Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen Reviews List

Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen

Thank You for choosing Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen. Our goal is to provide a great dining experience through our unique cuisine and great friendly service. We at Shiso are passionate about our space, food, and general daily opportunity to serve the public.
Our menu focuses on seasonal ingredients including sourcing from our own chef’s garden. Sonoma is well known for its long growing season and amazing local fish, produce and dairy making it the perfect backdrop for our creative chefs. Our menu is primarily focused on Japanese traditional fare with some influences on other parts of Asian. We were voted best new restaurant is Sonoma in 2006 and received two years in a row nod from the Michelin guide as well as several accolades such as in Sonoma Magazine, Sunset magazine and Napa/Sonoma magazine. http://www.sonomamag.com/10-to-try/.
Check out what locals and non-locals are saying right now about Shiso. http://www.sonomamag.com/10-to-try/.
See more Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen details
102 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(102 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 102 reviews
5 stars
(51)
4 stars
(37)
3 stars
(8)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(63)
  • neighborhood gem(57)
  • great for outdoor dining(35)
  • great for lunch(30)
  • special occasion(23)
  • romantic(16)
Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen Reviews List
Review 1 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Simply amazing

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We have the omasake. And it was worth it!!!! The food and presentation was excellent. Our server was so engaging and helpful!!! And aside from the food my husband love the black Tokyo! It was worth the drive and the price. Price was not even that expensive considering how good the food was. We will definitely comeback again!"
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 2/07/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"I had a 10-piece sashimi plate and some nigiri -- alabacore, unagi (freshwater eel), salmon roe, salmon, and yellowtail. The portions seemed small -- especially the unagi. I've eaten a lot of sushi and I don't like ginormous slabs of fish on rice, but I do like balance in the presentation and taste. The service wasn't very friendly, and overall I was disappointed. This seemed like the kind of place that specializes in rolls. And that's not a compliment."
Dined on 10/13/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

just okay

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"I ordered the agedashi bento box. It was okay, but a bit on the bland side. The restaurant was crowded at lunch time and seems to be a popular spot. The food just wasn't memorable - to me."
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/31/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food great service but it's a little dark

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Shiso has a terrific and attentive staff.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Two terrific meals at Shiso.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We've had two excellent meals at Shiso. The fish was exceptional, especially the seared carpaccio that was on special during our most recent meal. The pork belly is terrific. Service is attentive. Don't be fooled by its shopping center location, the ambience is fitting for the high quality food."
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2009
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/14/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 12/14/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 11/29/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2004
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2004
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"When we arrived at 6:30 we were the only people there. It's a small place but set up very nicely.
We choose three appetizers: calamari (my absolute favorite), shrimp balls, and tempura vegetables. I asked the server to surprise us with some Maki rolls. We got the rainbow, volcano, and pumpkin. They were all very delicious!"
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Really great Ssian cuisine

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had planned to come here before but this was our first time. We had the really good duck confit rolls and I had the Tempura. My husband tried the Kung Pow hicken and said it was different but very flavorful! The wine list was not vast but offered a nice choice. Try it--you will like it!"
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/09/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2009
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful Japanese food and ambience!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This is definitely a go to for Friday night, or any other for that matter. Love the wait staff here, especially David who is amazing. The Chef's special roll of the day is always amazing. Everyone is so nice, friendly, and extremely attentive at this place. The food does not disappoint either. Try the fried oyster hand rolls - they are out of this world. Happy hour from 3PM to 6PM is wonderful with fresh oysters $1 a piece. Lunch is fabulous and the lettuce cups here are to die for. This gem of a restaurant is hidden in a strip mall. I hesitate to write this review because this place is "mine" ;)"
Dined on 9/25/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Unimpressed

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2014
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"After wanting to try Shiso for over two years, I was excited to finally taste their food. We arrived around 8pm, were greatly warmly and lead to our table. The hostess asked if we would like water, which we replied that we would. We also requested an ice bucket (for a bottle of bubbly.) 10 minutes later a server took our order. At that time we had not yet received water or an ice bucket and requested both. The server assured us that she would get it right away. Within 10 minutes our first two dishes arrived (still no water or ice bucket for our wine) We again inquired about the water and ice bucket. 5 minutes go by and we get our other 2 dishes and finally get water and an ice bucket. Just to make sure we are keeping track of time. 10min order taken, 20 min into dinner first 2 dishes arrive, 25 min into dinner second 2 dishes arrive (and finally, water). While we are enjoying the dishes the servers are constantly asking us if we are finished and to combine plates....It was odd. It felt rushed... We inquired about dessert. The table next to us was just about to order and had been raving about the options. Our server came to our table with the check instead of the dessert menu. It was 8:41. We arrived at 7:58. Were billed close to $100 for less than an hour of their time. Not impressed with the rolls, the service and confused as to what clientele they are trying to cater to. As someone in the food and beverage industry, they will not be receiving my business or recommendation."
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Don't believe the hype

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The idea of Modern Asian Cuisine appealed to me and my two friends and in reading the reviews we thought that we had found just the place. That it is situated in a strip mall is quickly stripped away by Shiso's interior ambiance. The decor was enticing and the menu certainly piqued our palate's piccadillos. Some of the combinations seemed to be must try items and we quickly found ourselves happily ordering through the the collection of small plates offered.
Somewhat to our consternation, it was hard to discern exactly would come based on the menu. Where more traditionally one could expect that maki roll with ahi tuni would have sushi grade tuna, instead our rolls had cooked tuna that was not unlike what one finds from a can. Also disappointing were scallops that came served with a sugary sauce that completely masked the delicious scallop flavor that I had hoped for. That Uni was not available that night might be a releif, for good uni is good, and bad uni is very bad.
The service was very good with the exception of a new hostess that I guess was being trained.
Overall, this is an okay restaurant, a bit pricey considering the fare; Nice, but nothing special."
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Japanese food in a Sonoma shopping center

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We sat outside on a warm evening and had a delicious dinner with friendly, attentive service. We sampled several things from sushi to (cooked) scallops special, and everything was great. We wanted to relax and visit, and our server never rushed us but was there when we needed him. The "ambience" on the outdoor patio is just ok, but the restaurant inside is nice. Try it!"
Dined on 10/11/2015
 2002
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2006
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2006
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It's hard to know where to start with this review. First of all, Ed Metcalfe is a fantastic chef. We had the pleasure of sitting out on the patio and it was so peaceful. The service was fantastic, they really make an effort to make kids feel special. Our son is 6 and loves sushi so this is one of his favorite spots. But the food! Oh my! Every bite was better than the first! Each dish was presented beautifully. We can't wait to go back!"
Dined on 10/07/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2013
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Asian Fusion & Sushi

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/09/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/26/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2008
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good but not great this time.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had the Mac Daddy which we had one time before but unfortunately it just wasn't as good in flavor or texture (meaning it was pretty dry) as it was previously. We also had the appetizer called "something O". It was one piece of sushi. Pretty good but pricey for just one small piece. I had the Summerlicious which was good, not great.
All the food is attractive and the staff are friendly. We'll go back because we know this is a good restaurant. I think we just didn't order the right things for us."
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/18/2015
 2007
Dined on 5/18/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/18/2015
 2007
Special Features: hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2006
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/28/2015
 2006
Dined on 7/28/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/28/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice surprised tucked away in a corner of Sonoma

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Foudn this restaurant while stalking OpenTable for a place to meet friends for a nice dinner. Also found out on other websties that it is highly rated despite the location in a strip mall on Hwy 12. This place has not only the great food with creative accents and flavors, it has a wonderful staff with constant smiles and great excitement about their restaurant. I would go again in a heartbeat since it was not only delicious and unique, it was fun!"
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Date night

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My wife and I made a quick escape from the kids and luckily landed at Shiso!
Being from SF, we didn't know what to expect out in the sticks and to our surprise shiso was great.
The chef is an artist and the waiter attentive and polite. The location misrepresents what's going on inside.
"
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Shiso Modern Asian Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>