Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Darbar Baltimore Reviews List

Darbar Baltimore

Exotic...Indian. Prepare to be lifted to another world. Darbar is the newest Indian restaurant in Baltimore. The atmosphere at Darbar is casual and inviting, offering fresh food with a friendly and attentive staff. Reviewed by the Baltimore Sun as having "expansive and rich flavors" and "satisfying" and Baltimore Magazine says "the food will win you over." Darbar offers an extensive wine and beer list and a fully stocked bar. Our chefs endeavor to create a large variety of savory clay oven tandoori dishes and exotic curries for your pleasure. Experience the sights, sounds, and aromas of the best of fine Indian cuisine. We offer Vegan & Vegetarian options. Catering and delivery also available for special events and large groups. The restaurant serves a sumptuous lunch buffet and offers complimentary parking to our dinner guests.
See more Darbar Baltimore details
41 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
(41 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
5 stars
(21)
4 stars
(16)
3 stars
(3)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(17)
  • fit for foodies(13)
  • good for groups(10)
  • great for lunch(9)
  • romantic(6)
  • special occasion(6)
Darbar Baltimore Reviews List
Review 1 for Darbar Baltimore
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 2/05/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Darbar Baltimore
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Darbar Baltimore
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/29/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Darbar Baltimore
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

I DID NOT MAKE THIS RESERVATION NOR EAT THERE.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I had never been to this site before so I don't know how this happened. When I saw an email about the initial reservation I tried to contact open table about it but there is no customer service contact info provided. Please delete my account. Thank you."
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Darbar Baltimore
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Darbar Baltimore
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/06/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Darbar Baltimore
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Consistently great food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Always a delight. Never disappoints. And they serve Indian beer!"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Darbar Baltimore
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Darbar Baltimore
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/18/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Darbar Baltimore
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Always have something great and tasty here. Never been disappointed. 5 stars!"
Dined on 12/15/2015
 2001
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Darbar Baltimore
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2013
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Darbar Baltimore
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Darbar Baltimore
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Darbar Baltimore
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/07/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Darbar Baltimore
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delicous Indian food. Go for the lunch buffet.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Popped in for the lunch buffet on Sunday and was pleasantly surprised at how delicious it was. A delightful variety of Indian dishes, all tasty and succulent. Can't beat the buffet price. I'll be back and highly recommend!"
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Darbar Baltimore
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 11/28/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Darbar Baltimore
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/22/2015
 2011
Dined on 11/22/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Amazing food and amazing service!"
Dined on 11/22/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Darbar Baltimore
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Darbar Baltimore
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Darbar Baltimore
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/23/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Darbar Baltimore
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2010
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Darbar Baltimore
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A good place to have lunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had the lunch buffet. I am a first generation Indian and I felt the food was pretty authentic. As with any buffet, the food is a little half hearted but it was tasty nonetheless."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Darbar Baltimore
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went to Darbar for our first time last weekend. My first impression was: "Whoa! This place is way to nice to be an Indian restaurant." Decor was very nice. We were seated immediately, although the host misread our reservation and seated us at the wrong table. The waitress returned several minutes later and asked us to move to a smaller table, which was awkward. Servers were very attentive. We ordered the lamb korma and lamb vindaloo, along with some breads and mango lassis. The korma was good, nothing too special. The vindaloo was unbearably spicy. When the owner noticed that we weren't eating the vindaloo she quickly replaced it with a less spicy sauce, making the dish much more palatable. The mango lassis were delicious. Overall good restaurant, but probably will turn elsewhere for our next Indian food experience."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Darbar Baltimore
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Vegetarians - not excited

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were excited by the reviews to find this gem in Fells Point. Unfortunately, all the vegetarian dishes we ordered fair and not noteworthy as we'd hoped. The bengan bhartha was too oily and lacked any taste. The one exception was our tandoori paneer tikka, which a little on the dry side was excellent in its spices and tandoor flavors. Overall, the service was prompt, but when we asked one of the dishes to be served to us, the server seemed to spill them all over us and the plates! Too pricey for the food and service."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Darbar Baltimore
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

food was outstanding

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"As usual the food was outstanding but for some reason the food coming out of the kitchen was extremely slow even though it was not a totally packed house. Our waiter did his best to satisfy our needs in light of the slow kitchen. But we will still come back - love the food and the owners!"
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Darbar Baltimore
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/04/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/04/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"There seemed to be a lot of private conversation that was easily heard at our table concerning a room or hotel reservation with a member of the staff. I assume they also manage a hotel that uses the restaurant for the intake, which is a little odd. This was our first impression.
Because we were two ladies taking our time and enjoying each others company we were in no hurry to order, in fact my friend is Indian and I wanted her help explaining the menu. So we were served the bread and toppings as we reviewed the menu. We next ordered soups and asked to keep the menu so we could discuss and make our choices. When our server returned with the soups and asked if we were ready to order our meals we replied not yet. She said, "ok we're open til 10" It was before 8 when this conversation took place and there were less than 4 tables seated, they were not busy. Yet we felt rushed for no reason. Our server was sitting at the bar eating for most of our visit. Basically the servers could be educated on pacing service depending on the customer.
The food was very good and the portion sizes were plentiful. The table service of plate removal and water refill was good. Not fine dinning and the nest time I want Indian I will try someplace different, I just wasn't that impressed.
Free parking across the street awesome!
"
Dined on 1/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Darbar Baltimore
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Yummy!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Darbar had delicious food all the way from the chutnies, rice, naan, and the main courses! The restaurant was quite, but had families as well as couples on dates--- old and young!
My only "issue" was our food took an extremely long time and our server didn't communicate to us what was going on. Other than that we had a great experience!
"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Darbar Baltimore
Based on the average of (14) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
13 out of 14 recommend this product
Food 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic