Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Plum Bar + Restaurant Reviews List

Plum Bar + Restaurant

PB+R does modern takes on classic, American food and drink. We make everything we can in our own kitchen — from the components in our handcrafted cocktails to the condiments, buns, and everything in between for our our award-winning PB burger. The Malted, DPG’s signature creamery, makes microbatch, soft-serve desserts for us on the premises. As with all the restaurants in the DPG family, we cook with only the best seasonal ingredients straight from our friends who grow them.
See more Plum Bar + Restaurant details
209 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(209 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 209 reviews
5 stars
(82)
4 stars
(79)
3 stars
(30)
2 stars
(14)
1 star
(4)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(95)
  • neighborhood gem(69)
  • vibrant bar scene(66)
  • hot spot(45)
  • good for groups(40)
  • late-night find(37)
Plum Bar + Restaurant Reviews List
Review 1 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not the same.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Plum Bar was one of my favorite places when they opened in connection with Plum ( restaurant) due to changes that have taken place for survival it has lost what they had to offer in terms of food. Menu is nothing to talk about neither the food that comes out of the kitchen except the burger.
There are too many bars with better ambiance or burger places to bring me back.
"
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 4/14/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 4/05/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2006
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Our server was Very attentive.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2016
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Elegant but not too fancy

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"A more moderate menu than DPG's other restaurants. More of a bar with high end pub food. Emphasis on cocktails with limited wine, beer and food menu. All the dishes we tried were very good and not over seasoned. Welcoming atmosphere and friendly staff."
Dined on 3/28/2016
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/05/2015
 2006
Dined on 3/05/2015
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/05/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/30/2016
 2005
Dined on 3/30/2016
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The smoke-a-cola was outstanding. It's not on the menu. If you like bourbon, order it. Deviled eggs and the pork belly a must have."
Dined on 3/30/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2007
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2007
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 3/05/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Inconsistent food and poor customer satisfaction

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2002
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2002
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Lunched here 2 weeks in a row and both were very disappointing. Chicken sandwich biscuit and fries were too salty. I mentioned to waitress early on and she did nothing until I couldn't eat a 3rd bite because it was as if I had a salted margarita where salt crystals collect on my lips. she never offered to replace the entree. I had to request the biscuit be replaced only if they had other bread which she agreed she had and would bring. But she brought me another biscuit newly baked and didn't bother to reassemble my sandwich in the kitchen. Big problem with biscuit sandwich is it falls apart. Oh, and they didn't even think to comp us for a meal. I had to request it. Neither my friend nor I ate but a few pieces of fries because it was so salty. they finally agreed to comp 1 meal. The 2nd lunch I ordered the cod sandwich. Noticed same chef and asst so was afraid he'd drop the bottle of salt in the biscuits and fries again so I stressed the bad saltiness to the waitress who assured me that it wasn't over salted this time. Unfortunately the fresh cod wasn't so fresh as it had an ammonia like taste that leaves a bad taste. I asked about it and she insisted it was fresh. Well it tasted like it wasn't properly refrigerated for many hours. It wa sad and I couldn't eat and was afraid to order anything so We left after over 45 minutes and I was hungry. Won't be going backpack at all and was so embarrassed that I introdiuced friends to it but it was substandard. I had been there twice before since late May 2015 and both were satisfactory. They need to have better control over the food ingredients , preparation and service for unsatisfactory dishes served. It showed them as trying to be sophisticated but are not a classy place. oh well, their sister restaurant Alta in SF is so overrated too."
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Plum Bar is the place to be!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2013
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We went to the PB before a concert at the Fox. The service was most excellent and the food was delicious. It seemed like the perfect place to meet friends or for a nice dinner, I believe they accommodate both sides of the night life. It is excellently located, fun menu items and full bar."
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Little Hot Spot

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"My girls and I had a awesome time. I love a bar that serves local brew as well as exotic. Any place that serves Hanger 1 has five stars from me. Lighting and music was cool."
Dined on 2/19/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/23/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2013
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2013
Special Features: hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Limited menu done well

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The place itself is very appealing to the eye. Nice ambiance, cool bar. Food was good, but not many choices on menu. Burgers, fried chicken sandwich, fish & chips. Apps looked delicious, we had the turkey meatballs which were great. For dinner I had the happy meal. This consisted of a 1/2 pound burger, smoked fries, a craft beer and a shot of four roses bourbon for $25. Date had the fish & chips. Batter was delicious and thick. Unfortunately service is slow and not very strong. Had to remind our server that we ordered drinks, which we had to wait quite a while to order. Could see others trying to get our sever's attention. At the end of the meal she brought the wrong bill. It wasn't even close. Stronger more attentive service would push this place over the top for me."
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2015
Special Features: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 2/15/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Plum is now only a bar

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/09/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/09/2016
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"When we arrived at Plum, we found the restaurant closed, with the windows papered over. Even though Plum accepted our reservation as if it were still in the restaurant business, in reality it is now only a bar. As bars go, it is certainly acceptable. It is, however, small and extremely noisy, with the requisite blaring music playing on top of the whatever conversation patrons are attempting to have. Because there are so many special bars to choose from, we wouldn't rush back to this one. The restaurant was a gem, but alas, it is no longer open."
Dined on 2/09/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 2/09/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Falafel burger is really amazing."
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2005
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2005
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2005
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Cool and casual hangout with good food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Overall, we had a good experience. It was more of a night out at a bar/pub rather than a nice sit down dining experience. The there was no hostess that made getting situated a bit confusing but once we were seated, service was fine. Burgers were good, but the broccoli was the star."
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2004
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"New fav neighborhood spot for a casual weekend dinner. Everything was delicious."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2002
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2002
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Burger fine, drinks fine, fried chicken with egg sandwich inedible-chicken had consistency of rubber."
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Enjoy Plum Bar prior to most Oakland Speaker Serie

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2007
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Very lackluster and uninspired menu.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/14/2016
 2005
Dined on 1/14/2016
 2005
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/14/2016
 2005
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Plum...not what I expected

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2008
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2008
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"After reading a lot of the reviews, I read mostly really positive reviews, so I figured why not give it a shot! When my friend and I arrived, there was nobody there to greet-us and even after being ignored by the bartender for 3-5 min, a nice hostess/waitress finally came-up to greet us and seated us promptly.
After ordering our drinks, it took a good 10 minutes before they came, despite the fact that the restaurant wasn't busy at all and those that were there, already had their food and drinks. I must say that they do make drinks well, but unfortunately I think that's the only thing. When it was time to order, we all ordered the fish & chips, which had received rave reviews from my friends, who have frequented the restaurant before. After our food arrived, the first thing I noticed was that my fish and chips being served in a plastic basket! Had we been at Long John Silver's, I would've expected this, but not in an establishment with nice décor and a menu that with moderately priced items--We paid $19 for the fish and chips. However, the biggest disappointment was when we tried to eat the fish. The batter was soggy and after sawing through the soft doughy batter with our fork and took a bite... the fish smelled and tasted extremely fishy! Not just mine, but all of ours! Not good! The waitress was nice and apologetic and accommodated our request to change to the burger, which was delivered within 5 minutes. So, despite the bad experience with our initial order, we still tried to enjoy our experience and hoped to have more drinks or even dessert after dinner, but to our surprise, we weren't asked, but instead given our bill. When asked about dessert, we were told they no longer are serving dessert, despite the fact that it was apart of the Prix Fix menu for Oakland Restaurant Week. When pressed on that, we were told that there was no way that we could order that dessert... at all!!!
Very disappointed and unfortunately will not go back!"
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/06/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/06/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/06/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/05/2016
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2003
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2003
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2009
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2006
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food and service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Enjoyed this place very much, was visiting Oakland for New Years Eve and was impressed by the food, service and atmosphere."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Plumb recently changed their menu

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2003
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2003
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Jim and I had been there about a year and a half ago and in the meantime they have changed their memo to more burger and beer while still serving other dishes. Berger seems to be the big seller for the 20-30 crowd. The deviled eggs were unbelievably good. The fish and chips less so.
I was a little surprised at the price point and the price value relationship. Did not seem to be there."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2003
Special Features: good for groups, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/30/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2005
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Plum Bar + Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/22/2015
 2005
Dined on 12/22/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/22/2015
 2005
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>