Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Il Tesoro NYC Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Il Tesoro NYC

Always something new, modern and special we love Manhattan's beautiful Upper East Side neighborhood, come discover the treasures at Il Tesoro Ristorante & Bar at 1578 First Ave. Menu focuses on fresh whole fish, seafood, aged steaks, wild game, fresh organic home-made "to-order" pasta with top-notch service. "Italian treasure" Il Tesoro 's Chef and owner AJ Black grew up in the restaurant business in Rome and trained at the Italian Culinary Institute, also owns Il Tesoro Ristorante on Florida's Sanibel Island. His artist Jolie has created the restaurant's updated design this year with fun painted portraits of chefs and vigilant servers in restaurant action. Vintage marble bar, floor-to-ceiling woodwork, with modern kitchen in a Tuscan elegance with comfortable casual feel of the main dining room seating up to 65, romantic outdoor seating for people watching, and an intimate private party room in our wine cellar for up to 35 guests.
73 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(73 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 73 reviews
5 stars
(28)
4 stars
(33)
3 stars
(9)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(50)
  • romantic(36)
  • fit for foodies(32)
  • special occasion(30)
  • notable wine list(13)
  • good for groups(10)
Il Tesoro NYC Reviews List
Review 1 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2007
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/07/2015
 2005
Dined on 6/07/2015
 2005
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/07/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Tasty, delicious and amazing - are the 3 words that best describe the dining experience at iL Tesoro. Wonderful service, excellent quality food portions and amazing ambiance. We love this place!"
Dined on 6/04/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Lovely!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great vibe, beautiful interior & wonderful service."
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/25/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"return all the time great martini cold cold cold food service and atmosphere consistent very good"
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

beautiful

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This restaurant is beautiful. The food was excellent. Nice portions and the service was attentive. On the night we dined there was entertainment and there was a piano player and singer. The singer was very good and the atmosphere they create is a little old school but that is what made it nice. The only downside to our entire meal was when we received the bill my husband's drink was priced very high. I have to admit the drink was very strong but unless you want to pay for two drinks at once the price was high. He only has one drink for dinner so it was too much for him."
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Lights are dimmed too far. Excellent restaurant.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2008
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Solid

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2005
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2005
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Good food at affordable prices, with room to breath. Very nice experience."
Dined on 5/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Comfortable and friendly

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went to dinner recently on a Saturday night with friends. Seating was very smooth and I appreciated that they sat me while my husband was parking the car and the other couple had not arrived. Service was very courteous and pleasant. The food was very good and ample portions.
Fish specials are pricey but the halibut was delicious. A few minor imperfections in what we had but overall the quality was high. Our friends really liked it since it was so easy to spend most of the night there and not feel rushed in any way. We could also hear our conversation and not have any annoyances or disturbances from any nearby diners which is usually the case in so many restaurants these days. We felt very comfortable and at home. I recommend the restaurant and we will
go back again...with and without our friends!
"
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"my new go to in the neighborhood service and food consistently very good very accommodating gr8 martini"
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food is amazing, the service is great but I don't see why they feel like the only music they can play are classics from the 70s. They need someone to help them with the ambience!"
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Very disappointing

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Slow service. Restaurant was maybe 1/4 full and we waited a long time for drinks and again to order and yet again to get our meals. Our waiter was barely visible. Overall very disappointing. I would not go again."
Dined on 4/12/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"On Saturday nights they have a fantastic singer and piano player. The food is excellent and service superb."
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best Italian Restaurant in NYC hands down

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"From the perfect ambience and decor to the amazing greeter to the waiter who effortlessly reeled off numerous specials down to the ingredients and preparation, this place fires on all cylinders. Imagine stepping from NYC into Italy by simply crossing through the threshold... It's that authentic. Perfect homemade burrata islands with a rolled piece of speck (salt cured ham similar to prosciutto but superior) placed into the center and standing up like a tree, with a touch of honey drizzled on top for an appetizer special. Out of this world. Insanely good pastas too many to list and fresh fishes in Italian classic preparations. Veal chop also was perfect. Wine recommendations by waiter were flawless. A house Amarone that was worth every penny. This place cannot be missed. I have been to many of the top spots, including Del Posto several times , and this meal ends up being far superior ( for a fraction of the cost).
Do yourself a favor and go!!
"
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was excellent. Best sea bass dinner that I have had in a very long time."
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Just happened to see on open table and what a find Food delicious nice portion size. Nice pour on wine and very good martini Will definitely return"
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Aspirations almost reached

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Wood-paneled, cozily-lit, with waiters in spiffy white tunics, Il Tesoro exudes pride of place on the corner of First and 82nd Street in Manhattan's Blue Stocking District. Elaborately described specials crowd out the written menu. Service was efficient if not warm. Our dining partners, both "foodies" with impressive knowledge of New York restaurants as well as Italian cooking in particular, quizzed the wait staff closely on how various dishes were made. Her Paglia et Fieno was a bit heavily sauced and darker than she thought it should have been. My Osso Bucco was richly-sauced and salted enough to make me wonder how heavy the venison version of the same dish would have been. But overall, the place came close to its pretensions and we left well-fed if lighter of wallet."
Dined on 3/02/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

An unsung gem!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Il Tesoro is in the old site that was, for years, my wife's go-to place. We like the Met & hosting friends ...... Il Tesoro fit the bill very well. Food, service, ambience were excellent! Thanks for bringing back another foodie gem into the great and growing NYC scene."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Perfect Date Night

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was great, the service was excellent and my girlfriend really enjoyed the ambiance. I will definitely be returning in the near future!"
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Well-named "treasure"

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My wife and I are very snooty about Italian restaurants in the States, having spent enough time in Italy that we find most Italian-American restaurants disappointing. So we were thoroughly surprised by how really good this little neighborhoody Italian place is -- a treasure indeed. The food is uniformly well prepared -- my wife especially enjoyed burrata with speck and a roast suckling pig, both off the day's specials. Desserts are a treat. The chef clearly enjoys serving items on long thin plates, which can make the tables crowded in this cozy (tight) space, but who cares. Service was warm and welcoming, and we enjoyed listening to live music (a singer and a pianist) on Saturday night. Looking forward to our next visit."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2002
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We enjoyed our dinner very much.The food was delicious and the service was very attentive.
The Cornish hen was one of the best I ever had.I would definitely go back!
"
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Feels special

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2007
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Looks like average neighborhood Italian but is far better, warm ambience, attentive service and excellent food."
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Fabulous food in a lovely setting!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I really enjoyed eating at Il Tesoro, the food was great and the restaurant itself looks and feels very intimate and welcoming. Most of the staff were friendly, apart from the waiter who took our orders who was quite pushy and rude - thankfully the delicious food helped make up for that!"
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Excellent food in a cozy setting. Artichokes were outstanding along with lasagne, pappardelle bolognese and seafood risotto. Fantastic ricotta cheesecake.
High prices. Two dollar signs on Open Table were misleading. Pastas were $20 and up, meat and fish in the $40 range
"
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

outstanding

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"third time my wife and I have had dinner at il Tesoro.it gets better with each visit. we're both native new Yorkers and have been to most of the better Italians in the city and burbs.this restaurant still stands out as being very special.went at Christmas time on a Saturday night and were delighted with a piano player and wonderful singer.as usual the food and service was exceptional."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Il Tesoro NYC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Poorly managed, bad service, great food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The hostess sat us imm but only with a wine list. Waiter arrived 5 min later & said he was trying to locate 2 menus for us bc there's not enough for whn the resto is full. Lol we thought he was jk but he wasn't. We waited 10 min for menus & saw other tables also without & waiters scrambling around waiting for tables to order so tht they can thn pass on menus to waiting tables! All the while, not taking a drink order. Evening is off to a grt start we said! Finally 1 menu was avail & the waiter said we could share it lol. 3-5 min later, another was avail & he gave it to my husband & we asked him to take our drink order but he said he'd brb. He came bck in 5. The owner was standing there looking at his wait staff to make sure they were doing their jobs but never thought to tell waiters to take our drink order while we were waiting? Or not smart enough to order enough menus for seating capacity? To our surprise & delight the drinks arrived in a flash & my blood orange martini was delicious but strong enough for a good cocktail & my hubby's martini was spot on! Good, maybe the night will be ok we said. We came here bc we had tried samples of their food at the annual Food and Wine Festival and it stood out from the dozens & dozens of samples we tried tht day so we were still hopeful of a good night.
Enter new waiter. We ordered a bottle with dinner but they were all out. We tried another one & they had it but it was warm. Whn we told the new waiter said yea bc they don't keep the wine in a tempered room & there's no air conditioning in the cellar either to keep it cool! Ok...we said its bck downhill...but then we got our food and we forgot about the awful service.
Octopus app, perfectly cooked, nice portion & tasty. Fish carpaccio app, grt & tasty w the greens. Duck entree, amazing & huge portion but overcooked. Wild boar osso bucco, melts in ur mouth & to die for but risotto side was raw. Was offered another. New 1 undercooked but ok. Desserts decadent. We'll b bck!
"
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Il Tesoro NYC
Based on the average of (38) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
33 out of 35 recommend this product
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic