Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Vitae Huntington Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Vitae Huntington

Vitae derives from vita, the Latin word, meaning life. The vision behind Vitae is to live a full life. The elegant dining and nightlife destination is the place to go for fine food, fine wine and a refined ambience. A broad spectrum of beautifully presented food is served in dining room and bar menus. Our Wine Spectator Award Winning Wine List has more than 100 wine selections from around the world with 25 available by the glass. The richly designed and cutting-edge décor is cool and modern, warm and sensual. Service is welcoming. The vibe is alluring. At Vitae, life is good.
117 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
(117 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 117 reviews
5 stars
(75)
4 stars
(35)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Service 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Ambiance 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(65)
  • romantic(57)
  • neighborhood gem(55)
  • special occasion(53)
  • notable wine list(41)
  • vibrant bar scene(35)
Vitae Huntington Reviews List
Review 1 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/05/2014
 2006
Dined on 9/05/2014
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Enjoyed the wine selection better than the food, but the food was good."
Dined on 9/05/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went for the wine dinner, food and service was wonderful."
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Thanks to the entire staff for years of great food, service, and memories. R.I.P Vitae, you will be missed!"
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Farewell to a GEM!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Was there again this Saturday, and again tonight (MAY 27th, 2015) for a last dinner at Vitae. We are going to miss this Huntington GEM! John and his staff are AWESOME! We normally had Jason as our server, and he is the BEST! Everything about Vitae is great, and will be missed! Wish the new owners would leave it as is, but that is business...... a SHAME if you asked us, and our friends! Going to be hard to find another place like Vitae! Bill & Nancy"
Dined on 4/08/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Yum

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We always a great meal and a great time at Vitae. This is my favorite restaurant on LI and it never disappoints. They have yummy down to a science. A Huntington gem!"
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always pleased after many visits

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food, service, & wine. Very impressed!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Everything here was great! My boyfriend and I sat out in the patio area, which was quiet and romantic. The rest of the place (on a Friday night) had a live band and was pretty noisy and energetic, so that is a good scene for groups/friends. The waiter was great and very personable. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to others! Very nicely placed in the town of Huntington."
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Attentive to our needs

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We entered to a beautiful dining area. Warmly welcomed by wait staff. Environment is beautiful. Not over crowded. delightful presentation of food. vibrant environment."
Dined on 5/06/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Usually terrific....not so much tonight.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We've never had a bad experience here, but that wasn't the case tonight. The server was a bit inexperienced, and not as attentive as he should've been. Our appetizers were great, but 3 out of 6 of the entrees were sent back. 2 of us had swordfish. It was so overdone, that you could pick it up in one piece. The rice that came with it was crunchy on the outside, as if it had been burned. The other person ordered a steak, medium rare, and it came out well done. They did send out another steak that was done well, and took the swordfish off the bill. They also sent out 3 desserts for the table, at no charge. We have always had a great meal here, so I'm hoping this was just an 'off' night..."
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

great bar

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2010
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Vitae has a great bar with music, and has managed to make the dining
area quiet. However the service was inattentive, we had to ask for water again and again, but what I angered me a little is that I wanted to substitute another vegetable instead of the potato mash and they charged me $3, my dish came out with a piece of salmon and three stalks of asparagus, and then a separate dish of the extra veggies I paid for.... just aggravating when you are spending a high price for a dish and then they add charges especially since the initial dish had hardly any veggies on it...
"
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Fantastic food and service! We love this place, always consistent! Thanks to all for a most memorable night."
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2014
Special Features: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/28/2015
 2006
Dined on 4/28/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/28/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2014
 2009
Dined on 1/31/2014
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Came here with a large group and we were all very well accommodated. The food was delicious along with the wine the waiter paired for us."
Dined on 1/31/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great place to eat

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2010
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great food, good atmosphere and the wait staff is excellent, They do everything they can to make you feel at home. I had the Lamb chops last time I went. They were excellent. Chopped salad also very good. The ribs are decent and the strip is also excellent.
Very enjoyable.
"
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Superb cuisine

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was outstanding! The manager was a bit rude when we asked not to be seated right by the traffic area with people coming in, staff carrying food. He said they were "full up" and did seat us in a quieter area. BUT I did notice plenty of tables open during the 2 hours we were there. I wouldn't let this stop me from going back."
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing place to grab dinner in Huntington Village

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My office building is very close to Vitae and I kept meaning to go there to have dinner so I finally decided to choose it when I took my boyfriend out to dinner for his birthday last week. I had booked through Open Table and had a few special instructions which were confirmed and the staff went way beyond my expectations in making the night special for my boyfriend. Plus the food was incredible! And our waiter was awesome! And the music was great!! We will definitely be going back soon!!"
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Just the right place!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My husband and I, who are Centerport residents, were looking for a Huntington Village restaurant to dine with friends of ours who live in Long Beach and who love to try new places every time we dine out with them. I'm always nervous about having to choose the restaurant for fear that it may turn out to be a negative experience so I was really trying very hard to think of just the right place. Our criteria was a stylish restaurant where we would be able to enjoy really good food in an environment that would allow us to also be able to enjoy really good conversation. We are ALWAYS laughing with this couple and can sometimes get a bit loud (especially once the wine kicks in) so I was also concerned about dining in a restaurant that might be too quiet. We chose THE perfect restaurant when we decided to dine at Vitae this past Friday evening! The food was excellent...the service was outstanding...the decor and ambiance were perfect! We had an exceptional dining experience! Thanks, Vitae! We will absolutely be returning."
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Yumm

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The Food was excellent. It's a little expensive but you get excellent portions and great care is taken in preparing it and the service is impeccable well worth it."
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

BAR Specials great/Dinner so so

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Well this was the first time here and we love to try new places The bar was busy and great service. We had a couple of drinks then had a 730 res. We were seated by a very friendly man. We were put in a corner next to two men. They were loud and obnoxious I counted he said the F word 59 times while we ate our dinner. The restaurant was filled so we could not move. The food was ok the salad not good at all, Steak came out cold. I Think they need to work out a few kinks. It might be worth giving it a second chance. The customer should always be happy......"
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Never disappointes.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My friends and I have been going to Vitae since it opened. For me, the noise level of a restaurant is the first thing I notice. It was a Saturday night, the place was filled but I could actually hear myself talk and hear my wife and the other couples at our table. I noticed the bar was separated from us diners by a thick glass wall and more than ample sound absorbing material was built into the very pleasing decor. But was the food any good? Six people ordered six different things and each was a home run. The charmingly friendly waiter topped off a great experience. We will be back often."
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Music needs help

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Server was great, food was delicious, but I was expecting a nice romantic dinner and they are playing music fit for 20 something year olds. I don't think there was anyone under 40 there."
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2010
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Still one of the very best places we go for a great dinner, with great service. John and the crew are outstanding."
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

wonderful evening !

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I had asked in advance for a table in the quietest part of the restaurant and they supplied us with wonderful leather circular seating that was perfect ! The waiter was only there when needed and was eager to help. Food was yummy, tuna tartare divine ! A bit pricey but perfect for a special occasion !"
Dined on 4/08/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2012
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"From start to finish this was an outstanding experience. Food and service are as good as it gets."
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Overall amazing!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I was very impressed with every course! Cooked perfectly with great flavor. Even the bread with olive oil was amazing! The service was great and I was even able to get free valet parking in the middle of busy Huntington. Will definitely go back. I highly recommend!!!"
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Quack and Cheese

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The duck Mac and cheese is banginnn. Scallops were fresh and the veal was tender. Didn't really drink but the cocktail and wine list were good. My girlfriend had a strawberry margarita that was made well. Staff was friendly, busers were on their game and overall it was a good meal. Walked out of there each having a meal and a drink and splitting two aps for under $150. Definitely a good spot."
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Interesting chef's specials

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I've been here twice now and will be back many times. Had the special both times. This visit was an Asian surf and turf. Sliced duck breast with shrimp dumplings. Fantastic! There's nothing more needs to be said."
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great time, as always

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Thanks to John and the staff for making my son's birthday so special. You guys really do it right!!"
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A Gem of a restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I have passed this restaurant so many many times and thought "we have to try it". I am so glad we did try it sooner than later. What a great place. The food was creative and delicious. Seriously delicious. I started with the Burrata salad which I hope I can recreate at home. The chicken Vitae was probably the best ever. Wine by the glass was impressive - not a 'house' wine.
The reception we received was warm and friendly - as was the wait staff throughout the meal. The tables are tight (not a huge place) however the noise level was more than comfortable. You can have a conversation easily without using sign language....
Great experience - highly recommend. We will be back to try the other entrees. We live about 20 miles east of Huntington -- and this place is worth the drive."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Food and Live Music

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Huntington has many good restaurants, but Vitae definitely stands out as one of the best. Offering a variety of different choices, everything we ordered was delicious, and the quality of the bottle of wine we ordered was very good, without having to spend a lot of money.
There was also a guitar player/singer performing in the bar all night that you could hear throughout the restaurant. He was excellent and played a wide variety of music that for perfectly into the atmosphere of the restaurant.
I would definitely recommend this restaurant and will be coming back again in the future."
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2009
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Vitae is Romantic, Fun and Delicious

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We booked a party for four this past Friday night through opentable.com. My husband and I had been there a couple of times before for dinner. Last May 2014 we even booked dinner on our wedding anniversary. The food and service is on par with top Manhattan restaurants. They even personalized our menus with our names to wish us a happy anniversary! This Friday we met our friends there and we had a BLAST! Their wine menu is wonderful. The bar is beautiful, with great ambiance. They had great live music too. When we were seated in the dining room, although the band was playing just 30 feet from us, we were able to easily enjoy converrsation at our table. It's obvious that the owners of Vitae put a lot of time and investment into quality sound-proofing the restaurant, with excellent results. Most importantly, the food is just delicious, and aesthetically beautiful."
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Our new favorite spot!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"John and his staff make every dinner memorable. Heading back in two weeks."
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2012
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Came to Vitae on a Saturday night. The bar scene was vibrant and energetic, filled with smiling faces and friendly people. The live music was wonderful and reminded me of being at an intimate concert hall with fans singing along with the band.
The food is terrific, starting with the chicken dumplings over quinoa. Great to share! For our second course we had an 18 oz Ribeye with a side of garlic mash potatoes and asparagus. The entrees were on point! Service is outstanding, attentive and professional. We will be back!
"
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Vitae Huntington - competent bar/steakhouse

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"February dining; Saturday night.
waitstaff: competent, friendly and attentive.
atmosphere: moderate din, busy bistro. two dining areas - heated, tented patio area was warm enough and better suited for conversation; patio decor - ok.
food: we enjoyed our food (filet mignon and sides), the butternut bisque was flavorful. the food and service is better than Prime.
Vitae reaches for the upper echelon of dining, and comes reasonably close."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2011
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

loved the food, amazing staff,ambience was perfect

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I had an amazing time celebrating my birthday with my family and close freinds, my freind whi owns a whole bunch of restaurants and chain food stores all o er manhattan and queens was thoroughly impressed with the food, ambience and the professional and curteous staff, they were prompt and ready to help n take care of thier customers, really enjoyed and will definitely be a place to come again and again alone and with friends and famuly. I would highly recommend the restaurant fpr celebrating thier specia i asaaions to freinds family amd co workers. Glad i was there celebrating my special day."
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Vitae Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We loved the skirt steak appetizer

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was delish, all the staff was friendly and the atmosphere cozy, definitely going back!"
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>