Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

C'era Una Volta Reviews List

C'era Una Volta

C'era Una Volta - Italian Restaurant

This sun-splashed location is a hidden treasure on a quiet tree-lined cobblestone promenade. Our Italian restaurant brings a Taste of Italy to the Island of Alameda with delicious Tuscan, regional Italian dishes and an extensive Italian wine list.

From the day we opened our doors in 2004 we have received numerous awards for our food, ambiance, service, and wine selection. Chef Rudy Duran is one of only a handful of Bay Area chefs recognized by the Academia Italiana della Cucina for his authentic Italian cuisine. C'era Una Volta, voted Best Italian Restaurant in Alameda 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 & 2012

See more C'era Una Volta details
165 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(165 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 165 reviews
5 stars
(80)
4 stars
(51)
3 stars
(22)
2 stars
(7)
1 star
(5)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(105)
  • fit for foodies(67)
  • special occasion(66)
  • romantic(62)
  • notable wine list(34)
  • great for outdoor dining(32)
C'era Una Volta Reviews List
Review 1 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Dined on 2/13/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/09/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2008
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Memorable in every way!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"For a special evening, it was the perfect choice. Everything about the evening was wonderful. The service was great and food scrumptious."
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 1/16/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2008
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Mediocre food, service lacking

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The food was decent and moderately priced. The service was the main disappointment for me. The wait staff was friendly but unfamiliar with the menu. Our waitress English wasn't great and she didn't understand our order. When the food came out she brought out a dish I hadn't ordered. My girlfriends dish was right, so she placed it on the table and took mine back (after a 3 min discussion where she tried to convince me it was actually mine). 15 min later, while my girlfriend politely waited for my dish to be brought out before eating (hers was ice cold) mine was brought out. By that time I was so hungry I would have eaten anything. Food was decent but not good enough to overcome the service. No attempt to comp anything was made by the waitress...we did not make a complaint but I would not go back and I would not recommend it."
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent and relaxing dining experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We returned to C'era Una Volta and once again had an excellent dining experience. The food was very good as was the service and the atmosphere. We have visited before and will continue to count it as a neighborhood favorite."
Dined on 1/05/2016
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Delisousness, everything!"
Dined on 8/30/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

My 52nd birthday dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"This was an excellent birthday dinner put together by my wife, the food was awesome."
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2006
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

amazing food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We were a party of eight and all our dishes tasted amazing. It was our first time there but definitely not the last"
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/19/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/26/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

authentic atmosphere and italian charm

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"we've been several times and are always delighted with the food and wine offerings. the food is simple and tasty; nothing off-putting or too involved. the wine list spans the classics to unique. can't wait for summer to sit outside!"
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/19/2015
 2008
Dined on 11/19/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/19/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great classic Italian

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/15/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/15/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"5 courses available; superb bouillabaisse, other seafoods. Many wonderful desserts. If seeking quiet dinning, avoid 7 pm seating weekends. Italian and Spanish speaking waiters, as well as English"
Dined on 12/15/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Mezzo-mezzo

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"First visit to this delightful place was for an early dinner with a friend. We had both read about the shared Steak Florentine and ordered that. The steak was one of the best I have ever enjoyed. And there was so much to take home that we each had two more meals out of it. And it was cooked with a wonderful combination of vegetables.
The accompaniments: small salad that lacked any creativity though the ingredients were fresh; side of pasta that, in my case, was awful -- the spaghetti clumped together as if it had been cooked in hot (not boiling) water and the cream sauce was lumpy! My friend had a pomodoro sauce and enjoyed it.
The staff were delightful, the atmosphere great and, at that early hour, there was no noise, just light conversation.
I will certainly come back to try other dishes, but think I'll stay away from the pasta!"
Dined on 12/08/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

finally tried this restaurant

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had the Smoked Salmon and Shrimp apps, Marco Polo Chicken panini and the Pork Chop . Service was a little bit off as I ran out of water 3 times after telling the wait person I needed lots of water. The Marco Polo was a bit dry, all other dishes were great."
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Not so much. We ordered a special, "fondue". It was like warm salad dressing. Entrees not hot, there was only one other table seated. I wish they would succeed. I remember when they opened. Maybe they enjoy hosting events more than being a restaurant."
Dined on 12/01/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A wonderful evening with C'er Una Volta providing the best for Slow Food San Francisco's 25th anniversary celebration. The food, wine, music and ambiance provided the right environment for connecting with Slow Food and it diverse membership."
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2005
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2005
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Our 2nd visit

