Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Cafe Colore - Denver Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Cafe Colore - Denver

Café Colore offers welcome refuge from the busy pace of downtown Denver. Located in Lodo’s Writer Square, this neighborhood provides a perfect backdrop for casual fine dining in a Euro-style café with indoor and outdoor seating. You'll find an eclectic mix of customers - all drawn by the uptown food offered at easy-on-the-pocketbook prices. Better yet, the sidewalk seating faces both 15th and Larimer Streets, providing the best people-watching in downtown Denver. Everything served here is prepared to order, starting with doughs, sauces and dressings that are made from scratch daily. Furthermore, most pastas and all pizzas can be ordered gluten-free, so feel comfortable about bringing friends, coworkers or family members of every dietary need. Then prepare to be dazzled by the menu of marvelous pastas, pizzas, calzones, soups, salads, Italian entrees and desserts. Cafe Colore has won many accolades "Best Pesto Pizza", "Best Sit Down Pizzeria" and "Best Alfresco Dining" to name a few.
118 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
(118 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 118 reviews
5 stars
(62)
4 stars
(47)
3 stars
(8)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(62)
  • great for outdoor dining(51)
  • neighborhood gem(38)
  • great for lunch(35)
  • good for groups(34)
  • special occasion(28)
Cafe Colore - Denver Reviews List
Review 1 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/20/2014
 2011
Dined on 2/20/2014
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Good Restaurant! To bad this location is now closed."
Dined on 2/20/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Delicious food & wonderful service. I would eat here again in a heartbeat. It was the perfect choice for my party of 8 to celebrate my graduation from medical school."
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Hidden Italian gem downtown

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Actually went to Cafe Colore twice this week. First time was bringing my mom and grandma from out of town. Henry waited on us and made sure we had a wonderful experience. I had the lasagna, which is my all time favorite. Who doesn't love a meaty, cheesy, dish of goodness?! A few days later I planned a party following graduation with friends for happy hour cocktails and snacks. Leah and Samantha took care of my 10+ person party and did a spectacular job! Be sure to book your party in advance as the space is small and quaint and can fill up fast especially during the weekends. We went early to avoid the rush, but several other large parties were being set up for the evening rush. The happy hour specials are great! I had a pizza and it was cooked to perfection...thin and crispy. I can't wait to have the weather clear up to sit on their patio. There is construction in the square at the moment, but you can tell the improvements will make for a beautiful upgrade of the square. Can't wait for some sunny patio dining soon!"
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

What A Surprise Find

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was amazing and the atmosphere so quiet. It was wonderful for such a large group of 16 for a birthday celebration. We had reservations at another restaurant on Larimer St. and when we tried to increase the party from 12 to 16 people, we were told we had to have a pre-arranged menu and a flat cost per person. So we cancelled and found this wonderful, quaint place right across from Larimer in Writers Square. I had been to the one in Cherry Creek which is just as wonderful. Would definitely recommend and would also go back if given the chance. Worth it for sure."
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2013
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2007
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/04/2015
 2010
Dined on 5/04/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/04/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The Good Cafe

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Hadn't been here is a while, but will be going back more often! The food was great as well as the service. Great place to catch up and have a good lunch."
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2006
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/28/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

service was very good

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"nice place for a quick lunch, and for business meetings as well"
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2009
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2009
Special Features: special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2006
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2006
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Just Okay...

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The three of us were somewhat disappointed with our visit this past Sat. evening. The caesar salad was quite bland, but they did give us two good sized portions for the price of one. Roasted Pepper and Tomato soup was good. We had the Chicken Milanese, Ravioli with short ribs, and the Goat Cheese Linguini with Chicken. All three items were good, but lacking anything really special. Maybe more seasonings? Ravioli pasta did not seem very fresh. Service was somewhat abrupt. I think part of the problem was that they were busy and seemed to be a little understaffed. Their outdoor dining area is nice and good for people watching."
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Friendly Atmosphere

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2005
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Don't want the 'Downtown, I'm so cool' crowd scene, but want to be downtown with the people who enjoy working and playing with their friends... try this place, we enjoyed it very much."
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Spot in LoDo

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My server was personable, attentive, and had some great recommendations. The food was outstanding, best lasagna I've had in a very long time. Would definitely return."
Dined on 4/01/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent Choice for Italian in Writer Square

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went to Cafe Colore around 7 PM on a beautiful Monday in mid-March and sat on their patio. No crowd at all. The service was very good and the staff was friendly and helpful, especially with suggesting matching wine for our meals. The food was also quite good and they offered a number of tempting choices. We started with the Cremini Mushroom pizza (essentially a flatbread), followed by their very tender 12 Hour Braised Beef Short Rib and Pan Seared Scallops Prosecco. And excellent meal and a menu that was not overwhelmed with pasta dishes. We look forward to visiting again."
Dined on 3/16/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

First time visit

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Overall this was a great first time experiencing dining at this restaurant. The service was wonderful. The server was very knowledgeable and worked with me to meet my specific dietary needs. The food was excellent. I had the grilled salmon and my boyfriend had the seafood medley, both of which were delicious. Will definitely be back again."
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2013
Special Features: special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great spot

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I had a birthday dinner here with a large group and it was excellent. Great food and staff."
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Average food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2008
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The ambiance was very relaxed as we arrived at 4:30 PM. In fact, we were the only diners there until closer to 5:00 PM when another couple arrived. The server was extremely friendly and polite. I order the Salmon and unfortunately, it was fairly bland. My wife ordered a pizza which she thought was pretty good but nothing special. Overall, we had an average dining experience."
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

We will be back

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My wife and I received a living social coupon for Christmas that we used this past weekend. We loved the food and really enjoyed our dinner. There were 3 or 4 dinner options I was debating about ordering. I ended up ordering the daily ravioli special and it did not disappoint. It is a great location downtown and actually very reasonablly priced even with out the coupon. We will definitely return!!!"
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A Tasty Dinner with Girlfriends

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This is the second time I have eaten dinner at Cafe Colore. Both times as a nice dinner spot before attending the Unique Lives Lecture series at DCPA. I have never found it difficult to get in at this gem but since I was dining with 5 other ladies, I thought a reservation would be best. There was a rather large group already seated for dinner and they were a bit loud. The management kindly sat us away from the group so talking would be easier.
Several of my friends and I had the Chicken Piccata which is just wonderful. Not too heavy with a terrific sauce, mashed potatoes and the very yummy sliced zucchini which was served in the sauce. Another friend had one of their pizzas that she expressed was also quite good.
The only negative comment I would make is that their wine list is not very diverse. However, the Chianti I enjoyed was very good.
I plan to visit Cafe Colore again in the summertime. They have a very nice outside patio which puts you in the lively area of lovely Larimer Square.."
Dined on 3/03/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Service as good as the food!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food every time I've been has been amazing, not to mention the great service that comes along with it! I've always had a great experience here and look forward to my next visit!"
Dined on 2/24/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went here on Valentine's day with my girlfriend. We had somehow overlooked that they would have a set menu, however they accommodated several of our special requests to alter the dishes. Amazing service. Completely worth the price paid, even though high. Will definitely be back."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Long-time Italian Favorite!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great, flavorful and authentic Italian food. Fun to watch the kitchen staff preparing meals, pizza dough, etc. Cozy ambiance, friendly waitstaff. Fresh-baked from scratch bread! Love the Napoli pizzas! Peach Bread Pudding dessert is spectacular!"
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Sorry I've missed this great local gem!!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2011
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Right now it sits in the middle of a construction zone, I discovered this great place on a get away to Denver from Estes Park.
I tried many different restaurants while there, Of all the "fancy" places, this was my favorite!
Simple setting, great service, friendly, interested, the staff are dedicated, nice people. Felt like dining "at home", comfortable, easy setting.
The food was GREAT, Grandmas recipes for real, The meatballs and real traditional Bolognese, cannoli's for desert, almond biscotti for next morning with my cappuccino.
Will be visiting again!!
"
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dinner before a Show

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2006
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had a wonderful dinner here before seeing a show at the DPAC. Within walking distance and fantastic :) We had a variety of entrees and appetizers and they were all wonderful. The wine list was small but very good. The food was fast and delicious. The service was fast and we got out in plenty of time to get to our show. I would highly recommend :)"
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Cafe Colore

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2005
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food at the Cafe Colore was great, and the location is excellent - essentially across the street from the restaurants of Larimer Square. Cafe Colore is less "fancy" than the Larimer Square group, but less pretentious, with great, friendly service, and a very casual style. Highly recommended."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"we dine here often, before attending theatre shows and have always had a great meal! The staff is friendly and always know the wines and food to recommend. Always our top choice for dining downtown wv"
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Loved it. Surpassed all expectations.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Coming to the restaurant with no expectations, we were delightfully surprised. The food was excellent,.This chef knows how to make the best marinara sauce (a staple of Italian cuisine), which many chefs make, but few master. The waiter was knowledgeable, not only about the food but about the wine list as well. He was attentive, hospitable and very intelligent.
Can't wait to go back."
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was good, we had a vegetarian with us so that worked out great for him. Noise was a little loud. Service was very good, Henry's sense of humor was great!"
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2011
Special Features: hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

10 out of 10 stars

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We did not have pizza or calzones so I cannot judge that part of the menu. We ate from the fine dining options. Absolutely devine. Great bottle of wine. All of management came to our table to ask how everything was. I will be going back."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Overall Experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Very happy and very surprised with the evening. Found it through and Living Social coupon and it was definitely worth it. Would go back. Well prepared food, and service was great. Henry was a very good waiter. Nice wine list, good quality, not too expensive. Will be back."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2011
Special Features: hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Once again, Cafe Colore comes through!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This is the second visit to this outstanding restaurant in downtown Denver. Two different conferences and 10 people each time.....perfect reservation system and lots of room at our tables. The reception and service were one-on-one! Wine list is VERY affordable, while having great choices.
The food is made on the spot and everyone loved each bite. Short ribs: fall off the bone. Scallops: melt in your mouth. The house-made burrata was moist and creamy. Roasted red pepper and tom soup was velvety and had a strong, true flavor of the garden; not too much cream. The picante calzone exploded with spice and flavor!
Needless to say, I'll go back time and again. A hidden gem!"
Dined on 1/15/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful in Writer's Square

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The staff and owners of Cafe Colore made us welcome on a quiet January night. The bread served was fresh and warm and hinted at the warmth of the staff.
The Eggplant Parmesan and the Goat Cheese Linguini with Chicken were fresh and terrific. We will be back. Great find and a nice break from the chains so common anymore."
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great server

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Gluten free options are delicious, but limited.
Not very dairy-free friendly... But still delicious....
"
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Relaxed and Fun

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were a group of 10. Upon arrival our table was set and ready for us to be seated. We had attended a performance at the Denver Center for the Performing Arts earlier and this Café was within walking distance which was ideal. Hostess/server was friendly and cheerful. She happily took a group picture for us as it was a special celebration as I had family in town from Florida and Virginia. Menu was varied with wonderful selections, including a menu for young people. Atmosphere was relaxed and cozy. A very good wine selection. We just had a wonderful evening and would highly recommend this Café. It did get a little warm inside as the evening wore on, but it was also very cold outside so it was OK. This should be a great place to go during the summer months, especially in the evening when you can sit outside. Can't wait to visit again."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

hidden gem

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Been here many times over the years. .. it's always perfect"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

crowd pleaser

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I wasn't sure where to meet my out of town guests for lunch and thought, who doesn't love pizza?! With all the options in Lodo, I chose Café Colore because of their reputation and none of us were disappointed. Great, friendly service. Awesome appetizers, salads and pizzas. My friends were raving about the meatballs. Great value and price. Fun atmosphere and pleased all ages 7, 12, 14 and adults. I highly recommend. I can't wait to go back and try the entrées."
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent food and service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We chose Cafe Calore because there were gluten free options. We were pleasantly surprised to find that almost everything on the menu could be made gluten free - and it was excellent! The service was great too! We will definitely be returning."
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Outstanding Italian food w/ great service!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"A terrific find downtown. We had a very nice dinner with wine before going to an Avalanche game. The eggplant parmigiana and a made to order pizza were both outstanding. I also had a very good and unique take on the Caprese Salad. Great food and dining experience."
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Cafe Calore

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great food and Henry was a wonderful server! I have been here several times and the food is ALWAYS consistently delicious!"
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2008
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

good food, relaxing atmosphere

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2011
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Food was very good and was a fun, lovely, and relaxing place. None of the hype typical of some lodo restaurants. Easy place to go!"
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Decent food in a cozy setting

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I had the Seafood FraDiavolo from the dinner menu. It was good, but not spectacular. My friend had the Chicken Piccata, which she said was very good. The man sitting at the table next to mine ordered the Braised Beef Short Rib, which looked awesome. I asked him how it was and he said it was delicious. I may try that the next time. I also ordered the Peach Bread Pudding for dessert. I love bread pudding when it's done right, but this was not it. Far from it. To me, it had the texture and flavor of a leftover cinnamon roll that had just come out of the microwave. If that's how they normally do it, then I definitely do not recommend it. I was trying to sell my friend onto bread pudding, which she has never had, but alas, this was not the place to do it. I would try other dessert options at my next visit."
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent food, great service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This was my first time in Denver and I was very pleased with this restaurant. The atmosphere was perfect, not noisy great for conversation. Our waitress was friendly and gave great suggestions for both food and wine. We had the mussels as appetizers and although small the flavor was amazing. Great sauce. I had scallops and shrimp porcini and my partner had the lasagna. Both delicious. I would definitely go again."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Cafe Colore - Denver
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

too dark and empty

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/03/2014
 2010
Dined on 12/03/2014
 2010
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We ended up not eating there because when we arrived it looked dark, and no one was there. we couldn't find photos of it online and now we know why. maybe this is a fun lunch spot but it was totally sad and dreary looking at night."
Dined on 12/03/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>