Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Circus - NYC Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Circus - NYC

Circus Restaurant has been serving fine Brazilian cuisine for over 17 years. While the menu stays true to their family's recipes, there is a sophistication to each dish.
52 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(52 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
5 stars
(17)
4 stars
(25)
3 stars
(6)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(0)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(21)
  • fit for foodies(19)
  • romantic(18)
  • good for groups(12)
  • great for lunch(11)
  • special occasion(11)
Circus - NYC Reviews List
Review 1 for Circus - NYC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2008
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2008
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2008
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Circus - NYC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was good, drinks great, cozy spot in Manhattan."
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Circus - NYC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/30/2015
 2005
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Circus - NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Outstanding service, delicious food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2004
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2004
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The service was top notch from the minute we arrived and last for our long stay. The food was delicious, all recommendaround were spot on. The salads were fresh and delicious, the chicken stroganoff was amazing, and the shrimp is squash was decedent.
The decor is beautiful, very classic and clean."
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2004
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Circus - NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Circus - NYC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Restaurant Week Find

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I wanted to participate in NYC's 'Restaurant Week' but, I didn't want to go somewhere I'd been so I looked for some place not to far from home but, with food I wanted.
I wanted steak & I got it! When I walked into the dimly lit setup filled with couples I just wanted to eat in an inconspicuous area. The hostesses placed me dead center until I motioned to s more obscure seat. I don't mind eating alone but I don't like staring.
Anyhoo though the steak didn't appear how I thought the taste was excellent! The tender beef basically melted in my mouth. The potatoes & reduction complimented the meat well. The 3 courses started with Lula (calamari & mesclun greens) of which I've had better and concluded with bolo (chocolate cake & icecream) of which I wanted more.
The overall experience was nice I liked the mirrors & circus themed photos.
"
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Circus - NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Good time

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was delicious. The service was great. The scene was romantic. Definitely recommending this place to others."
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Circus - NYC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Romantic Brazilian

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This lovely Brazilian brasserie is an oasis of charm and good food in our hectic Upper East Side neighborhood. The atmosphere is welcoming, the service is good (improved from a few years ago), and the food is exceptionally and consistently high quality. Favorites: the tropical salad, the miso cod--on the small side, but always delicious--and the filling and creamy shrimp "moranaga," served in a bowl of acorn squash. A great place for a romantic dinner or to bring out of town guests you want to impress but at a reasonable price."
Dined on 3/30/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Circus - NYC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

A Touch of Brazil

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food and service were both fine, though not outstanding. We were neither disappointed nor impressed. We have no complaints but neither is there any special appeal drawing us back."
Dined on 3/23/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Circus - NYC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Mediocre food with a hefty price tag

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/04/2015
 2009
Dined on 3/04/2015
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I've heard the warnings about restaurant week bringing out the worst in a place -- and it proved true at Circus. Surprisingly bland dishes, including appetizer "pastels" (dry micro-empanadas the size of my thumbnail) and overcooked chicken featured in the "Passarinho" main. Most disturbing was the half-inch-thick strip of chewy gristle on my steak. I have been to other restaurants who are able to serve a prix fix without cutting the quality so dramatically. What gives? If the meal had been as delicious as I'd hoped, I would have happily returned and paid full price for my favorite dishes in the future."
Dined on 3/04/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Circus - NYC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nice ambience and courteous service but ....

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"If ambience is all you're looking for its a nice pleasant and charming restaurant. Four small shrimps in a casserole is not worth the price. The greasy fried calamari with zucchini strips also overpriced. The Brazilian steak was ok, but neither seasoned nor presented well. Next time our visit will be only for the caipirinha."
Dined on 3/04/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Circus - NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Nice Ambiance

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Staff very pleasant and attentive. Great ambiance. Music was nice."
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Circus - NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Loved it

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I think this has been my best restaurant experience ever! The food was great from beginning to end. The service was amazing. My glass of water was never empty. The food came quickly. We sat at a table tucked into the corner which was quiet and we were never forgotten by the servers. Loved it all. Will go again."
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Circus - NYC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Good was not described as what it says on menu. Service was pretty good, they didn't offer me a new drink but I'm not judging off that. Multiple people were servicing us rather I preffer 1 person so I know where the tip is going!"
Dined on 2/19/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Circus - NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food and service!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My boyfriend and I came here for Valentine's Day. The dinner menu is kind of small, but there's a good variety of food. I had the moqueca and he had the feijoada. Both were very flavorful and well-cooked. The service was excellent. The only slight drawback was the appetizer. We ordered the chicken pastel. There wasn't much chicken inside and it wasn't that flavorful. I'll definitely be coming back here."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Circus - NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Upper East Side DELICIOUSNESS

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Find and enjoy. The drinks are excellent, the bread is fabulous, as are the entrees. Acorn Squash isn't to be missed..."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Circus - NYC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food was very disappointing for a beef lover.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Beef dish stringy and over cooked... a stew with interesting flavors but not worth ordering again."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Circus - NYC
Based on the average of (35) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
27 out of 28 recommend this product
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic