interesting and the back room inviting and warm on a frigid night. We'll be back!"
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food excellent, all else needs improvement

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"All at our table agreed, the food at the Curious Grape was excellent! High praise for the kitchen!
Less so the atmosphere - lighting a bit too bright, music somewhat too loud. Still, that would be worth overlooking for the quality of the food. We did encounter numerous substitutions to the menu, some of which ran out, requiring further substitutions by the time we were placing orders and orders for espresso were taken only to find there was no espresso on hand. Even this might be overlooked to enjoy another delicious meal; however, when the bus person stood at the end of the table, collecting the plates of three in our party of six, scraping and stacking dishes and gathering silverware into a noisy pile, a line was crossed. There was nothing subtle, elegant, professional, or even polite about it. This kind of service is unacceptable at any establishment that advertises "dining" rather than a neon-blinking "diner." It is most unfortunate that all aspects of our Curious Grape experience were not equal to the high culinary standards of the kitchen.
"
Dined on 2/22/2015
 2014
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

The magic is gone

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was our go-to brunch spot. Unfortunately, we have had two awful brunches in a row. The first time the owner felt so awful that we'd had to pay at all that she gave us a gift certificate. Yesterday we learned that they have a new chef (or rather lost their old one who was truly exceptional). I am not one to send food back, but I have now done so here twice. Yesterday my polenta was cold and rubbery and the normally beautiful eggs on top were cooked differently (one poached soft the other hard...not even sure how this happens). Likewise, the omelette and curry chicken sandwich had clearly been sitting in the kitchen a long time, as they were cold as well. We had children with us and they were served first (which is normally great), but our food didn't come out for 40+ minutes after they had already finished. Sadly, that will be our last trip to a once favorite local brunch spot."
Dined on 2/22/2015
 2010
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Every meal is a sensory experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We go here often and they never fail to deliver. The food is perfectly assembled with seasonal specialties in mouthwatering combinations, small portions allow you to experiment and the wine pairings are exquisite. We've gotten to know the proprietors and wait staff and they truly enjoy delivering a quality dinig experience."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

always a wow

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We tried the Valentines fixed menu. As good as expected. we always have something that leaves us speechless. It's all about their food. That said, chocolate chess pie was a little disappointing. a rare comment for anything I've ev had at CG."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful pairing menu

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"For Valentine's day dinner, we had the pre-theater menu with wine pairings. There were multiple choices for each course (unusual) so we got different things with different wines and shared. Everything was great and service was impeccable."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Sneaky good

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We have dined here before, and have always enjoyed the meals. But this latest experience took it to a different level. The food and wine pairings were great. Always trust Ralph (waiter) and his recs. He won't steer you wrong. Great portions and incredible medley of favors for the price point. Def one that's in the rotation now."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Brussels Sprout, More Please

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went for brunch his past Sunday. Tried one of each mimosas but like the original one the best. Adam was our server and he was helpful suggesting and explaining the dishes. Split the brussels sprouts with my friend. The half portion was just enough. The dish had 2 different sauces on the bottom of the plate, neither was overpowering but just the right amount of flavor. The dish was cooked to perfection and not oversalted which is my complaint with a lot of vegetables. Can't wait to order it again next time. My main dish was the large portion of the spinach and pear salad. It was flavorful but had just a little too much dressing. Liked sitting at a window table. Can't believe there weren't more tables filled as compared to some chain restaurants nearby, maybe the word hasn't gotten out yet but The Curious Grape is a hidden gem."
Dined on 1/25/2015
 2006
Special Features: great for brunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Consistently high quality experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We have been to the Curious Grape multiple times and they never disappoint and continually surprise us. The roasted brussel sprouts were fantastic and I don't even pretend to like them.
The wines are great and they do a wonderful job of recommending pairings."
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Better the second time around!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Are here when they first opened and was disappointed. Not this time!! Fabulous experience. Wine list extraordinary. Seasonal cheese plate amazing. Entree of sablefish was creatively prepared and tasty. We will return."
Dined on 1/19/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place to dine

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"From the cheese plate to dessert, this is a great place. Enjoy your dining mates, the beer and wine plus the food."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great neighborhood wine bar

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I'm really excited to have tried Curious Grape. I usually stop by the store section of the restaurant to purchase a bottle of wine, cheese or create my own six pack of craft beers.
The food is very fancy and I like the menu is not over extensive but well selected and in line with the season. The bar seemed like a great spot for a girls' wine night out, and I'm looking forward to trying out the happy hour there. I rated 4 out of 5 stars on the ambience just because it is an open setting. If you're dining, you can see the store part, etc. It's not your typical "restaurant" set up. Overall, I would recommend this place.
"
Dined on 1/15/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

