Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

The Palace Restaurant and Saloon Reviews List

The Palace Restaurant and Saloon

The legendary Palace Restaurant and Saloon recalls the gambling halls and bordellos of the Old West with red flocked wallpaper and the original saloon doors from 1837. Our menu is affordable contemporary and classic American, Italian and Spanish dishes. Serving everything from the Green Chile Smash Burger to Pork Chops, Pizza to Ribeyes, Vegetarian to Osso Bucco, a delicious cocktail menu, drafts, espresso drinks, or something from our fabulous wine list.

Two blocks from the Plaza in downtown Santa Fe, The Palace is perfectly located for visitors and locals. It's always buzzing with live music & dancing. The saloon offers up its handsome menu until 1am Tues-Sat and 11pm on Sundays.

See more The Palace Restaurant and Saloon details
62 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(62 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 62 reviews
5 stars
(20)
4 stars
(22)
3 stars
(9)
2 stars
(7)
1 star
(4)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • vibrant bar scene(22)
  • special occasion(19)
  • good for groups(18)
  • late-night find(18)
  • fit for foodies(14)
  • romantic(14)
The Palace Restaurant and Saloon Reviews List
Review 1 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Enjoyable!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Christmas Eve dinner was amazing!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2013
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2013
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Charming interior! Great service. My daughter loved the New York Strip. Guacamole BLT is great. Good pizza."
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/08/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/08/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/08/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/13/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Hi thank you for asking. I would not be responding if you hadn't asked . As your employees new the evening of thanksgiving at 4:00 arrived a few minuets later than i a attended to BUT STILL ON TIME. My dinner partners are a recently married elderly couple One being a vet crack Air force fighter pilot who has seen plenty of action . The husband is apparently beginning to show signs of Alzheimer, he got lost after parking the car, upon my arrival,and hearing this news advised his bride that we had to call the Police,which found him in the next 30 min.s documented wandering on the Plaza ,brought immediately down the street to the Palace.When he arrived to the Palace,their had only been two women at a large booth in the whole dining room,a bit of a let down . We went to get our food ,we ate our dinner in hast as we were hungry looking forward to a refill of our plates including enjoying picking out any deserts which are a luxury, a treat as we all work out min. 3 times a week. The waitress came up asking if their was anything we needed. I told her id like another martini the same as my friends were having and that i thought we would all go back to the buffet and have a few more Pisces of our favorite foods to be told THE ENTIRE BUFFET HAD BEEN PUT UP. we looked at one another, i asked could we have just a sliver of any kind of pie from the buffet. She took me at my word and gave us slivers of pie nothing else My bill for ''BUFFET DINING' was'OVER 200.00 I WOULD LIKE to see this made right either cash or credit.My friend Bonnie Has inoperative lung cancer. This is her last thanksgiving, Newman Peyton"
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2012
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Not how I remember The Palace....

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2007
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2007
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The Palace was my choice to celebrate my birthday with my family and we were extremely disappointed with the service and food. Menu is rather limited and the waiter acted like it was a chore to serve us. I settled for a $12 salad (because there was nothing on the menu I wanted to eat) which was good, but the portion size didn't match the price. Gone are the days of great service and food at The Palace."
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2007
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/15/2015
 2010
Dined on 10/15/2015
 2010
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/15/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

We came for steak

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We came for steak and were very pleased with the New York Strip special. The roasted beet salad was delicious and a great compliment to the steak. My husband loved the key lime pie for dessert."
Dined on 10/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/27/2015
 2005
Dined on 9/27/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/27/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

a diamond in the rough

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The decor was unique like going back to the late 1800's. The food was outstanding all prepared fresh to order. They were out of Shrimp that evening but the chef used the catch of the day in the same entree and she was very happy.
A great dining experience and will recommend to my friends when they visit Santa Fe."
Dined on 9/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointing dinner

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"If all that mattered at dinner was attentive, friendly service and a nice atmosphere, then the Palace would be great. Unfortunately, the food part needs to be decent and it was not. The best thing we ate were actually the chicken fingers meant for my daughter. They were pretty good. Everything else ranged from average to inedible. Too bad because the service couldn't have been nicer."
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The Palace Restaurant and Saloon Lives Again!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"No longer a snazzy upscale restaurant serving sweetbreads and fine European pastries, the Palace Restaurant and Saloon has been preserved/refurbished(in a historical sense)by owner Christine. Victorian tin ceiling, red flocked wallpaper(not just in the bar anymore). The bar area is just as it had been for decades, at least since the 70's when I went there with my parents for special occasions, and continued to do so until it was sold sometime in the early/mid 2000's. Christine righted some of the aesthetic wrongs done by a short term previous owner. Great job.There is now an area that can be used for a performance area, right in the restaurant; great addition.The space for a small band still exists in the bar, and now there is no wall, just a 1/2wall with nice heavy drapery that can be opened for general admission for shows in the main room. Very clever. We are so happy too that Christine was a able to retrieve the name and logo for the iconic downtown spot. We do miss the red tufted leather booths that were a mainstay of the Palace and sadly, the famous tacky and politically incorrect Indian Princess painting on black velvet in the bar was not able to be procured.
Saw a great Burlesque show the other night after enjoying dinner; we did not even have to leave our table.Christine(owner) actually chose our table for us, and she treated us like royalty.The menu is small but quite diverse. We were impressed by the flexibility shown when special dietary needs were met, and everything was delicious. We had the Caesar Salad, The Palace Green Chile Cheese Smash Burger and Salted Truffle Fries. All was yummy... while this menu is not like the"old" continental menu of bygone years, artfully creative food at a reasonable price fits the space and ambiance. It felt like coming home. Special thanks to Christine for her gracious customer service, and for restoring this iconic space to a thriving place for locals as well as traveler's.
The Palace Restaurant and Saloon lives!"
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Burr

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Was a very enjoyable evening..the food and drinks were marvelous. The service superb"
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great evening, reasonable prices, excellent food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always a fun place to go

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We like The Place because it is not too crowded usually, quite affordable and they have good food and a nice wait staff. We really loved the stuffed squash blossom appetizer the other night!"
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/30/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2014
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not up to previous standards

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Have dined here before with greater satisfaction with food. Will probably try again in next few weeks but will skip canaloni and fish and chips. The vegetable of the day was asparagus and perfectly grilled."
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointing meals.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/01/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2002
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Italian tapas

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"What a cool concept ... Italian tapas. Great wine to go with it. Very nice outdoor seating, watching the Santa Fe pedestrian traffic pass by. Loved the red interior too."
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2007
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Not so hot

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our food was too spicy. If this much is heat is going to be used it should be noted on the menu. The burratta was served iced cold, so the creaminess of the cheese was lost. I let it sit for a while and it got much better. The evening was brought to an unpleasant close by a group of 5 who thought they were the only ones in the place and could be loud and obnoxious, tho that is not a fault of the restaurant per se."
Dined on 5/05/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A great evening...

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We enjoyed dinner from the table side guacamole to the raspberry enchiladas! Service was friendly and attentive...a bit slow with coffee refills after the meal. Husband was tiring of Mexican and southwestern favors after days in Santa Fe so he was not excited initially, but was pleased with choices and service."
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2013
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2013
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Only couple there for dinner, Good band in the next room."
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place to hang

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2014
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My steak was burnt, but other than that, it was awesome!!!
The place was super busy, Saturday night and all. Anne is amazing, always takes great care of us. Drinks never empty..... People watching is stellar, music good, it's the scene any night of the week.
"
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

20 min wait before getting water or seeing server

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food wasn't worth dealing with the poor service"
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Fantastic food and service!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The room is so very dated and not pleasant at all...so dark that I noticed most dining patrons were using their phones to try to read menus....the horrific line of red lights along the ceiling are a bit much. HOWEVER...the food was such a pleasant surprise! Fantastic find! And the service was outstanding....I love in SF but did not realize what a great chef you have there...will definitely be back.....when I mention to others that we should go...the usual comment is about the decor and the impression that it is not a great place to dine."
Dined on 3/05/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Throwback to the 70s

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Strange decor, lots of RED. Music too loud for casual conversation. Food was good although overpriced."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Valentines Date

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My wife and I had a great Valentines meal and the live music was really great."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Birthday visit

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our waiter (Monk) was terrific, congenial and accommodating.
Chef too, whipped up a shrimp appetizer that was outstanding.
Our prime rib was perfectly rare and succulent.
We regret that we were too full to sample the desserts.
However, the booths are very dark. Our waiter provided a flashlight,
which was a nice touch, since we would have needed Braille otherwise.
As for ambiance, the restaurant doesn't have the same decadent charm
as the old Palace, but I know it will soon; as more locals discover it and break
it in!
The Blue Grass Band, in the bar, was excellent and the crowd
friendly and receptive. Very enjoyable for a festive 70th Birthday
Dinner.
"
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Tried something new and liked it.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We met friends at The Palace and it was new to all of us. We're regular Santa Fe visitors, friends live in the area. Live music in the bar was great quality but was a bit loud in the dining room preventing normal adult conversation. However, the band didn't play constantly so we enjoyed the sound. Pastas are indeed fresh and quite good. Most everything ordered was very well received. Front-of-house is a little unskilled - we had to seek out the coat check (which they actually have but didn't offer.)"
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

great pork chop

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We stopped in for dinner after our drive down from Colorado Springs. I ordered the grilled pork chop with ratatouille and creamy polenta. It was excellent. My friend ordered the chicken picatta which I thought was a bit grainy. She said it was too salty (maybe too many capers). The real downside was the country trio that seemed to have a local following but to the objective customer, they weren't very pleasingly to listen to."
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We went for NYE and had a great time!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Inside its romantic, dark, very clean, with dark wood and red velvet flocked wallpaper. They have a beautiful bar thats well stocked and a separate dinning room. There was live hot Jazz music and a dance floor which we took advantage of. The food was really good ( we ordered quite a few things over the 4.5 hours we were there) and they had a nice wine list. Our waiter was patient, knowledgeable and all around awesome on what was a very hectic evening. We will go back for sure."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Food!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Hadn't been to the Palace in over 25 years. The interior decor hasn't changed, thank goodness. The decor is part of the overall experience. The restaurant has a casual feel, but don't let that fool you. The service was fantastic. The food "ooh" and "aw" worthy. Not a large menu selection. There were four of us and we each had something different. Each of us was VERY pleased with our choice."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Most Enjoyable

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We asked to be seated in the backroom off of the patio. Perfect for us because we wanted to converse. It was wonderful. We did not hear anything coming from the main dining room or bar scene which is very lively and energetic. Seems like a popular place for a much younger crowd. Band and Bar. Our server was attentive and informed about the wine selections. We enjoyed our meal and had a very pleasant time overall.
Thank you."
Dined on 12/10/2014
 2012
Special Features: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for The Palace Restaurant and Saloon
Based on the average of (13) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
9 out of 13 recommend this product
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.8 / 3
Energetic