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was our second visit to C'era Una Volta. Each time we have gone for dinner before attending a performance at the nearby Altarena Playhouse. (BTW, C'era Una Volta will give a 10% discount to those attending a performance that evening at the Altarena Playhouse.)
Good food, good wine, good service, and a nice ambiance. We really liked the dipping sauce provided with bread. The sauce consists of home made mustard in olive oil. Very tangy. Salads were good. Spagetti was a bit bland. In summary, a great local find and we will return the next time we attend a performance at the Altarena Playhouse."
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2008
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food Missed the Mark

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"When I read the menu, there seemed to be a lot of potential. Most of the less than great reviews were about the service rather than the food, so I decided to give it a chance. Our experience was quite the opposite: In most ways the service was fine, however the food left much to be desired. Nothing was as good as it should've been given the excellent ingredients. Both my husband and I were disappointed with our entrees: he had the fish special which was described as a type of sea bass, and I had the fillet mignon from regular menu.
When I asked about the "green pepper cream sauce" I was told that there were whole green peppercorns which I figured I could simply avoid biting directly into, however I didn't see any green pepper corns ... it was more like capers. The bigger problems were that rather than being "medium rare" it had barely been cooked at all. It was barely seared, let alone cooked ... it wasn't even hot. And while they happily took it back to cook it, nothing could be done about the overwhelming "cream" sauce. When one thinks of cream sauce, one thinks "mild" and "creamy." This was cheesy. And a very strong cheese at that. Turns out it was gorgonzola. Why didn't the server mention this when I asked about the sauce? Personally, I would never put such a powerful cheese over something as inherently tasty as fillet mignon, and it should be described as such. It was not as a cream sauce. It was a strong cheese sauce.
My husband's fish was just OK, but definitely not the texture or taste of sea bass. The texture was kind of mushy and flavorless. OK.
Even with these disappointments, since it was my birthday we ordered the Vesuvius Lava Cake. Unfortunately, it was another disappointment. The fudge was much too sweet and the cake itself wasn't "dense" as it had been described. Rather, it was more like a chocolate sponge cake. Also, the gelato that came with it was OK, but not great. Overall, very disappointing."
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Wonderful Italian meal

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2009
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went to celebrate a birthday, and were so pleasantly surprised. The food, service and ambiance were all great, and the staff gathered to sing "Happy Birthday". We will definitely be going back. Loved the fact that it was set back from a major street, but not hard to find."
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A lovely little place

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Pleasant, quiet little brunch place. Order from the menu and don't expect huge American-style dishes. The serving sizes are modest, but big enough. Nice presentations. We all enjoyed our meals."
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/03/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2009
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/29/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/22/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/22/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dinner and a Show

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great Italian food & wine. 10% discount if you have tickets to the nights show at Alterena Playhouse. Optional outdoor dining."
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Only once

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went there for a brunch/lunch on Sunday.
The waiter couldn't understand our orders even when we pointed at the item on the menu - clearly not only had trouble with English, but didn't know the menu at all (I blame the lack of training and the lack of self-starter energy for that - another person would have taken the menu home to study it before trying to serve customers). The service included several trips back and forth between the kitchen and our table to ensure that the order was correct - but the potatoes were wrong, the panini was cold, and the cocktail turned into a mimosa.
The dessert, a lava cake, was so over-baked that it was dry all the way through and actually tasted mostly of flour. Won't go back.
"
Dined on 10/18/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/07/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Authentic Italian cuisine in a lovely setting

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Where do you find an Italian restaurant that is actually run and manned by Italians? Cera Una Volta is just that place. The setting is casually elegant, the service very attentive but the main thing is that the food is outstanding. I've visited twice, once for Italian bouillabaisse and a second time for pesto pasta and lamb chops - killer good both times. Had an excellent Barolo and a better-than-decent, not-to-expensive Chianti. Vera Una Volta is now one of my top 5 in Oakland."
Dined on 9/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for C'era Una Volta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>