An evening at Curious Grape

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I found the menu to offer unique selections and enjoyed the idea that a few entrees were also priced as appetizers. Every menu selection is paired with a type of wine. For an appetizer I selected petite pan-fried Brussels spouts, since my first choice, cauliflower grits, was unavailable. For the main course I ordered the salmon and chose a pinot noir, which also was paired with the Brussels spouts. Wine by the glass is available by 3 oz. or 6 oz. For dessert I decided to try the apple-cranberry cake with a glass of sauterne. Dessert wines are available by 2 oz. or 4 oz. The meal was satisfying and the value was decent. I am likely to return to taste other selections."
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A Local Surprise

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This was certainly a hidden gem, tucked around the corner from the quaint town of Shirlington, VA. Having eaten at most of the places in Shirlington, I was surprised when my friend asked to go to dinner at the Curious Grape in Shirlington--when I thought I knew all the local bars and restaurants in the neighborhood.
The restaurant was amazing. It had a small seasonal menu--which I prefer--and the staff was highly knowledgeable about wine, food and everything in-between. Our server, Andy, was very helpful and very friendly.
I ordered an appetizer of Roasted Brussels Sprouts, which were amazing. The focaccia that they brought to the table was very good. The olive oil they provided for the focaccia was incredible. I had to ask someone about it because the taste was so intense!
I ordered the Pork Ragu which was a nice surprise--with panko bread crumbs, adding a very interesting, yet pleasing, texture. The wine pairing was also an added bonus. The wine was amazing."
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful surprise!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I am so glad I found this place, this is a favorite restaurant of mine. I have not one thing to complain about. The service was excellent, parking was nearby, the food was to die for. I told all my friends about it. They can't wait to try it. I went for brunch."
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Wonderful.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We have never eaten here without leaving with appreciation for this restaurant."
Dined on 1/08/2015
 2004
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

NY Eve

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Fixed-price menu NY Eve. Unfortunately it didn't work for us. Food was noting special -- undercooked carrots, browned but cold and hard "melted" cheese, over-salty confit, chewy lobster, overly-sweet sides that didn't go with the proteins. Courses looked good, but looks aren't everything. Wine pairing disappointed. Wines arrived sometimes long after the courses they were paired with. Asked the wine steward a question about the food and he practically ran away. Could have been an off-night, but really shouldn't have been. Not a strong value overall."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

good

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"food it self was good but expensive. entree was ok but appetizer was much better."
Dined on 9/11/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Shirlington's one fine restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Restaurant serves consistently fine food, beautifully and interestingly prepared. A special plus is you can choose a small or large portion of most offerings. The one drawback is they only serve wine--no cocktails. It should not, however, keep a food lover from eating there."
Dined on 12/17/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Friend was talking about the dinner the next day!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We needed to meet a friend to exchange Christmas gifts and we knew The Grape would be perfect. Our friend had been there with us before and was delighted to go again. Everything was perfect and we had a great evening. The next day when I saw my friend, the first thing she said was, "I'm still thinking about how great the dinner was!" From the service to the food everything was wonderful!
BTW---- I have another friend that I need to exchange gifts with ---- guess where we are going? Back to the Grape tonight! And I can't wait!
"
Dined on 12/15/2014
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Shoulder Shrug

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Very indifferent/untrained service. Food pretty good. Maybe it was just a Monday night. Left me not wanting to come back. Too bad, used to really like."
Dined on 12/15/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

lovely evening

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"What a hidden gem! We chose this restaurant based on proximity to a friends home and boy were we glad we did!
La grand formage was one of the best cheese plates we have ever had. Certainly plan on returning.
"
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

cinsistently fantastic and innovative food.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great wine pairings and seasonal variations. One of our favorites."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome experience from the wait staff

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Our waiter was excellent he provided excellent recommendations for wine pairing from the appetizer through the desert. The meal was perfect, tenderloin and the lamb chops had the highest ratings from our table of four."
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Definitely worth trying!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This is a place where our group of women get together to enjoy inventive dishes and great wine pairings. Even food that wasn't as good as usual was still very good. We don't need to come here we just find that we do!"
Dined on 12/04/2014
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for The Curious Grape
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not what I expected.

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2009
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Ambience not ideal - felt a little "cafeteria-ish" coming in, but back dining area ok. Cheese selection was absolute highlight. Expected bigger wine selection."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for The Curious Grape
Based on the average of (69) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
55 out of 57 recommend this product
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic