Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light Reviews List

The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light

The Farmhouse Bistro offers a casual dining experience featuring seasonal country French classics created by Chef Joe Maguire. Choose from an array of tantalizing appetizers, freshly-prepared entrees, tempting desserts, and a sophisticated wine list.
See more The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light details
103 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(103 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 103 reviews
5 stars
(46)
4 stars
(33)
3 stars
(17)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(41)
  • neighborhood gem(31)
  • fit for foodies(26)
  • romantic(19)
  • great for brunch(18)
  • good for groups(17)
The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light Reviews List
Review 1 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Fantastic service with Frank, fantastic wine, fantastic food and fantastic ambiance, before a show at the theatre. Will definitely be back!"
Dined on 2/10/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/30/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Just OK

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Tables are packed together. Can overhear neighbor's conversation. Chairs are metal and not very comfortable. Cheese plate was very good. Caesar Salad dressing extremely bland, very disappointed. Four medium -sized shrimp were extra. Good, but small and not worth the extra $. Real wood fire burning was nice touch."
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2013
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent for before the play.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Nice ambience. Wonderful service. Great menu of light and more filling dishes."
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2011
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Wonderful ambiance, food less so

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"A great spot to dine before or after the theatre, but don't expect the food to match the ambiance. Chef needs to be more adventurous; food is a bit bland. For example, my trout was perfectly cooked, and pretty tasty, but the accompanying pearled couscous had no flavor at all. It wasn't even cooked in broth, which would have helped. My huband's beef bourguignon was ok, but not the rich deep sauce of a good beef bourguignon.
There are many nice touches here, the beautiful glasses, the fireplace, the warm rolls. I suggest the chef kick it up a notch, and it could really be terrific.
"
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Don't bother!!!!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2004
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2004
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I dined here on 12/6/15 with my husband and teenage daughter. We went for dinner after a play. Luckily I had a gift card because i think i would have cried if I actually had to pay for this meal out of my pocket. it was horrible!!! I had the Short Ribs which were terrible. There was soo much fat in the meat I hardly ate any. It came with mashed potatoes which were good. My daughter had the filet tips with some sort of gravy and potatoes- almost like a stew. The meat was way overcooked. Don't bother!! My husband had Ravioli which were ok. The cheese tray was lacking cheese- there was about 7 pieces on the whole plate and the Pate was soo horrible..
We were one of two tables in a small dining room. The other table consisted of about 8-10 people. They were super loud and annoying. I should have asked to move to a different area...but didn't. I will not go back here and am curious as to how they are still in business."
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Extremely appealing and calming place for a meal. My wife frequents this place regularly with her friend as they attend People's Light often. Our family had Thanksgiving dinner here. It was outstanding as was the service."
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great service!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Fantastic waiter! Steven, I believe was his name.... had great tips and insight on the menu. Mussels with lemon were exceptional.. I had duck - so good!"
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2008
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Thanksgiving Dinner

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2010
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2008
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Thanksgiving buffet

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The buffet was great,everything was delicious and we'll prepared. My wife and I loved the atmosphere as well as all the food. Would highly recommend to friends."
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fabulous Thanksgiving Buffet!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Farmhouse Bistro saved me the stress of preparing a holiday meal - and did a far better job than I could ever do with everything from soup and salad to turkey with stuffing to inspired vegetable dishes and simply delicious coffee desserts."
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2010
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2007
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great place to eat before the show

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was very good. It was a great place to eat before the show. Service was a little slow. We were almost late for the show. Wine list was disappointing."
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2013
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/19/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/19/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent for a pre-theater meal

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food and wines are delicious. The staff is very attentive and ensures that you get to the show at People's Light and Theater on time."
Dined on 11/18/2015
 2007
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/19/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 11/06/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Perfect spot for before theater dining

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had one hour for dinner before the theater performance, and enjoyed dining so close to the theater in a pleasant small room. We had delicious burgers and a pear salad, with glasses of wine. The burger was well done but juicy, and just great. Our waiter was very kind to bring us our tickets! And he also walked us out to show a shortcut to the theater. The staff works hard to make sure that everyone is fed before the show."
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2006
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great place next to People's Light Theatre!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My husband and I decided to try the Farmhouse Bistro because we are members of People's Light & Theater Company, which is literally next door. It's a very simple restaurant with two small levels of tables. Not much ambiance; a few photographs, fireplace (w/o a fire) and hardwood floors. We ordered liver pate which was kind of scooped into a brioche without much interest, just ok. Dinners were duck and coq au vin (I've had this in France and it didn't resemble the French version). Very ordinary but tasty. I think they have to take the food and decor up a notch. The best part was our wonderful waiter! We'll be back for another try because we like to support neighborhood restaurants."
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2011
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2007
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2013
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2013
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Rich French cuisine

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2010
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A nice setting next to the theater with plenty of parking. Three tables are available for outside seating. In terms of food, with rich we mean bold flavors. There are not many items on the menu but it seems a deliberate choice. Quality is great. Service is friendly. The only gripe is the tendency for well done meat during our last visit, unusual for a French restaurant. Similar complaint about the roasted vegetables that were almost burned. Other than that, a pleasant experience."
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/13/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/13/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/13/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Love the prix fixe menu!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My friend and I went to the Farmhouse Bistro before All My Sons. Both the dinner and the play were excellent! I go to dinner with the intention that I will order from the regular menu and then I cannot resist the temptations of the prix fixe menus that have been available with each show. A nice variety of options."
Dined on 9/10/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2005
Special Features: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

fARMHOUSE HAS BECOME OUR SHOW NIGHT DINING CHOICE

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/10/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Fair dinner

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2011
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The service was excellent and our server could not have been more pleasant. My fish was excellent but the couscous was very dry and the asparagus was so tough I couldn't cut it. My husband's pork was dry. The dining room was reminiscent of a stripped down restaurant"
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Ok, but Uneven, and Not Very Imaginative

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I had tickets to People's Light, and thought this would be a fun place to dine. I ordered the $39 pre fixe dinner that offered appetizer, entrée, and dessert./ The hot, homemade rolls were the best part of the meal. After that came the chicken liver pate, which was huge and plentiful, but needed salt. In addition, it was served on a brioche, which seemed strange to me. The brioche was tender and flaky, but so much so that it fell apart when I spread on the pate; I would have preferred a hearty brown bread. ( In fairness, this may be just a personal preference.)/ Then came the pan-fried trout, (needed salt and seasoning) served with couscous (ditto) and very good charred asparagus, tender crisp, just the way I like it. The trout was tender, and cooked well, but there was no sauce, and I found it bland. There was an avocado garnish that was flavorful, but there wasn't enough of it./For dessert, I ordered a salt-caramel pot de crème-very satisfying, but literally only the size of a ping-pong ball./ The waiter did not offer me wine, and I had to ask twice for silverware when my used utensils were taken away. He was pleasant enough, but I can't say I felt well attended. All in all, I was somewhat disappointed. With a little extra oomph and consistency, I would have rated this restaurant as "good," but it just didn't quite make a good rating."
Dined on 9/10/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Farmhouse Bistro Delivers Once Again!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It has been a few months since I had been to the Farmhouse Bistro. My previous experiences had always been positive, however, so when I wanted to take out a long-time friend to someplace special in her area, I was confident that I could rely on the excellent food, service and ambience of the Farmhouse; we were not disappointed! The service was perfect, the food was exciting and the setting is just lovely! I'll be back soon!"
Dined on 8/30/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2012
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Charming farmhouse setting..

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"A beautiful old farmhouse with thick plaster walls on the same property as the People's Light and Theatre company. The perfect venue for dinner and a show. The food is good, not great., For example, the crab cakes are mostly breading/panade. The lamb was ordered medium rare and arrived well done. My steak was perfect and tasty. The pate was tasteless. The lemon cake is VERY strongly lemon flavored which is OK if that is what you prefer. The peach cobbler was huge but 90% dense cobbler topping with very few peaches underneath. Overall, a pleasant enough meal but not remarkable. It's best feature is that is next door to the theatre and makes it easy enough to to have dinner and immediately walk over to the performance."
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fabulous Find!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our group dined here prior to a show. We all loved the food, and the service was great! I especially loved the pistachio-crusted crab cakes, which came with delicious roasted potatoes and grilled vegetables. A member of our party has a gluten allergy, and they very easily accommodated her food needs with a delicious steak salad. I would highly recommend The Farmhouse Bistro, either before a show, or for a wonderful dinner any time."
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food,waiter was super.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/12/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/12/2015
 2010
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

connected to the Peoples' Light and Theatre

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"a lovely setting with garden seating outside and air-conditioning inside. service very attentive, and when we were there - very quiet. the staff accommodates the ending times for the Theatre productions. So, when our matinee was over early, the restaurant was ready to serve us. how nice to have this collaboration.
a very delightful combination - excellent theatre and food in a lovely setting.
check it out. you will not be disappointed.
"
Dined on 8/09/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for The Farmhouse Bistro at People's Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Neighborhood Gem

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Took my wife to Farmhouse Bistro on her birthday. Food was delicious (had cheeses and octopus for starters, swordfish and sirloin entrées). Frank was awesome! Will definitely go there again soon."
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>