Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Small Wonder Food and Wine Reviews List

Small Wonder Food and Wine

Local, Organic, Chill...
Neighborhood bistro dedicated to serving the greater Highlands the best, cleanest, most humane, most local ingredients available in thoughtful and clever preparations. Our wine and cocktails are carefully curated and accessible.
Décor is simple and elegant. Dress code: be yourself
See more Small Wonder Food and Wine details
66 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
(66 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 66 reviews
5 stars
(25)
4 stars
(24)
3 stars
(11)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(30)
  • fit for foodies(28)
  • romantic(14)
  • special occasion(14)
  • notable wine list(12)
  • great for brunch(11)
Small Wonder Food and Wine Reviews List
Review 1 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/31/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Charcuterie and the mussels were my favorite! Great recommendation from our server on the wine, too! Everything is sourced locally and wonderful!"
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Strange

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was very good, but the service literally made us laugh. It didn't feel hospitable. We eat out quite a bit, and this is one of the first places in a long time that we have been asked to keep our silverware between courses. That sounds snobby, and maybe it is an unstated environmental choice, but it felt stingy.
Two in our party finished eating, their plates were cleared and they were asked if they wanted dessert while the other two were still clearly not finished with their meals. Stinginess with silverware continued with dessert. One of us ordered coffee. When he asked for a refill, he was brought a quarter cup and told it was the end of the pot and they were out of beans. Hmm...
Each of these is small things, but they added up - along with a general awkwardness from the moment we walked in the door. Perhaps the waiter was new, or had an off night, but given the pricing, we expected better."
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delicious food!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We started with the delicious squash Delicata, followed with amazing gourmet cheeseburgers, then finished with amazing bread pudding with HOMEMADE ice-cream made in-house! So good, service was great."
Dined on 10/29/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2010
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2010
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/20/2015
 2009
Dined on 10/20/2015
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was decent but nothing special. This used to be the Coral Room which was consistently bad. This is the same owner but new kitchen. Although the food is improved slightly, they are trying to be like every other restaurant in town, offering small plates and unoriginal entrées."
Dined on 10/20/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Love this place!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"So glad to see this place still going strong after switching owners. Brunch is as great as it ever was, and I haven't been in for dinner in a while, but I hear they have a great new menu! So looking forward to trying it out! Try the peach and goat cheese pancakes for brunch, and if you get the smash potato hash, you HAVE to get it with the sausage, and add green chili on top. What a delicious combo!"
Dined on 10/18/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Will give it another chance

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2005
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2005
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Had not been back here since they changed to new name/new owners. Service was very good, space very comfortable, and the menu was appealing. Unfortunately the food did not meet expectations. Best part of the meal was the appetizer of chips and goat chees dips and the ice cream with dessert! But the salad was over dressed and droopy, and took the server's recommendation of the wagyu beef with the assurance that it was tender. It ended up being very chewy and disappointing. The brussel sprouts were the best thing on the plate. The pumpkin pie dessert was good, with the ricotta ice cream really being the star. Would not currently recommend to others but will try going back to give them another chance!"
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Dined for the first time at Small Wonder this past weekend for brunch. Great service, delicious and creative menu offerings. We will definitely be back!"
Dined on 10/11/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great place

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went here twice now and food was excellent both times. The prices are very reasonable for a nice meal out. Service is always attentive. Menu and chef is very flexible for food allergies. really kind, friendly waiter (same one both times). Highly recommend it. menu is changing with the sasons but the chicken with duck rillette and quail egg is awesome. Appetizers (tomato with chick peas, Charcuterie, and fish tartare) were very good. the bouillabaisse was excellent and a great value."
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2006
Special Features: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/15/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2005
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2005
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

high quality overall

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The server Davey was fantastic, very helpful selecting wines and explaining the menu items (there were several dish names we didn't recognize). Located in a beautiful neighborhood. Great wine list! $2 off wine glasses on Tuesday!!"
Dined on 9/08/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/02/2015
 2012
Dined on 9/02/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 9/02/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2012
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2002
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very nice and enjoyable.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/11/2015
 2009
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I know it is called small wonders, but the servings of the main dishes were extremely small for the cost and quality. Food wasn't terrible, but nothing to impress."
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2010
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

The food was average and the price outrageous.

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2010
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

An improvement

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I had liked Coral Room for a while. Then it went downhill, way downhill. My last experience was so bad I vowed never to return. So when I read that the restaurant had changed hands and there were changes made, I gave it a try. The food was good, but the portions very small. The waitress was super friendly and good. I'll go again and see how it holds up."
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/13/2015
 2012
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

limited menu, expensive for what you get . . .

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Menu is different than posted on open table. The mahi was good but small . . . more begged would be a nice addition. A chicken dish would be a nice addition."
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

My first time here

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"And I'll be back.
I wasn't to impressed with the shrimp prawn appatizer. I can't even agree too call them prawns. They weren't large enough. The soup of the day was vegetable with some kick to it and it was fresh and delicious I loved it. The cab I had was also fresh. I can't remember the name of it and I love that they served Very nice selection of beer. I understand they serve a nice brunch on Friday Saturday and Sunday and I looked at the menu and it was impressive So, that is probably the next time I will go back And last but not least the music was so relaxing.
"
Dined on 4/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Loved the atmosphere

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had an out of town guest who is def. not a foodie...did not appreciate the unique menu items so we only stayed for drinks which I was not happy about...there were numerous menu items that I was dying to try!"
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2012
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2009
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was great. Portions incredibly small. Prices high for the amount of food and the quality of service. Location is terrible."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/19/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/19/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Awesome service, great presentation of meals. Meals were simply delectable."
Dined on 2/19/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Perfect for the occasion!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It was Valentine's Day and we decided to give Coral Room a try. We expected there to be a wait of some sort, either for our table or for our meal. Our table was immediately available and we were given a choice of the regular menu, or a specially prepared 3 course selection for Valentine's Day.
We did have a bit of a wait for our first course, but that could be my fault for choosing the bone marrow. But our hostess was amazing! Layne went above and beyond to stay engaged and keep things active. We were given a flight of wines to compliment each of the courses and our meals and desserts were perfect. It was the best duck dish that I have ever tasted and the blueberry turnover was amazing!
"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food was poor considering the price, steak tough.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Steak was tough and tiny. There was enough steak for no more than 8 bites. Halibut was tiny too. Price way high for amount of food and quality"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The gem of the neighborhood!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"And the new management The Coral Room is striving. Delicious food is busted out of that place. Must try it!"
Dined on 1/20/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Rudely Selfish

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The Coral Room in the Highlands neighborhood of Denver is quite the find. I have this strong urge to be rudely selfish and NOT share what a gem it is -- keeping it a secret so as not to spoil my future experiences.
This restaurant sits in a storefront location, which generally is a dissuader for me. However, I had made an online reservation for New Year's eve. And I was very happy that I did. This attractively furnished place is an intimate venue with an extremely caring staff. Within minutes of arrival, I felt like I was a very welcome guest in a friend's home. The service was attentive -- delivered with warmth, humor and efficiency. It was quite clear that this team was focused on making this dining experience a memorable pleasure.
Wow -- the food at Coral Room is delicious. Again, I would have felt "rudely selfish" if I did not offer samples of my plate to my dining companion. This food is too good not to share. Their menu proposes a wide variety of delicious sounding choices. (I am looking forward to exploring other offerings at the next visit.) While the "farm to table" kitchen concept is evident and appreciated, it is presented without being the least bit pretentious.
If you are looking for a special spot to share drinks or dinning, please do go to the Coral Room if you must; but let's keep this secret just between us."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food good, service middling

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was really delicious. The service just ok. Had to ask for several basic items. Bar service was very slow even though the restaurant was not terribly busy."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Had an early dinner here. Interesting menu. Ordered what the server suggested and it was terrific. Roasted pumpkin and spinach salad, pork shoulder with red cabbage and potatoes, homemade pear pie to finish it off."
Dined on 12/10/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

patchy menu

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/30/2014
 2013
Dined on 11/30/2014
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"While the breakfast burrito i got and the eggs Benedict my friend got were delicious we had to change our order as items on the menu were no longer available. This happened twice. Very disappointing bit delicious."
Dined on 11/30/2014
 2013
Special Features: great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/08/2014
 2012
Dined on 12/08/2014
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"A little disappointed. I have been going to Coral Room for years and we took an out of town guest.
My drink was very bitter (cocktail) I'm not sure what mixer they were using. I switched to wine!
We were thrilled that they had put the bison burger back on the menu. More than a little disappointing as they were smail and somewhat flavorless especially for the price.
We will go back, but I wonder if they changed chefs. It was so different!!"
Dined on 12/08/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Small Wonder Food and Wine
Based on the average of (22) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
13 out of 17 recommend this product
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic