Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Helga's German Restaurant & Deli Reviews List

Helga's German Restaurant & Deli

Established in 1989 as a mother-daughter venture, Helga's German Restaurant and Deli began as a small, four-table restaurant. Today, Helga's has expanded but has not departed from its humble beginnings, gathering a loyal foundation of consistently satisfied customers.
The owners and friendly staff of Helga's aim to provide you with the best German dining and shopping experience at reasonable prices. We encourage you to browse our deli featuring fresh German meats, cheeses and breads, as well as the bakery, which offers an assortment of Chef Stefan's cheesecakes and strudels and Susan's specialty tortes when visiting Helga's.
Helga, Herbert and family maintain a warm and friendly environment where you can sit down to a delicious home-style German meal with family and friends. In the true spirit of a family-owned restaurant, Helga and Herbert are directly involved in ensuring the satisfaction of each and every one of their customers.
See more Helga's German Restaurant & Deli details
64 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
(64 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 64 reviews
5 stars
(26)
4 stars
(20)
3 stars
(11)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(4)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(28)
  • neighborhood gem(23)
  • great for lunch(18)
  • kid-friendly(18)
  • fit for foodies(15)
  • special occasion(14)
Helga's German Restaurant & Deli Reviews List
Review 1 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

I'm sure it will get better...

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"As Herb was great to make the white radish salad, the meal was cold. The service was poor. The server screwed up almost every aspect of the order and believe he also overcharged on both tickets. The food seemed pre made and warned in a microwave. I brought new guests that said they would never return nor would they ever recommend Helga's. I might stick to the beer & brawts next time, if we return. I believe Herb is honestly attempting improve the situation."
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2008
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/21/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Lots of fun and great food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Wow, what a fun time! The staff was exceptional! The food awesome! And, then the german beer! Yummy!"
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Charming German Restaurant with all the right touches, food was delicious and served hot"
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Birthday Dinner.........

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Thank goodness for delicious food as the service leaves much to be desired. We had a 6:30 reservation, seated promptly however it was 30 minutes later before anyone took our drink order and it was well after 8:00 when we were finally served dinner. The meal was delicious though as were the desserts. I will surely come back and hope that the service improves before my next visit."
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I had a group of friends come with me to a birthday dinner and it was fantastic."
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Glad my family introduced me to Helga's.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We celebrated my sister's birthday on a Sunday. We found the environment very welcoming to our elderly mother. The service was attentive and helpful when we had questions. We enjoyed the wine and beer list as well as the delicious food."
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Delicious Food!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Good, authentic German food. Fun atmosphere and the weekend bands are a ton of fun!"
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Five years I lived there and I can return anytime.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Great food as always, but I tried the ham hock for the first time, Ausgezichnet!!! We happened upon their german band night that was preceded but a marvelous german accordion player (who snuck in an Irish "wild Rover tune"LOL). Had such a great time!"
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/16/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place for German Cuisine!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Delicious Schnitzel and great staff made for a very pleasant evening all around."
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Comfortable and Authentic

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I liked it. Good German food and a relaxed setting."
Dined on 11/24/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2013
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/11/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Heavy German food. Overcooked.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/04/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This restaurant is by far one of the best I have ever been too. The attentiveness if the staff was stellar. My family enjoyed the whole experience. I'd recommend the restaurant to freinds. family, and stranger's."
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Will go back for sure!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"A great place on this side of town with a great selection of German food and beer! Highly recommend! Friendly staff & good parking. The radish salad was outstanding! Wonderful portions. We went on a Thursday evening. Avoid the traffic of downtown & discover Helga's!"
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Authentic German Food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"SkinnylinnyAll dishes and desserts are authentic German like we had in Germany. Also a deli with German-style meats, cheese and bread as well as condiments and other German goodies."
Dined on 10/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2010
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 10/13/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Our server yvonne was very good! Great!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2010
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/21/2013
 2015
Dined on 12/21/2013
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/21/2013
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/16/2015
 2014
Dined on 9/16/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 9/16/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Lived in Germany 5 years. I'm aware of no better place for German food and atmosphere."
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2009
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

My German friends and I love to lunch here.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My friends live in Colorado Springs, and I live in Denver. We meet at Helga's for authentic German food. I had the traditional schnitzel. Mine was a bit dry, but still good. The others had Jaeger Schnitzel and Rouladen. We were all pleased."
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

German Food, Birthday Dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I took my finance for his birthday, food was authentic, beer was heavenly. He really enjoyed his surprise dinner. We had apple strudel for desert (a little disappointed since it was made out of filo) but over all everything else was perfect."
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2011
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Authentic german cuisine at its

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/07/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good Service, average food.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2009
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The service was great. This place is very kid friendly and I can appreciate why some people go there. That said, I expected the food to be a bit better. It wasn't terrible, but the meat was a but tough, the salad and soup lacked imagination. I suppose we should have just lowered our expectations. If you are looking for a kid friendly place with a good beer selection and large servings, then Helgas is an option for you. If however you are a foodie, then this is not the place."
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Going-away lunch

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The office had lunch there for a co-worker's farewell. Everyone loved it...especially those that had actually lived in Germany. I great hit will all especially when the office felt we had been stuck with the large chain restaurants that are prevalent in the Aurora town center. We've found our new favorite place!"
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/26/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/26/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/26/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

100% authentic food!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It's like I was back in Germany! The food is 100% authentic! the little shopping area is a bonus!"
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Arrived early and the staff could not find our reservation but did seat us right away. After receiving an iced tea, we were ignored. After sitting there for around forty minutes with no service, we left. Will not be back."
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good German Food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Traditional German Restaurants are not common, but Helga's fits the bill. I had Rouladen which was excellent, and there were lots of varieties of Schnitzel. Wasn't too busy and the noise wasn't loud."
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Good food and service. We did not agree with the extra $1 fee for an "upsize portion for a man" (we did not request) and the extra $9 service fee which does not include the waiter's tip. We were told "the owner's say this is the way it's done in Europe." Well, we are not in Europe and I've been all over the world. We Americans are some of the few in the world who tip at all. This felt like double dipping. You either charge a flat service fee or tip, one or the other. Based on this I probably will not return."
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Awesome service - Great food and it makes you feel like you are at home!!!"
Dined on 3/24/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Helga's German Restaurant & Deli
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

They add a 15% service charge to your bill

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were not only charged amounts higher than what was listed on the menu, but they also added a 15% service fee to the bill. It was explained to us that this is so they can pay a "living wage" to their employees. That part is fine, but I take issue with the bait and switch that is pulled on the customers. They also said that the 15% fee doesn't include gratuity which is also expected.
I'm sure they have good intentions here, but the practice of surprising customers with these fees is shady as heck. I honestly wouldn't have minded if they told us about it up front, but sticking it to us when it's too late to change our selections is just bad service. Further, I think that a person should get gratuity OR a "living wage," but not both. The one offsets the other.
Otherwise, the food was good, the service was okay and the ambiance was fine. I would have definitely gone back if not for the sticker shock at the end of the meal."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>