Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Il Fornaio - San Francisco Reviews List

Il Fornaio - San Francisco

Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. This award-winning restaurant offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience. Specialties include wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; a wide variety of desserts; and fresh baked bread made daily from scratch. Winner of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007.
See more Il Fornaio - San Francisco details
463 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(463 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 463 reviews
5 stars
(204)
4 stars
(169)
3 stars
(60)
2 stars
(20)
1 star
(10)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(184)
  • great for lunch(153)
  • special occasion(147)
  • neighborhood gem(128)
  • fit for foodies(119)
  • romantic(93)
Il Fornaio - San Francisco Reviews List
Review 1 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2010
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/03/2015
 2013
Dined on 8/03/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/03/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Fabulous Food!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The food is excellent! The wait table service was fine. The only reason I didn't give four stars overall is that I entered the restaurant twice expecting to be greeted and seated. I had reservations. Not once did anyone acknowledge me until a faculty member from my university, who was also dining there took it upon himself to get the attention of the hosts. Then I was greeted and seated. Not the best way to begin a fine dining experience. While I will give high ratings to the food, I won't forget the poor greeting."
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2015
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 4/22/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

very good pizza

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"My family and I were dying to go to Il Fornaio for lunch. We decided to drive to Levis Plaza and give it a try. We absolutely loved it! It was such a fun and charming restaurant! I expected a wait list but they were able to accommodate us right away. I loved the layout! There is a full bar and wood fire oven. The menu is awesome- so many pizzas, appetizers, salads, desserts, and a great cocktail/wine menu! We started with the fried calamary, it was so good! As our entrees, we split three pizzas All three were delicious- perfect! I did slightly prefer the pizza Christina. The truffle drizzled on top was absolutely delicious. It is definitely one of my favorite pizza places I've ever been to. I would definitely go back to try the other dishes. Plus, who doesn't love a good glass of wine with their pizza?"
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

yummy

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Came here for dinner last night, it was spectacular! The ambiance, the service, the food, the wine! The service was beyond wonderful! From the minute we walked in the door we were greeted, walked to our table, put a napkin on my lap and then served us warm fresh bread with olive oil and balsamic WOULD'VE LICKED THE PLATE! We didn't feel rushed AT ALL! The Caesar and mixed salad were fresh and perfectly dressed. The pollo toscano (wow!!!) the linguine mare (FRESH!!!) and pizza (cheesssy!!!) the table side dessert (perfection!!!). limoncello (what!? Yup! Awesome!). Thank you everyone at Il Fornaio for one of our favorite Italian meals and date nights!"
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great place

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Hands down one of my favorite restaurants in San Francisco! I'm pretty picky when it comes to food and service just because I've spent many years working in the food industry. The service here is AMAZING and on point! Very attentive and the manager and waiter are the sweetest. My boyfriend and I always requests the same guy! Food is great. Best tiramisu! Highly recommended! The pasta's definitely some of the best I've ever had and everything the server recommended was amazing. The capellaci di zucca was amazing and definitely made in house. The pizza's we ordered were both amazing made with fresh ingredients and quite delicious and full of flavor. The salmon was cooked to perfection and went well with the veggies they came with, wow if I had room I would definitely have had seconds. Aside from the amazing food the service was wonderful, on point and impeccable. Our server was attentive and definitely walked is through the menu and made some great suggestions that did not disappoint. Having been here twice I am definitely looking forward to a third visit."
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 4/17/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great gluten free pasta

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/19/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/19/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Gluten free pasta. Yes, I am one of those people. Call it what you will: the pasta challenged,
In my quest to find a good authentic Italian restaurant I could enjoy a good meal at with friends I found this gem. It took all of my willpower to keep from licking my plate and I managed to keep it dignified despite my lowered inhibitions from the bottle of wine we consumed.
This place is so authentically Italian they actually care about your food allergies. In Italy the population is well educated about celiac disease which affects 1 in every 100 people worldwide. Most restaurants there have gluten free options because there is nothing more important than sitting down with friends and family and sharing a meal together. Here I felt welcome like I was family and I didn't feel I was an inconvenience when I told them about my food allergies.
This place has become one of my favorite places in the city. I will be back, Thank you Jose and Estefania"
Dined on 4/19/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2006
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/12/2016
 2010
Dined on 4/12/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/12/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Il Formaio

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/10/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/10/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"As always, very consistent food and wonderful place to eat. Our server was a somewhat stern and could have been more friendly and smile a little more. He seemed to be in a hurry all the time. In the past we've had wonderful servers."
Dined on 4/10/2016
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Busy bar scene

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I had dinner at the bar and enjoyed the Warriors game while dining. There were a number of other diners. I had the Festa Regionale which was delicious and a tremendous value."
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Friendly and Quiet

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Three friends and I met here for dinner to catch up after not seeing each other for a long time.
Our server was very kind and attentive, but not intrusive. Our courses were nicely paced.
The wine choices were good and reasonably priced. We chose the tasting menu - which is a 3 course meal to be chosen from a list of daily specials - for a very affordable price. The portions were generous and we did not leave hungry. The food was of good quality and commensurate with the price we paid. It was very quiet for a Friday evening but we sure appreciated the opportunity to visit and not need to yell at each other! We left feeling very satisfied and happy with our choice of restaurants.
"
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2009
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2009
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dinner

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/31/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/31/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"we had large group bussiness dinner, food was great and so is the service.
We got a private room and had much fun.
"
Dined on 3/31/2016
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 4/02/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 4/02/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/29/2016
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2008
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The waitress we had was inefficient and was too familiar. The bus boy was excellent!"
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

San Francisco Classic

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We've been eating at Il Fornaio about once a year since 1989. The food is always consistently very good, staff is friendly and efficient. Pricing is fair, considering the quality and in comparison with similar places. The only caveat I can think of is the sound level, which is relatively high due to the design; many hard surfaces."
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2002
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2006
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2001
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2001
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2001
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/22/2016
 2008
Dined on 3/22/2016
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/22/2016
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2007
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2007
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/21/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/21/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Although it was a little chilly to sit outside, from what I could see, the chairs and tables looked comfortable and the view looked pretty. I liked the view of the waterfall.
The food was delicious and priced reasonable for what we received.
This restaurant really works for business people travelling from out of town.
"
Dined on 3/21/2016
 2016
Special Features: special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/21/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/21/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/21/2016
 2016
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 3/20/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2008
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2008
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 3/11/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Losing its lustre

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We've dined here many times over the years. It's as attractive a space as ever. We have our favorite dishes, which we often stick to. The recent dinner was disappointing, with even our faves a bit off. The calamari were soggy rather than crispy and seemed almost boiled rather than fried. The portion had shrunk as well. The beet salad was fine, though not special and could have had more beets in it. No problem with the tasty pizza cristina. Linguini Mare chair was full of fresh shrimp, mussels, clams and scallops, though the sizes of the mussels were medium and very small. The bread is very good as always."
Dined on 3/15/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/17/2016
 2015
Dined on 3/17/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/17/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/14/2016
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 3/13/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2010
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/13/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/13/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/13/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Il Fornaio Fun

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"My friend and I stopped in for a late night dinner. We were seated in a cozy booth that allowed us some privacy. Our waiter was very accommodating and friendly. He also gave us a great suggestion for our wine pairing. The pasta was cooked perfectly and my friend said her chicken dish was delicious. We have a fun night laughing and eating. Thank Il Fornaio for a fun evening."
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/08/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed this time

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"I frequently dine at this location. However, this time our food was cold for all 3 of us. We were compensated on our bill, I will return ,as this is the first time this has happened but it was very disappointing. I had a British guest visiting from England."
Dined on 3/06/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Never a disappointment

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Always a favorite even after dozens of fine meals. The setting and service were superb. Some of the most original martinis, too."
Dined on 3/06/2016
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

GREAT evening

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We brought a friend with us to dinner that just loved this place. She's Italian and felt very at home here. We thought she would like it but we underestimated, she loved it. Thanks to all for making our dinner so great, especially Richard our server. Very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu and wine."
Dined on 3/03/2016
 2004
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/04/2016
 2007
Dined on 3/04/2016
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/04/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 2/29/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Il Fornaio - San Francisco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Festa regionals dinners

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I went to Il Fornaio for the February Festa Regionale dinner which is a terrific deal. The food excellent but the standout was the lamb. The lamb was the best we ever had."
Dined on 2/18/2016
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>