Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Bon Vivant - Palo Alto Reviews List

Bon Vivant - Palo Alto

Bon Vivant is a French bistro located in downtown Palo Alto. Our menu combines hearty and unique French dishes with moderately-priced traditional bistro fare. Bon Vivant offers an extensive wine list, as well as a range of interesting cocktails and apéritifs, including several varieties of pastis (an anise flavored French apéritif). Diners can indulge in fresh breads and desserts cooked on site by our Pastry Chef.

Bon Vivant is open for dinner daily (except Monday), as well as for breakfast and brunch on the weekends.
We are also available to host your special events - just give us a call at 650-485-3228 or email to manager@bonvivantdining.com and we will help you plan a memorable event.
See more Bon Vivant - Palo Alto details
181 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(181 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 181 reviews
5 stars
(83)
4 stars
(50)
3 stars
(29)
2 stars
(14)
1 star
(5)
Food 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
1.5 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(87)
  • romantic(86)
  • special occasion(82)
  • neighborhood gem(49)
  • notable wine list(41)
  • great for brunch(16)
Bon Vivant - Palo Alto Reviews List
Review 1 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2000
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2000
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2000
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2012
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A wonderful experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"The restaurant wasn't actually open for the time we made the reservation, but they welcomed us graciously and opened the kitchen. The service was impeccable, the food delicious, and we were so appreciative of their commitment to service, even though they were in no way at fault. We can't wait to go back!"
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2003
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2005
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2005
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2001
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2001
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2001
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2013
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good Food

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"This is our 2nd time there and the food is very good. Never salty so you can taste the fresh ingredients. Great Service."
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/21/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful dinner and experience ...

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"All our experience was delightful : very good cocktails to start. Freshly baked bread - excellent !
We had lobster and foiegras, just what it should be. Very good . Special note is rabbit: it's simply delicious.
Wine pairing recommended by server was a important component to our meal and completed the experience.
Overall very very good restaurant. Clearly they got it right and this shows . Thank you
"
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wow! Just Wow!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Another great meal at Bon Vivant! We started with an assortment of appetizers: Escargot, Mussels, Lobster and a Beet salad. Everything was delicious, fresh and served beautifully. Next we had the Rabbit and a Pork chop. We shared and sometimes competed for the best morsels, but in the end, we were both very happy and very well fed. After so much good food and wine, we thought it prudent to skip dessert... kidding! So we split an order of the "ice cream landscape" just for a bit of sweetness to end the meal.
We will definitely be back soon!
"
Dined on 1/20/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Unpretentious Sophistication

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"The cuisine was excellent. The service was very good. The atmosphere was elegant, yet casual. The restaurant space was well utilized as tables were spaced to provide sufficient 'privacy' for a romantic evening. The menu was well-rounded which included filet mignon, rabbit, duck, salmon, and more for the main entrees, with a very nice list of hors d'oeuvres. I liked everything that was on the menu, making returning to this establishment a must-do. To end the evening, we had the best chocolate soufflè, ever. It was light, fluffy, and with a rich chocolate sauce poured into the centre. This topped off with a couple of robust cappuccinos and you have an evening to remember."
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Overall good experience with some caveats...

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Overall, service was friendly and courteous, but a bit slow and not particularly attentive at times. The restaurant is nicely decorated and looks inviting from the outside.
Overall, food presentation was good, but food didn't wow considering the overall pricing of dishes. French Onion soup solid, but nothing spectacular. Beet salad was very pretty and overall a decent starter. Steak Roussane was solid (hard to go wrong with filet mignon topped with seared foie gras). Skin on "Crispy Skin Salmon" wasn't all that crispy or seasoned well. Souffle was good, not overly sweet.
I'd give this place another try sometime, but pricing places this more along the lines of a special occasion restaurant, but you don't quite feel that "special" dining here."
Dined on 1/14/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great wine list, nice cocktails, good service, and a wonderful menu.
The first time we came here we were delighted to find a modern / traditional French place with a little bit of a poi t of view. So e place that did not feel generic and nothing but standards, but also not aggressively experimental. However our second visit was not as smooth.
The wait time for dishes was quite long. This did not impact most dishes (gave us time to savor the wine), however the caramelized fois gras was allowed to get cold, which really puts a damper on our satisfaction at this price point.
Would try it again, however if this kind of thing becomes typical there's just too many other good options."
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We will come back

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We leave in PA but this was our first visit. We enjoyed Friday night dinner - everything well prepared and plated. A special comment about my husband's rabbit - delicate and delicious, mustard sauce with wine cured fruits could of been a separate dish. Our felicitations to the Chef! Service matched the food. Dinning room is elegant but warm. We will come back."
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A lovely gem in Palo Alto

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We were so pleasantly surprised to find Bon Vivant...a quiet, sophisticated, French bistro in the heart of Palo Alto. Our server couldn't have been more knowledgeable or attentive. Finding a white table cloth in any restaurant in PA is a challenge these days, so our romantice dinner for two felt even more special. We're going back this week!"
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2009
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Four Feasting Friends

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Happy to report that our dinner out with friends at Bon Vivant was a great hit.
We all came hungry and we had no trouble picking out dishes that sounded tasty.
Between us, we had lobster tail, scallops, mussels, rabbit and a rack of lamb - and
of course, some foie gras.
Like I said - we were hungry! Everything was fantastic - our waiter was helpful
and attentive, but not intrusive. Each of the dishes was beautifully presented,
but not just pretty - the flavors were delicate on right on the mark.
At this point, we weren't holding anything back, so we moved boldly into
dessert and ordered the "Marie Antoinnette", a creme brulee and a
chocolate souffle. Amazing. The four of us devoured it all and left Bon Vivant
happy and satiated. Of course we will back... and I'm pretty sure our friends
are now hooked as well.
"
Dined on 1/06/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Pass on this restaurant

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"While the restaurant is beautiful and the staff very friendly, my starter and entree were cold. In addition, our check was incorrect and we were charged for what another table ordered. We had to point this out to the waiter. I would not come again as the price point is high and not worth what was provided."
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great service, better food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Service was wonderful but food lacked flavor and seasoning. The appetizers were luke warm."
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/01/2015
 2008
Dined on 12/01/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Cute dining place. I would go back to try their tea time. Food was not the greatest but it was good enough"
Dined on 12/01/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing Evening

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We had a lovely dinner here on New Year's Eve. Service, food, ambiance were perfect for a romantic dinner. Besides romantic, a couple of groups were present, but no kids...it is not a place for children. Loved not having a noisy atmosphere during dinner, just nice live piano music in the background. Not our first visit and will not be out last."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Dined here for New Year's Eve and ended up asking for dessert to be packaged up, as I just couldn't watch the understaffed employees struggle any longer. They gave it a valiant effort, but were woefully understaffed, and we couldn't enjoy our meal watching them race around in a hopeless attempt to keep up."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2004
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2004
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2004
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Enjoyable meal

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"This is the first time we ate at Bon Vivant and enjoyed the meal. My wife had duck two ways and I had the scallops. I think I liked my wife's duck preparation better than my scallops but both were good. The scallops were just a bit overdone. They have a reasonable wine list and service was very attentive and pleasant. We will return."
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

The food could be better for the cost.

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/15/2015
 2006
Dined on 12/15/2015
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/15/2015
 2006
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2006
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/11/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2008
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2003
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2003
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2003
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2013
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2013
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Super dinner redux...

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Due to travel and whatnot, it has been a couple of months since I've eaten at Bon Vivant. I'm very pleased to report that if anything, it is even better than I remembered it. I couldn't detail the changes, but the beautiful dining room seems to have improved in subtle ways. My wife noticed some elegant new seating, etc. Anyway, *I* came to eat and definitely succeeded. ;) We had some tasty paté to start and I had a pork chop that was perfectly prepared and just delicious. A bottle of Pinot later, finished off with creme brulee and coffee and you have 2 very satisfied customers."
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 11/21/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2011
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

below average food for the price

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Beautiful decorations, good service; but our entrees were not cooked properly at all - pork chop was very undercooked and chewy on the inside, and the duck two ways, duck breast was very undercooked and chewy, while the duck leg was over cooked and dry. For deserts, chocolate soufflé was bland, but the poached pear was very good."
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2004
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fabulous food and atmosphere!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were pleasantly surprised by our first visit to Bon Vivant. The restaurant is beautifully decorated, with tables well spaced and a quiet, sophisticated atmosphere. The food was delicious! We'll be going again!"
Dined on 11/19/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great French Bistro in Palo Alto

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was excellent, nice atmosphere with a well chosen wine list. The duck was excellent. Keep up the good work"
Dined on 11/18/2015
 2003
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent French offerings in Palo Alto

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2003
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2003
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"A group of us enjoyed Sunday Brunch at Bon Vivant. They had us with the croissants, light and delicate, and impressed us with the many other traditional French selections that were tasty and enjoyable. The smoked duck breast eggs Benedict was very popular, and was very, very good. The service was friendly, efficient and made helpful suggestions. The souffle was perfect, I am partial to the Grand Marnier flavor. Overall, it was a very enjoyable meal. All of our friends remarked how nice the experience was. I look forward to visiting for dinner!"
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2003
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food used to be better

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2009
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Have been before and was looking forward to another good meal. Unfortunately that didn't happen this time. The beef stroganoff was too salty, the veggies had chunks of rock salt in them. The filet was not a $36 cut of meat."
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2008
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2011
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great Duck Two Ways, especially roasted duck breast. Duck sliders also - fantastic wine sauce with subtle bitter notes but mostly balsamic. Very tender scallops and creamy mousseline."
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Bon Vivant - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/11/2015
 2011
Dined on 11/11/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/11/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>